Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes near Castlepoint, Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand, past 30 days

Updated 26 Feb 2021 22:23 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Castlepoint was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 4.2, 3 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 25 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 96 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 4.2 quake Central Hawke's Bay District, 84 km east of Palmerston North, New Zealand, 24 Feb 2021 7:18 pm (GMT +13)
Biggest quake today: 2.8 quake Central Hawke's Bay District, 84 km east of Palmerston North, New Zealand, 26 Feb 2021 8:30 pm (GMT +13)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 1.6 or higher (62 out of 125 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Fri, 26 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
26 Feb 2021 8:30 pm (GMT +13) (26 Feb 2021 07:30:26 GMT)
2.8

13 km
(143 km)Central Hawke's Bay District, 84 km east of Palmerston North, New Zealand MoreMap
26 Feb 2021 1:03 pm (GMT +13) (26 Feb 2021 00:03:57 GMT)
1.6

22 km
(155 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Thu, 25 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
26 Feb 2021 12:25 pm (GMT +13) (25 Feb 2021 23:25:20 GMT)
2.1

12 km
(144 km)Central Hawke's Bay District, 79 km east of Palmerston North, New Zealand MoreMap
26 Feb 2021 2:41 am (GMT +13) (25 Feb 2021 13:41:20 GMT)
1.8

20 km
(141 km)New Zealand MoreMap
25 Feb 2021 8:44 pm (GMT +13) (25 Feb 2021 07:44:00 GMT)
1.6

21 km
(155 km)New Zealand MoreMap
25 Feb 2021 7:49 pm (GMT +13) (25 Feb 2021 06:49:28 GMT)
2.0

19 km
(132 km)65 km east of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 24 Feb 2021 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
25 Feb 2021 6:32 am (GMT +13) (24 Feb 2021 17:32:36 GMT)
2.4

16 km
(142 km)Central Hawke's Bay District, 76 km south of Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 11:05 pm (GMT +13) (24 Feb 2021 10:05:18 GMT)
2.3

14 km
(141 km)Central Hawke's Bay District, 92 km south of Napier City, New Zealand MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 10:55 pm (GMT +13) (24 Feb 2021 09:55:25 GMT)
1.7

19 km
(189 km)New Zealand MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 7:18 pm (GMT +13) (24 Feb 2021 06:18:15 GMT)
4.2

15 km
(143 km)Central Hawke's Bay District, 84 km east of Palmerston North, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 6:56 pm (GMT +13) (24 Feb 2021 05:56:36 GMT)
3.0

13 km
(143 km)Central Hawke's Bay District, 83 km east of Palmerston North, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Tue, 23 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
24 Feb 2021 10:13 am (GMT +13) (23 Feb 2021 21:13:05 GMT)
1.9

25 km
(161 km)New Zealand MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 2:41 pm (GMT +13) (23 Feb 2021 01:41:43 GMT)
2.0

13 km
(163 km)76 km east of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Mon, 22 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
23 Feb 2021 12:07 pm (GMT +13) (22 Feb 2021 23:07:46 GMT)
2.3

12 km
(157 km)75 km east of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 9:05 am (GMT +13) (22 Feb 2021 20:05:37 GMT)
2.0

14 km
(157 km)70 km east of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 8:42 am (GMT +13) (22 Feb 2021 19:42:07 GMT)
2.3

19 km
(180 km)13 km northeast of Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Sun, 21 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
21 Feb 2021 4:21 pm (GMT +13) (21 Feb 2021 03:21:18 GMT)
2.5

31 km
(125 km)34 km east of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Sat, 20 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
21 Feb 2021 11:41 am (GMT +13) (20 Feb 2021 22:41:43 GMT)
2.6

20 km
(141 km)33 km southeast of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
21 Feb 2021 4:22 am (GMT +13) (20 Feb 2021 15:22:39 GMT)
1.6

23 km
(133 km)New Zealand MoreMap
20 Feb 2021 4:15 pm (GMT +13) (20 Feb 2021 03:15:39 GMT)
1.8

15 km
(146 km)New Zealand MoreMap
20 Feb 2021 4:09 pm (GMT +13) (20 Feb 2021 03:09:01 GMT)
2.8

21 km
(150 km)37 km southeast of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Fri, 19 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
20 Feb 2021 11:32 am (GMT +13) (19 Feb 2021 22:32:49 GMT)
1.8

14 km
(145 km)New Zealand MoreMap
20 Feb 2021 9:39 am (GMT +13) (19 Feb 2021 20:39:38 GMT)
1.7

25 km
(148 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Thu, 18 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
19 Feb 2021 10:03 am (GMT +13) (18 Feb 2021 21:03:25 GMT)
2.1

24 km
(139 km)31 km southeast of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 17 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
18 Feb 2021 9:45 am (GMT +13) (17 Feb 2021 20:45:28 GMT)
1.6

19 km
(153 km)New Zealand MoreMap
18 Feb 2021 9:37 am (GMT +13) (17 Feb 2021 20:37:49 GMT)
1.7

16 km
(146 km)New Zealand MoreMap
17 Feb 2021 1:55 pm (GMT +13) (17 Feb 2021 00:55:32 GMT)
2.0

20 km
(177 km)12 km northeast of Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Tue, 16 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
16 Feb 2021 7:05 pm (GMT +13) (16 Feb 2021 06:05:21 GMT)
2.1

27 km
(122 km)19 km east of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Sun, 14 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
14 Feb 2021 8:30 pm (GMT +13) (14 Feb 2021 07:30:04 GMT)
2.2

25 km
(172 km)20 km northwest of Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
14 Feb 2021 3:25 pm (GMT +13) (14 Feb 2021 02:25:52 GMT)
1.7

