Help Ukraine

Latest quakes in or near San Jose El Idolo, Suchitepeque, Guatemala, in the past 14 days - list, stats and map

Updated May 25, 2022 22:09 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes in the past 14 days:

  • 6 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 16 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 10 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
In the past 14 days, San Jose El Idolo was shaken by 6 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 16 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 10 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.1 | Chiapas, 38 km W of Jacaltenango, Departamento de Huehuetenango, Guatemala -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near San Jose El Idolo, Suchitepeque, Guatemala (updated )

Past 24 hours:4 quakes | 0 quakes M2+ | 4 quakes M3+
Past 7 days:10 quakes | 1 quake M2+ | 8 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 30 days:98 quakes | 29 quakes M2+ | 48 quakes M3+ | 20 quakes M4+
Past 90 days:285 quakes | 79 quakes M2+ | 145 quakes M3+ | 57 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 365 days:842 quakes | 106 quakes M2+ | 499 quakes M3+ | 225 quakes M4+ | 8 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

Alotenango | Antigua Guatemala | Barberena | Catarina | Chiche | Chichicastenango | Chimaltenango | Ciudad Vieja | Comalapa | Concepcion | ...Show all... | Yepocapa | Zaragoza
...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Hide 4 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (36 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, May 25, 2022 GMT (3 quakes)
May 25, 2022 2:04 pm (GMT -6) (May 25, 2022 20:04 GMT)
3.1

32 km
North Pacific Ocean, 61 km southwest of Sonsonate, El Salvador
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 25, 2022 5:02 am (GMT -6) (May 25, 2022 11:02 GMT)
3.1

21 km
North Pacific Ocean, 71 km southwest of La Gomera, Guatemala
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 24, 2022 10:06 pm (GMT -5) (May 25, 2022 03:06 GMT)
3.1

63 km
27 km south of Tapachula de Cordova y Ordoñez, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Tuesday, May 24, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
May 24, 2022 5:58 pm (GMT -6) (May 24, 2022 23:58 GMT)
3.0

69 km
North Pacific Ocean, 44 km south of Retalhuleu, Guatemala
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 24, 2022 2:02 am (GMT -6) (May 24, 2022 08:02 GMT)
?

n/a
12 km southeast of Guatemala, Departamento de Guatemala (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Monday, May 23, 2022 GMT (4 quakes)
May 23, 2022 5:40 pm (GMT -6) (May 23, 2022 23:40 GMT)
?

n/a
North Pacific Ocean, 3.3 km southwest of San Jose, Guatemala (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 23, 2022 4:21 pm (GMT -6) (May 23, 2022 22:21 GMT)
3.9

30 km
North Pacific Ocean, 37 km southwest of Pueblo Nuevo, Guatemala
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 23, 2022 12:20 am (GMT -6) (May 23, 2022 06:20 GMT)
?

n/a
6.1 km south of Guatemala, Departamento de Guatemala (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
May 22, 2022 7:43 pm (GMT -6) (May 23, 2022 01:43 GMT)
3.2

25 km
4.6 km northeast of Pueblo Nuevo, Guatemala
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sunday, May 22, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
May 22, 2022 12:04 pm (GMT -6) (May 22, 2022 18:04 GMT)
3.4

51 km
North Pacific Ocean, 61 km southwest of Tapachula de Cordova y Ordoñez, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 22, 2022 8:07 am (GMT -6) (May 22, 2022 14:07 GMT)
3.4

27 km
North Pacific Ocean, 27 km southwest of San Jose, Guatemala
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Saturday, May 21, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
May 21, 2022 4:40 am (GMT -5) (May 21, 2022 09:40 GMT)
4.0

29 km
9.2 km northeast of Tapachula de Cordova y Ordoñez, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Thursday, May 19, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
May 19, 2022 7:33 am (GMT -6) (May 19, 2022 13:33 GMT)
2.7

7 km
23 km southwest of Cuilapa, Santa Rosa, Guatemala
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Wednesday, May 18, 2022 GMT (3 quakes)
May 18, 2022 3:02 pm (GMT -6) (May 18, 2022 21:02 GMT)
4.0

19 km
North Pacific Ocean, 64 km southwest of Retalhuleu, Guatemala MoreMap
May 18, 2022 4:13 am (GMT -6) (May 18, 2022 10:13 GMT)
2.7

33 km
North Pacific Ocean, 41 km south of Pueblo Nuevo, Guatemala MoreMap
May 18, 2022 12:45 am (GMT -6) (May 18, 2022 06:45 GMT)
2.8

1 km
North Pacific Ocean, 66 km south of Retalhuleu, Guatemala 1 reportMoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6.1 x 1011 joules (169 megawatt hours, equivalent to 146 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

San Jose El Idolo Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in San Jose El Idolo?

The last earthquake in San Jose El Idolo occurred 2 hours and 5 minutes ago: Weak mag. 3.1 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 61 km southwest of Sonsonate, El Salvador, on Wednesday, May 25, 2022 at 2:04 pm (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in San Jose El Idolo in the past 14 days?

In the past 14 days, San Jose El Idolo, Suchitepeque, Guatemala had 36 quakes up to magnitude 4.1.

What was the strongest quake in San Jose El Idolo in the past 14 days?

The strongest earthquake in San Jose El Idolo in the past 14 days occurred 10 days ago: Light mag. 4.1 earthquake - Chiapas, 38 km west of Jacaltenango, Departamento de Huehuetenango, Guatemala, on Monday, May 16, 2022 at 12:57 am (GMT -6).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 25, 2022 22:09 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.