Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Hawaiian Ocean View, USA - list, stats and map

Updated: Nov 29, 2023 11:45 GMT -
Find all latest earthquakes in or near Hawaiian Ocean View, USA, in our list below, updated every minute! Events are often reported within minutes. If you just felt a quake near Hawaiian Ocean View, find out which quakes are happening right now!
See quake list
In the past 24 hours, Hawaiian Ocean View has had 7 quakes of magnitudes up to 2.5.

Since 2023, Hawaiian Ocean View has had 6437 quakes of magnitudes up to 4.8:

  • 7 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 130 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 2803 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 3497 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.

Latest today: Mag. 2.0 Earthquake 28 mi S of Hilo, Hawaii County, USA -

Strongest: Mag. 4.8 Earthquake North Pacific Ocean, 47 mi SW of Hilo, Hawaii County, USA -

Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Filter by age:
all
1d
2d
7d
14d
30d
3mo
in sec
Showing all recent or significant quakes since 2023, magnitude 3 or higher in up to 200 km (124 mi) distance (186 out of 6437 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, November 29, 2023 GMT (3 quakes)
Nov 29, 12:10 am (GMT -10)
(Nov 29, 10:10 GMT)
2.0

1.8 km
74.089093622065 km (46 mi)28 mi south of Hilo, Hawaii County, USA More
Nov 29, 01:50 am (GMT +0)
(Nov 29, 01:50 GMT)
2.5

37 km
35.777817141794 km (22 mi)22 mi east of Hawaiian Ocean View, Hawaii County, USA More
Nov 28, 03:05 pm (GMT -10)
(Nov 29, 01:05 GMT)
1.2

3.1 km
46.611522796769 km (29 mi)8.3 mi northeast of Pāhala, Hawaii County, USA More
Tuesday, November 28, 2023 GMT (12 quakes)
Nov 28, 10:51 am (GMT -10)
(Nov 28, 20:51 GMT)
1.7

1.9 km
46.556498107502 km (29 mi)8.3 mi northeast of Pāhala, Hawaii County, USA More
Nov 28, 10:48 am (Honolulu)
(Nov 28, 20:48 GMT)
2.3

1.9 km
46.676356710204 km (29 mi)8.5 mi northeast of Pāhala, Hawaii County, USA More
Nov 28, 05:22 am (Honolulu)
(Nov 28, 15:22 GMT)
2.2

33 km
31.190933453342 km (19 mi)3.1 mi south of Pāhala, Hawaii County, USA More
Nov 28, 05:02 am (Honolulu)
(Nov 28, 15:02 GMT)
2.1

33 km
27.827523513841 km (17 mi)4.8 mi southwest of Pāhala, Hawaii County, USA More
Nov 27, 08:59 pm (Honolulu)
(Nov 28, 06:59 GMT)
1.9

9.8 km
64.88131727581 km (40 mi)25 mi southwest of Hilo, Hawaii County, USA More
Nov 27, 08:57 pm (Honolulu)
(Nov 28, 06:57 GMT)
1.9

0.4 km
65.937190446197 km (41 mi)2.5 mi southwest of Volcano Village, Hawaii County, USA More
Nov 27, 07:55 pm (Honolulu)
(Nov 28, 05:55 GMT)
1.8

3.7 km
46.925616951009 km (29 mi)8.6 mi northeast of Pāhala, Hawaii County, USA More
Nov 27, 07:54 pm (Honolulu)
(Nov 28, 05:54 GMT)
2.3

0.7 km
71.669432515599 km (45 mi)26 mi south of Hilo, Hawaii County, USA More
Nov 27, 05:49 pm (Honolulu)
(Nov 28, 03:49 GMT)
1.9

1.6 km
64.985005609887 km (40 mi)26 mi southwest of Hilo, Hawaii County, USA More
Nov 27, 04:33 pm (Honolulu)
(Nov 28, 02:33 GMT)
2.1

12 km
31.21350016592 km (19 mi)3.8 mi south of Pāhala, Hawaii County, USA More
Show more
About these data
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.8 x 1012 joules (768 megawatt hours, equivalent to 661 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Pohakuloa, Hawaii, USA (POHA/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Pohakuloa, Hawaii, USA: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Number of recent quakes in or near Hawaiian Ocean View, USA, by magnitude

Past 24 hours
7 days
30 days
90 days
365 days
Mag
 
Number of quakes (35 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
1 quake
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (2.86%)
2+
8 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (22.86%)
below M2
26 quakes
(74.29%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (130 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
4 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (3.08%)
2+
51 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (39.23%)
below M2
75 quakes
(57.69%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (617 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
10 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (1.62%)
2+
257 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (41.65%)
below M2
350 quakes
(56.73%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (1,966 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
26 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (1.32%)
2+
796 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (40.49%)
below M2
1,144 quakes
(58.19%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (7,494 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
12 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (0.16%)
3+
164 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (2.19%)
2+
3,387 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (45.2%)
below M2
3,931 quakes
(52.46%)
Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!

Number of earthquakes over time

Past 24 hours:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released

Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days

Hawaiian Ocean View Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Hawaiian Ocean View?

The last earthquake in Hawaiian Ocean View occurred 1 hour and 35 minutes ago: Weak mag. 2.0 earthquake - 28 mi south of Hilo, Hawaii County, USA, on Wednesday, Nov 29, 2023 12:10 am (GMT -10).

How many quakes were there in Hawaiian Ocean View since 2023?

Since 2023, Hawaiian Ocean View was shaken by 7 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 130 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 2803 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 3497 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

What was the strongest quake in Hawaiian Ocean View since 2023?

The strongest earthquake in Hawaiian Ocean View since 2023 occurred 41 weeks ago: Moderate mag. 4.8 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 47 mi southwest of Hilo, Hawaii County, USA, on Tuesday, Feb 14, 2023 09:27 pm (Honolulu time).

Interactive map

You can use the standalone version of our interactive earthquake map or embed it on your website:

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Nov 29, 2023 11:45 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Stop Russia's Agression - Support Ukraine
Significant parts of this website use brilliant open-source software developed by Ukrainians. Russia's unprovoked war has killed tens of thousands, displaced millions, and the beautiful country of Ukraine is being destroyed. We cannot be silent even if the topic of this website has nothing to do with politics.
If you like to support Ukraine from abroad:
Ukrainians recommend the Come Back Alive charity. For other options, see StandWithUkraine.
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 297 465 123 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings