Latest quakes in or near Kefalos, South Aegean, Greece, in the past 24 hours on Tuesday, August 16, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 16, 2022 21:43 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 9 quakes above magnitude 2
  • 8 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Kefalos had 9 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 8 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A light magnitude 2.9 earthquake occurred in Muğla, Turkey, 20 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 1.8 | Aegean Sea, 14 km NW of Kusadasi, Aydın, Turkey -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 2.9 | 20 km SE of Mugla, Muğla, Turkey -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Kefalos, South Aegean, Greece (updated )

Past 24 hours:17 quakes | 9 quakes M2+
Past 7 days:207 quakes | 74 quakes M2+ | 12 quakes M3+ | 0 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 30 days:388 quakes | 147 quakes M2+ | 22 quakes M3+ | 0 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 90 days:1,019 quakes | 376 quakes M2+ | 64 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 365 days:6,523 quakes | 2,387 quakes M2+ | 356 quakes M3+ | 30 quakes M4+ | 2 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (18 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, August 16, 2022 GMT (16 quakes)
Aug 16, 2022 11:43 pm (GMT +3) (Aug 16, 2022 20:43 GMT)
1.8

4.2 km
Aegean Sea, 14 km northwest of Kusadasi, Aydın, Turkey MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 11:30 pm (GMT +3) (Aug 16, 2022 20:30 GMT)
?

n/a
1.8 km southwest of Bodrum, Muğla, Turkey (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 7:34 pm (GMT +3) (Aug 16, 2022 16:34 GMT)
1.6

10.2 km
21 km south of Mugla, Muğla, Turkey MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 5:44 pm (GMT +3) (Aug 16, 2022 14:44 GMT)
1.5

16 km
15 km southwest of Aydin, Aydın, Turkey MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 1:10 pm (GMT +3) (Aug 16, 2022 10:10 GMT)
2.2

7 km
19 km southeast of Mugla, Muğla, Turkey MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 11:34 am (GMT +3) (Aug 16, 2022 08:34 GMT)
2.3

2 km
Aegean Sea, 14 km northwest of Kusadasi, Aydın, Turkey MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 11:01 am (GMT +3) (Aug 16, 2022 08:01 GMT)
1.9

7.6 km
Aegean Sea, 15 km northwest of Kusadasi, Aydın, Turkey MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 10:54 am (GMT +3) (Aug 16, 2022 07:54 GMT)
2.1

7 km
20 km southeast of Mugla, Muğla, Turkey MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 10:52 am (GMT +3) (Aug 16, 2022 07:52 GMT)
1.6

12 km
Aegean Sea, 20 km north of Karlovassi, Samos, North Aegean, Greece MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 10:41 am (GMT +3) (Aug 16, 2022 07:41 GMT)
2.0

11 km
Aegean Sea, 15 km northwest of Kusadasi, Aydın, Turkey MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 9:29 am (GMT +3) (Aug 16, 2022 06:29 GMT)
2.0

5.5 km
Aegean Sea, 2.5 km northwest of Samos, North Aegean, Greece 1 reportMoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 7:47 am (GMT +3) (Aug 16, 2022 04:47 GMT)
2.0

14 km
Aegean Sea, 13 km northwest of Kusadasi, Aydın, Turkey MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 6:59 am (GMT +3) (Aug 16, 2022 03:59 GMT)
2.2

7.4 km
Aegean Sea, 16 km northwest of Kusadasi, Aydın, Turkey MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 4:39 am (GMT +3) (Aug 16, 2022 01:39 GMT)
1.7

11 km
21 km south of Mugla, Muğla, Turkey MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 4:35 am (GMT +3) (Aug 16, 2022 01:35 GMT)
1.5

4.1 km
Aegean Sea, 17 km northwest of Kusadasi, Aydın, Turkey MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 4:29 am (GMT +3) (Aug 16, 2022 01:29 GMT)
2.9

7 km
20 km southeast of Mugla, Muğla, Turkey
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Monday, August 15, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
Aug 16, 2022 1:33 am (GMT +3) (Aug 15, 2022 22:33 GMT)
1.9

15 km
Aegean Sea, 13 km northwest of Kusadasi, Aydın, Turkey MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 1:20 am (GMT +3) (Aug 15, 2022 22:20 GMT)
2.4

10 km
Aegean Sea, 27 km northwest of Astypalaia, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.6 x 109 joules (714 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.614 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Kefalos Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Kefalos?

The last earthquake in Kefalos occurred 59 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.8 earthquake - Aegean Sea, 14 km northwest of Kusadasi, Aydın, Turkey, on Tuesday, Aug 16, 2022 at 11:43 pm (GMT +3).

How many quakes were there in Kefalos today?

In the past 24 hours, Kefalos, South Aegean, Greece had 18 quakes up to magnitude 2.9.

What was the strongest quake in Kefalos today?

The strongest earthquake in Kefalos today occurred 20 hours ago: Light mag. 2.9 earthquake - 20 km southeast of Mugla, Muğla, Turkey, on Tuesday, Aug 16, 2022 at 4:29 am (GMT +3).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Aug 16, 2022 21:43 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings