Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Jan 18, 2022 13:02 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Past earthquakes near San José El Idolo, Suchitepeque, Guatemala: 2020

Updated Jan 18, 2022 13:02 GMT -
During 2020, San José El Idolo was shaken by 4 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 25 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, and 71 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0.
Biggest quake: 5.6 quake 23 km south of Concepcion, Departamento de Escuintla, Guatemala, 2020-08-18 04:01:31
...Read More

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (100 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Monday, December 28, 2020 08:50 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 28, 2020 2:50 am (GMT -6) (Dec 28, 2020 08:50 GMT)
4.0

16 km
North Pacific Ocean, 52 km south of Champerico, Retalhuleu, Guatemala MoreMap
Monday, December 21, 2020 09:49 GMT (1 earthquake)
2020-12-21 03:49:04 (Hora de México) (Dec 21, 2020 09:49 GMT)
3.8

84 km
North Pacific Ocean, 18 km west of Champerico, Retalhuleu, Guatemala MoreMap
Sunday, December 13, 2020 09:16 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 13, 2020 3:16 am (GMT -6) (Dec 13, 2020 09:16 GMT)
3.7

41 km
North Pacific Ocean, 51 km south of Champerico, Retalhuleu, Guatemala MoreMap
Monday, November 23, 2020 08:02 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 23, 2020 2:02 am (GMT -6) (Nov 23, 2020 08:02 GMT)
3.4

7 km
27 km southwest of La Gomera, Escuintla, Guatemala MoreMap
Sunday, November 22, 2020 21:19 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 22, 2020 3:19 pm (GMT -6) (Nov 22, 2020 21:19 GMT)
3.5

1 km
13 km southeast of Nueva Concepción, Escuintla, Guatemala MoreMap
Wednesday, November 18, 2020 18:15 GMT (1 earthquake)
2020-11-18 12:15:24 (Hora de México) (Nov 18, 2020 18:15 GMT)
3.8

66 km
67 km south of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico, Guatemala MoreMap
Monday, November 16, 2020 08:46 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 16, 2020 2:46 am (GMT -6) (Nov 16, 2020 08:46 GMT)
4.2

43 km
164 km west of Guatemala City, Guatemala 1 reportMoreMap
Thursday, November 12, 2020 03:21 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 11, 2020 9:21 pm (GMT -6) (Nov 12, 2020 03:21 GMT)
5.1

10 km
North Pacific Ocean, 27 km southeast of Champerico, Retalhuleu, Guatemala 6 reportsMoreMap
Tuesday, November 10, 2020 16:41 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 10, 2020 10:41 am (GMT -6) (Nov 10, 2020 16:41 GMT)
4.1

41 km
120 km southwest of Guatemala City, Guatemala MoreMap
Monday, November 2, 2020 06:00 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 2, 2020 12:00 am (GMT -6) (Nov 2, 2020 06:00 GMT)
4.0

18 km
120 km southwest of Guatemala City, Guatemala MoreMap
Wednesday, October 28, 2020 21:21 GMT (1 earthquake)
2020-10-28 15:21:45 (Oct 28, 2020 21:21 GMT)
3.6

56 km
26 km south of Retalhuleu, Guatemala MoreMap
Friday, October 23, 2020 18:21 GMT (1 earthquake)
2020-10-23 12:21:17 (Oct 23, 2020 18:21 GMT)
4.8

15 km
119 km southwest of Guatemala City, Guatemala 5 reportsMoreMap
Saturday, October 17, 2020 08:18 GMT (1 earthquake)
2020-10-17 02:18:13 (Oct 17, 2020 08:18 GMT)
3.6

24 km
62 km southeast of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico, Guatemala MoreMap
Monday, October 12, 2020 06:06 GMT (2 earthquakes)
2020-10-12 00:06:54 (Oct 12, 2020 06:06 GMT)
5.0

98 km
12 km south of Flores Costa Cuca, Quetzaltenango, Guatemala 20 reportsMoreMap
2020-10-11 18:47:45 (Oct 12, 2020 00:47 GMT)
3.4

27 km
North Pacific Ocean, 52 km south of Champerico, Retalhuleu, Guatemala 1 reportMoreMap
Friday, October 9, 2020 09:59 GMT (2 earthquakes)
2020-10-09 04:59:30 (Hora de México) (Oct 9, 2020 09:59 GMT)
3.8

7 km
89 km south of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico, Guatemala MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.4 x 1013 joules (9.54 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 8210 tons of TNT or 0.5 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel