Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes near Juntas, Abangares, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica: past 7 days

Updated Sep 16, 2021 16:25 GMT -
During the past 7 days, Juntas was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 4.1, 7 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 3 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 4.1 quake Bagaces, 27 km east of Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica, Sep 10, 2021 7:33 pm (GMT -6)
Biggest quake today: 3.7 quake 9.8 km west of Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica, Sep 16, 2021 12:28 am (GMT -6)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (11 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thu, Sep 16, 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
Sep 16, 2021 12:28 am (GMT -6) (Sep 16, 2021 06:28:00 GMT)
3.7

57 km
29 km (18 mi)9.8 km west of Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Wed, Sep 15, 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
Sep 15, 2021 12:28 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 15, 2021 18:28:56 GMT)
3.7

37 km
29 km (18 mi)9.7 km west of Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sep 15, 2021 1:17 am (GMT -6) (Sep 15, 2021 07:17:45 GMT)
2.4

3 km
11 km (6.8 mi)Tilaran, 24 km northeast of Canas, CaƱas, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica MoreMap
Sep 15, 2021 1:17 am (GMT -6) (Sep 15, 2021 07:17:00 GMT)
3.1

6 km
14 km (8.7 mi)Guatuso, Provincia de Alajuela, 25 km northeast of Canas, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Tue, Sep 14, 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
Sep 13, 2021 8:05 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 14, 2021 02:05:30 GMT)
3.1

10 km
69 km (43 mi)Turrubares, 33 km southwest of San Rafael Abajo, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Sun, Sep 12, 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
Sep 12, 2021 1:19 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 12, 2021 19:19:30 GMT)
3.9

27 km
89 km (55 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 33 km south of Puntarenas, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sep 12, 2021 4:45 am (GMT -6) (Sep 12, 2021 10:45:00 GMT)
3.8

23 km
89 km (55 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 33 km south of Puntarenas, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sat, Sep 11, 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
Sep 11, 2021 1:20 am (GMT -6) (Sep 11, 2021 07:20:00 GMT)
2.7

6 km
10 km (6.2 mi)Bagaces, 26 km east of Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sep 10, 2021 7:33 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 11, 2021 01:33:24 GMT)
2.9

4 km
5 km (3.1 mi)Bagaces, Provincia de Guanacaste, 27 km south of San Jose, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Sep 10, 2021 7:33 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 11, 2021 01:33:00 GMT)
4.1

3 km
9 km (5.6 mi)Bagaces, 27 km east of Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
Fri, Sep 10, 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
Sep 10, 2021 5:42 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 10, 2021 23:42:04 GMT)
3.2

79 km
3 km (1.9 mi)4.8 km southeast of Ciudad Quesada, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.2 x 1011 joules (61.7 megawatt hours, equivalent to 53.1 tons of TNT) More info

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes
Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range!:
to
Look up quakes!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.