5.5 km
(124 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Sat, 13 Feb 2021 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
14 Feb 2021 6:48 am (GMT +13) (13 Feb 2021 17:48:31 GMT)
1.7

28 km
(136 km)New Zealand MoreMap
14 Feb 2021 5:32 am (GMT +13) (13 Feb 2021 16:32:57 GMT)
2.5

23 km
(156 km)17 km east of Levin, Horowhenua District, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
14 Feb 2021 4:42 am (GMT +13) (13 Feb 2021 15:42:56 GMT)
1.6

42 km
(121 km)New Zealand MoreMap
14 Feb 2021 1:31 am (GMT +13) (13 Feb 2021 12:31:07 GMT)
2.4

21 km
(154 km)38 km southeast of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
13 Feb 2021 2:04 pm (GMT +13) (13 Feb 2021 01:04:06 GMT)
1.8

14 km
(140 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Fri, 12 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
12 Feb 2021 4:24 pm (GMT +13) (12 Feb 2021 03:24:40 GMT)
1.7

41 km
(128 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Thu, 11 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
11 Feb 2021 1:20 pm (GMT +13) (11 Feb 2021 00:20:03 GMT)
3.0

10.2 km
(141 km)Central Hawke's Bay District, 95 km south of Napier City, New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 10 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
11 Feb 2021 3:49 am (GMT +13) (10 Feb 2021 14:49:53 GMT)
1.6

43 km
(132 km)New Zealand MoreMap
11 Feb 2021 3:23 am (GMT +13) (10 Feb 2021 14:23:31 GMT)
2.5

30 km
(156 km)42 km southeast of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Tue, 9 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
9 Feb 2021 9:39 pm (GMT +13) (9 Feb 2021 08:39:58 GMT)
2.1

24 km
(123 km)21 km east of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Mon, 8 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
9 Feb 2021 2:07 am (GMT +13) (8 Feb 2021 13:07:04 GMT)
1.8

20 km
(172 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Sun, 7 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
7 Feb 2021 8:19 pm (GMT +13) (7 Feb 2021 07:19:26 GMT)
2.1

19 km
(122 km)19 km east of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
7 Feb 2021 2:39 pm (GMT +13) (7 Feb 2021 01:39:34 GMT)
2.0

32 km
(134 km)47 km east of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Sat, 6 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
7 Feb 2021 6:44 am (GMT +13) (6 Feb 2021 17:44:22 GMT)
1.7

24 km
(147 km)New Zealand MoreMap
6 Feb 2021 11:20 pm (GMT +13) (6 Feb 2021 10:20:35 GMT)
1.8

13 km
(155 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Fri, 5 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
5 Feb 2021 6:51 pm (GMT +13) (5 Feb 2021 05:51:39 GMT)
3.6

31 km
(136 km)42 km east of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
5 Feb 2021 4:55 pm (GMT +13) (5 Feb 2021 03:55:13 GMT)
2.3

15 km
(162 km)South Pacific Ocean, 85 km east of Palmerston North, New Zealand MoreMap
5 Feb 2021 4:22 pm (GMT +13) (5 Feb 2021 03:22:43 GMT)
2.2

15 km
(161 km)85 km east of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
5 Feb 2021 3:44 pm (GMT +13) (5 Feb 2021 02:44:45 GMT)
1.6

14 km
(164 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 3 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
4 Feb 2021 3:44 am (GMT +13) (3 Feb 2021 14:44:50 GMT)
1.6

13 km
(148 km)New Zealand MoreMap
3 Feb 2021 4:07 pm (GMT +13) (3 Feb 2021 03:07:55 GMT)
1.8

20 km
(146 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Mon, 1 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
2 Feb 2021 6:48 am (GMT +13) (1 Feb 2021 17:48:49 GMT)
1.8

19 km
(147 km)New Zealand MoreMap
1 Feb 2021 11:50 pm (GMT +13) (1 Feb 2021 10:50:56 GMT)
1.6

17 km
(133 km)New Zealand MoreMap
1 Feb 2021 2:36 pm (GMT +13) (1 Feb 2021 01:36:15 GMT)
1.8

20 km
(188 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Sun, 31 Jan 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
1 Feb 2021 4:01 am (GMT +13) (31 Jan 2021 15:01:11 GMT)
1.6

23 km
(143 km)New Zealand MoreMap
31 Jan 2021 4:05 pm (GMT +13) (31 Jan 2021 03:05:05 GMT)
1.7

23 km
(155 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Sat, 30 Jan 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
30 Jan 2021 9:20 pm (GMT +13) (30 Jan 2021 08:20:04 GMT)
1.8

27 km
(120 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Fri, 29 Jan 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
30 Jan 2021 4:53 am (GMT +13) (29 Jan 2021 15:53:34 GMT)
1.6

19 km
(147 km)New Zealand MoreMap
30 Jan 2021 12:54 am (GMT +13) (29 Jan 2021 11:54:51 GMT)
1.7

21 km
(152 km)New Zealand MoreMap
30 Jan 2021 12:47 am (GMT +13) (29 Jan 2021 11:47:50 GMT)
2.1

28 km
(123 km)41 km east of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
29 Jan 2021 5:42 pm (GMT +13) (29 Jan 2021 04:42:40 GMT)
1.7

27 km
(147 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Thu, 28 Jan 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
29 Jan 2021 3:00 am (GMT +13) (28 Jan 2021 14:00:58 GMT)
1.9

13 km
(168 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.5 x 1011 joules (42.3 megawatt hours, equivalent to 36.4 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.