Latest quakes in or near Nueva Ocotepeque, Departamento de Ocotepeque, Honduras, in the past 24 hours on Monday, August 15, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 15, 2022 19:55 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 4
  • 3 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 3 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
In the past 24 hours, Nueva Ocotepeque was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 4.4, 3 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 3 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
A moderate magnitude 4.4 earthquake occurred in Departamento de Zacapa, Guatemala, 14 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 3.0 | North Pacific Ocean, 71 km SW of Sonsonate, El Salvador -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 4.4 | 10.2 km NE of Zacapa, Guatemala -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Nueva Ocotepeque, Departamento de Ocotepeque, Honduras (updated )

Past 24 hours:7 quakes | 3 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 7 days:31 quakes | 16 quakes M2+ | 9 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+
Past 30 days:177 quakes | 108 quakes M2+ | 39 quakes M3+ | 9 quakes M4+
Past 90 days:477 quakes | 299 quakes M2+ | 103 quakes M3+ | 19 quakes M4+
Past 365 days:1,143 quakes | 624 quakes M2+ | 368 quakes M3+ | 62 quakes M4+ | 4 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Hide 2 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (9 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Monday, August 15, 2022 GMT (9 quakes)
Aug 15, 2022 12:53 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 15, 2022 18:53 GMT)
?

n/a
5.5 km south of Guatemala, Departamento de Guatemala (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 12:42 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 15, 2022 18:42 GMT)
3.0

14 km
North Pacific Ocean, 71 km southwest of Sonsonate, El Salvador
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 7:11 am (GMT -6) (Aug 15, 2022 13:11 GMT)
3.1

178 km
North Pacific Ocean, 9 km southeast of La Union, El Salvador
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 3:55 am (GMT -6) (Aug 15, 2022 09:55 GMT)
?

n/a
14 km south of Guatemala, Departamento de Guatemala (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 1:05 am (GMT -6) (Aug 15, 2022 07:05 GMT)
3.0

2 km
9 km northeast of Zacapa, Guatemala
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 1:00 am (GMT -6) (Aug 15, 2022 07:00 GMT)
2.9

23 km
North Pacific Ocean, 86 km southwest of San Salvador, El Salvador MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 12:37 am (GMT -6) (Aug 15, 2022 06:37 GMT)
2.5

2 km
8.4 km northeast of Zacapa, Guatemala MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 12:34 am (GMT -6) (Aug 15, 2022 06:34 GMT)
2.4

2 km
10.5 km northeast of Zacapa, Guatemala MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 12:17 am (GMT -6) (Aug 15, 2022 06:17 GMT)
4.4

1 km
10.2 km northeast of Zacapa, Guatemala
I FELT IT - 9 reports
MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.6 x 1011 joules (72.2 megawatt hours, equivalent to 62.1 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Nueva Ocotepeque Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Nueva Ocotepeque?

The last earthquake in Nueva Ocotepeque occurred 1 hour and 13 minutes ago: Weak mag. 3.0 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 71 km southwest of Sonsonate, El Salvador, on Monday, Aug 15, 2022 at 12:42 pm (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in Nueva Ocotepeque today?

In the past 24 hours, Nueva Ocotepeque, Departamento de Ocotepeque, Honduras had 9 quakes up to magnitude 4.4.

What was the strongest quake in Nueva Ocotepeque today?

The strongest earthquake in Nueva Ocotepeque today occurred 14 hours ago: Moderate mag. 4.4 earthquake - 10.2 km northeast of Zacapa, Guatemala, on Monday, Aug 15, 2022 at 12:17 am (GMT -6).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Aug 15, 2022 19:55 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings