Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near San Jose, Oaxaca, Mexico, in the past 24 hours on Wednesday, October 5, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Oct 5, 2022 02:21 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 6 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 11 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
In the past 24 hours, San Jose was shaken by 6 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above and 11 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0.
A moderate magnitude 4.3 earthquake occurred in North Pacific Ocean, Mexico, 7 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 3.0 | North Pacific Ocean, 16 km W of Puerto Escondido, Mexico -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 4.3 | North Pacific Ocean, 24 km W of Puerto Escondido, Mexico -

Recent quakes above magnitude 2.0 in or near San Jose, Oaxaca, Mexico (updated )

Past 24 hours17 quakes | 0 quakes M2+ | 11 quakes M3+ | 6 quakes M4+
Past 7 days39 quakes | 0 quakes M2+ | 30 quakes M3+ | 9 quakes M4+
Past 30 days176 quakes | 2 quakes M2+ | 139 quakes M3+ | 35 quakes M4+
Past 90 days565 quakes | 7 quakes M2+ | 477 quakes M3+ | 81 quakes M4+
Past 365 days2,287 quakes | 20 quakes M2+ | 1,910 quakes M3+ | 351 quakes M4+ | 6 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

Asuncion Ocotlan | Asuncion Tlacolulita | Ayoquezco de Aldama | Candelaria Loxicha | Ciénega de Zimatlan | Coatecas Altas | Guevea de Humboldt | Heroica Ciudad de Ejutla de Crespo | La Compañia | Magdalena Mixtepec | ...Show all... | Yaxe | Zimatlan de Alvarez
...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (17 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, October 4, 2022 GMT (16 quakes)
Oct 4, 2022 4:54 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 4, 2022 21:54 GMT)
3.0

15 km
North Pacific Ocean, 16 km west of Puerto Escondido, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 4:52 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 4, 2022 21:52 GMT)
3.3

5 km
North Pacific Ocean, 24 km west of Puerto Escondido, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 4:38 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 4, 2022 21:38 GMT)
3.2

5 km
North Pacific Ocean, 25 km west of Puerto Escondido, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 4:26 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 4, 2022 21:26 GMT)
3.6

5 km
North Pacific Ocean, 25 km west of Puerto Escondido, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 3:55 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 4, 2022 20:55 GMT)
3.1

15 km
North Pacific Ocean, 15 km west of Puerto Escondido, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 3:50 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 4, 2022 20:50 GMT)
3.7

11 km
North Pacific Ocean, 21 km west of Puerto Escondido, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 3:33 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 4, 2022 20:33 GMT)
3.3

14 km
North Pacific Ocean, 17 km west of Puerto Escondido, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 3:25 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 4, 2022 20:25 GMT)
3.4

13 km
North Pacific Ocean, 17 km west of Puerto Escondido, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 3:16 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 4, 2022 20:16 GMT)
3.2

13 km
North Pacific Ocean, 17 km west of Puerto Escondido, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 2:49 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 4, 2022 19:49 GMT)
3.2

14 km
North Pacific Ocean, 17 km west of Puerto Escondido, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 11:54 am (GMT -7) (Oct 4, 2022 18:54 GMT)
4.3

7 km
North Pacific Ocean, 24 km west of Puerto Escondido, Mexico
I FELT IT - 3 reports
More
Oct 4, 2022 1:29 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 4, 2022 18:29 GMT)
4.0

4 km
27 km west of Puerto Escondido, San Pedro Mixtepec -Dto. 22 -, Oaxaca, Mexico
I FELT IT - 2 reports
More
Oct 4, 2022 12:58 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 4, 2022 17:58 GMT)
4.0

9 km
North Pacific Ocean, 22 km west of Puerto Escondido, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 9:36 am (GMT -6) (Oct 4, 2022 15:36 GMT)
4.3

7 km
North Pacific Ocean, 25 km west of Puerto Escondido, Mexico
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Oct 4, 2022 10:13 am (GMT -5) (Oct 4, 2022 15:13 GMT)
4.0

7 km
North Pacific Ocean, 23 km west of Puerto Escondido, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 4:49 am (GMT -5) (Oct 4, 2022 09:49 GMT)
4.1

131 km
36 km northeast of Matias Romero Avendaño, Oaxaca, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 7.1 x 1011 joules (197 megawatt hours, equivalent to 169 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: TLAPA (TLIG/MX network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station TLAPA: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

San Jose Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in San Jose?

The last earthquake in San Jose occurred 4 hours ago: Weak mag. 3.0 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 16 km west of Puerto Escondido, Mexico, on Tuesday, Oct 4, 2022 at 4:54 pm (GMT -5).

How many quakes were there in San Jose today?

In the past 24 hours, San Jose, Oaxaca, Mexico had 17 quakes up to magnitude 4.3.

What was the strongest quake in San Jose today?

The strongest earthquake in San Jose today occurred 7 hours ago: Moderate mag. 4.3 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 24 km west of Puerto Escondido, Mexico, on Tuesday, Oct 4, 2022 at 11:54 am (GMT -7).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Oct 5, 2022 02:21 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings