Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes near Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand, past 30 days

Updated 25 Feb 2021 14:23 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Masterton was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 1 quake of magnitude 3.6, and 34 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 127 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 4.5 quake Porirua City, 26 km northeast of Wellington, New Zealand, 20 Feb 2021 6:15 pm (GMT +13)
Biggest quake today: 1.8 quake New Zealand 26 Feb 2021 2:41 am (GMT +13)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 1.8 or higher (55 out of 164 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thu, 25 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
26 Feb 2021 2:41 am (GMT +13) (25 Feb 2021 13:41:20 GMT)
1.8

20 km
(141 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Tue, 23 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
24 Feb 2021 10:13 am (GMT +13) (23 Feb 2021 21:13:05 GMT)
1.9

25 km
(161 km)New Zealand MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 2:41 pm (GMT +13) (23 Feb 2021 01:41:43 GMT)
2.0

13 km
(163 km)76 km east of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Mon, 22 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
23 Feb 2021 12:07 pm (GMT +13) (22 Feb 2021 23:07:46 GMT)
2.3

12 km
(157 km)75 km east of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 9:05 am (GMT +13) (22 Feb 2021 20:05:37 GMT)
2.0

14 km
(157 km)70 km east of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 8:42 am (GMT +13) (22 Feb 2021 19:42:07 GMT)
2.3

19 km
(180 km)13 km northeast of Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 1:00 am (GMT +13) (22 Feb 2021 12:00:29 GMT)
2.1

24 km
(136 km)Tasman Sea, 60 km west of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Sun, 21 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
21 Feb 2021 4:21 pm (GMT +13) (21 Feb 2021 03:21:18 GMT)
2.5

31 km
(125 km)34 km east of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Sat, 20 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
21 Feb 2021 11:41 am (GMT +13) (20 Feb 2021 22:41:43 GMT)
2.6

20 km
(141 km)33 km southeast of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
20 Feb 2021 6:15 pm (GMT +13) (20 Feb 2021 05:15:06 GMT)
4.5

25 km
(208 km)Porirua City, 26 km northeast of Wellington, New Zealand
I FELT IT - 23 reports
MoreMap
20 Feb 2021 4:15 pm (GMT +13) (20 Feb 2021 03:15:39 GMT)
1.8

15 km
(146 km)New Zealand MoreMap
20 Feb 2021 4:09 pm (GMT +13) (20 Feb 2021 03:09:01 GMT)
2.8

21 km
(150 km)37 km southeast of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Thu, 18 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
19 Feb 2021 10:03 am (GMT +13) (18 Feb 2021 21:03:25 GMT)
2.1

24 km
(139 km)31 km southeast of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 17 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
18 Feb 2021 12:58 am (GMT +13) (17 Feb 2021 11:58:53 GMT)
2.0

5 km
(196 km)South Wairarapa District, 27 km northeast of Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
17 Feb 2021 1:55 pm (GMT +13) (17 Feb 2021 00:55:32 GMT)
2.0

20 km
(177 km)12 km northeast of Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Tue, 16 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
17 Feb 2021 9:36 am (GMT +12) (16 Feb 2021 21:36:07 GMT)
2.1

25 km
(135 km)Tasman Sea, 1 km north of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
16 Feb 2021 9:20 pm (GMT +13) (16 Feb 2021 08:20:05 GMT)
2.1

28 km
(140 km)Tasman Sea, 95 km north of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
16 Feb 2021 7:05 pm (GMT +13) (16 Feb 2021 06:05:21 GMT)
2.1

27 km
(122 km)19 km east of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Mon, 15 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
15 Feb 2021 8:22 pm (GMT +13) (15 Feb 2021 07:22:26 GMT)
2.5

25 km
(140 km)Tasman Sea, 58 km west of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Sun, 14 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
14 Feb 2021 8:30 pm (GMT +13) (14 Feb 2021 07:30:04 GMT)
2.2

25 km
(172 km)20 km northwest of Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Sat, 13 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
14 Feb 2021 9:18 am (GMT +13) (13 Feb 2021 20:18:08 GMT)
2.1

18 km
(228 km)Lower Hutt City, 20 km east of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
14 Feb 2021 5:32 am (GMT +13) (13 Feb 2021 16:32:57 GMT)
2.5

23 km
(156 km)17 km east of Levin, Horowhenua District, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
14 Feb 2021 1:31 am (GMT +13) (13 Feb 2021 12:31:07 GMT)
2.4

21 km
(154 km)38 km southeast of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
13 Feb 2021 2:04 pm (GMT +13) (13 Feb 2021 01:04:06 GMT)
1.8

14 km
(140 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 10 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
11 Feb 2021 7:15 am (GMT +13) (10 Feb 2021 18:15:43 GMT)
2.0

26 km
(167 km)Kapiti Coast District, Wellington, 18 km southwest of Levin, New Zealand MoreMap
11 Feb 2021 3:23 am (GMT +13) (10 Feb 2021 14:23:31 GMT)
2.5

30 km
(156 km)42 km southeast of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Tue, 9 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
10 Feb 2021 12:22 am (GMT +13) (9 Feb 2021 11:22:01 GMT)
2.6

26 km
(141 km)Tasman Sea, 59 km west of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
9 Feb 2021 9:39 pm (GMT +13) (9 Feb 2021 08:39:58 GMT)
2.1

24 km
(123 km)21 km east of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
9 Feb 2021 6:14 pm (GMT +13) (9 Feb 2021 05:14:18 GMT)
2.6

28 km
(208 km)Porirua City, 14 km north of Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Mon, 8 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
9 Feb 2021 2:07 am (GMT +13) (8 Feb 2021 13:07:04 GMT)
1.8

20 km
(172 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Sun, 7 Feb 2021 (GMT) (6 earthquakes)
8 Feb 2021 11:25 am (GMT +13) (7 Feb 2021 22:25:48 GMT)
2.6

17 km
(178 km)Tasman Sea, 10.1 km north of Paraparaumu, New Zealand MoreMap
8 Feb 2021 1:01 am (GMT +13) (7 Feb 2021 12:01:05 GMT)
2.4

25 km
(208 km)Porirua City, 15 km north of Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
7 Feb 2021 11:52 pm (GMT +13) (7 Feb 2021 10:52:31 GMT)
1.9

29 km
(208 km)New Zealand MoreMap
7 Feb 2021 11:36 pm (GMT +13) (7 Feb 2021 10:36:35 GMT)
2.1

20 km
(233 km)South Wairarapa District, 22 km southeast of Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
7 Feb 2021 8:19 pm (GMT +13) (7 Feb 2021 07:19:26 GMT)
2.1

19 km
(122 km)19 km east of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
7 Feb 2021 2:39 pm (GMT +13) (7 Feb 2021 01:39:34 GMT)
2.0

32 km
(134 km)47 km east of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Sat, 6 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
6 Feb 2021 11:20 pm (GMT +13) (6 Feb 2021 10:20:35 GMT)
1.8

13 km
(155 km)New Zealand MoreMap
6 Feb 2021 2:51 pm (GMT +13) (6 Feb 2021 01:51:26 GMT)
2.0

20 km
(222 km)South Wairarapa District, 20 km southeast of Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Fri, 5 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
5 Feb 2021 6:51 pm (GMT +13) (5 Feb 2021 05:51:39 GMT)
3.6

31 km
(136 km)42 km east of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Thu, 4 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
5 Feb 2021 12:52 am (GMT +12) (4 Feb 2021 12:52:55 GMT)
2.2

28 km
(137 km)Tasman Sea, 56 km west of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 3 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
4 Feb 2021 12:38 am (GMT +13) (3 Feb 2021 11:38:10 GMT)
2.0

2 km
(168 km)Tasman Sea, 22 km north of Paraparaumu, New Zealand MoreMap
3 Feb 2021 4:07 pm (GMT +13) (3 Feb 2021 03:07:55 GMT)
1.8

20 km
(146 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Tue, 2 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
2 Feb 2021 9:45 pm (GMT +13) (2 Feb 2021 08:45:11 GMT)
1.9

24 km
(185 km)New Zealand MoreMap
2 Feb 2021 3:53 pm (GMT +13) (2 Feb 2021 02:53:38 GMT)
1.8

28 km
(190 km)New Zealand MoreMap
2 Feb 2021 1:31 pm (GMT +13) (2 Feb 2021 00:31:09 GMT)
1.8

25 km
(142 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Mon, 1 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
2 Feb 2021 6:48 am (GMT +13) (1 Feb 2021 17:48:49 GMT)
1.8

19 km
(147 km)New Zealand MoreMap
1 Feb 2021 2:36 pm (GMT +13) (1 Feb 2021 01:36:15 GMT)
1.8

20 km
(188 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Sun, 31 Jan 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
31 Jan 2021 3:30 pm (GMT +13) (31 Jan 2021 02:30:03 GMT)
1.9

5 km
(153 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Sat, 30 Jan 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
30 Jan 2021 9:20 pm (GMT +13) (30 Jan 2021 08:20:04 GMT)
1.8

27 km
(120 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Thu, 28 Jan 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
29 Jan 2021 7:30 am (GMT +13) (28 Jan 2021 18:30:55 GMT)
1.9

5 km
(194 km)New Zealand MoreMap
28 Jan 2021 11:03 pm (GMT +13) (28 Jan 2021 10:03:14 GMT)
1.9

36 km
(139 km)New Zealand MoreMap
28 Jan 2021 8:41 pm (GMT +12) (28 Jan 2021 08:41:45 GMT)
2.4

31 km
(143 km)Tasman Sea, 35 km northwest of Levin, New Zealand MoreMap
28 Jan 2021 5:25 pm (GMT +13) (28 Jan 2021 04:25:19 GMT)
2.1

12 km
(132 km)Tasman Sea, 49 km south of Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Tue, 26 Jan 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
27 Jan 2021 7:00 am (GMT +13) (26 Jan 2021 18:00:35 GMT)
1.8

5 km
(178 km)New Zealand MoreMap
27 Jan 2021 6:29 am (GMT +13) (26 Jan 2021 17:29:58 GMT)
4.3

30 km
(139 km)Tasman Sea, 55 km west of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand 5 reportsMoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.6 x 1011 joules (155 megawatt hours, equivalent to 133 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.