Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Portola, California, USA, in the past 24 hours on Monday, October 3, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Oct 3, 2022 01:14 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
Over the past 24 hours, Portola had 6 small quakes between magnitudes 1.0 and 2.0. Look up quakes in the past 30 days!

Latest quake: Mag. 1.1 | 16km NNW of Chester, CA -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 1.7 | 2km NW of Bella Vista, CA -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Portola, California, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours6 quakes
Past 7 days22 quakes | 5 quakes M2+
Past 30 days110 quakes | 24 quakes M2+ | 2 quakes M3+
Past 90 days455 quakes | 100 quakes M2+ | 6 quakes M3+ | 2 quakes M4+
Past 365 days1,664 quakes | 318 quakes M2+ | 14 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (6 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sunday, October 2, 2022 GMT (6 quakes)
Oct 2, 2022 10:56 am (GMT -7) (Oct 2, 2022 17:56 GMT)
1.1

6.8 km
16km NNW of Chester, CA More
Oct 2, 2022 4:45 am (GMT -7) (Oct 2, 2022 11:45 GMT)
1.6

13 km
13km NE of Millville, CA More
Oct 2, 2022 12:30 am (GMT -7) (Oct 2, 2022 07:30 GMT)
1.3

12 km
9km ENE of Angwin, CA More
Oct 1, 2022 11:59 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 2, 2022 06:59 GMT)
1.7

13 km
2km NW of Bella Vista, CA More
Oct 1, 2022 10:43 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 2, 2022 05:43 GMT)
1.2

3.6 km
12km ESE of Viola, CA More
Oct 1, 2022 10:23 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 2, 2022 05:23 GMT)
1.4

3.4 km
12km ESE of Viola, CA More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.9 x 107 joules (16.3 kilowatt hours) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Columbia College, Columbia, CA, USA (CMB/BK network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Columbia College, Columbia, CA, USA: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Portola Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Portola?

The last earthquake in Portola occurred 7 hours ago: Minor mag. 1.1 earthquake - 16km NNW of Chester, CA, on Sunday, Oct 2, 2022 at 10:56 am (GMT -7).

How many quakes were there in Portola today?

In the past 24 hours, Portola, California, USA had 6 quakes up to magnitude 1.7.

What was the strongest quake in Portola today?

The strongest earthquake in Portola today occurred 18 hours ago: Minor mag. 1.7 earthquake - 2km NW of Bella Vista, CA, on Saturday, Oct 1, 2022 at 11:59 pm (GMT -7).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Oct 3, 2022 01:14 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings