Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Largest earthquakes in or near Wolfsburg, Lower Saxony, Germany, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated: Nov 17, 2022 11:11 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 5
  • 3 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 13 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 111 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 68 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
Since 1900, Wolfsburg has had 1 quake of magnitude 5.4, 3 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 13 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 111 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There have been also 68 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 2.0 | 1.4 km SW of Büren, Regierungsbezirk Detmold, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany -

Strongest quake: Mag. 5.4 | Germany -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Filter by age:

all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 1.1 or higher (196 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Jan 26, 2023 11:28 am (GMT +1) (Jan 26, 2023 10:28 GMT)
2.0

5 km
154 km (96 mi)1.4 km southwest of Büren, Germany More
Jan 24, 2023 12:31 pm (GMT +1) (Jan 24, 2023 11:31 GMT)
2.1

2 km
229 km (142 mi)7.6 km south of Wernigerode, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany More
Jan 24, 2023 11:52 am (GMT +1) (Jan 24, 2023 10:52 GMT)
1.7

4 km
248 km (154 mi)Germany: Katlenburg-Lindau (Niedersachsen, DE) More
Jan 18, 2023 11:59 am (GMT +1) (Jan 18, 2023 10:59 GMT)
2.1

1 km
230 km (143 mi)6.5 km southeast of Wernigerode, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany More
Jan 17, 2023 3:26 pm (GMT +1) (Jan 17, 2023 14:26 GMT)
2.0

2 km
200 km (124 mi)18 km northeast of Mühlhausen, Thuringia, Germany More
Jan 17, 2023 1:20 pm (GMT +1) (Jan 17, 2023 12:20 GMT)
2.3

5 km
154 km (96 mi)3.2 km southeast of Büren, Germany More
Jan 11, 2023 11:52 am (GMT +1) (Jan 11, 2023 10:52 GMT)
1.8

9 km
138 km (86 mi)7.9 km west of Brilon, Germany More
Jan 10, 2023 1:01 pm (GMT +1) (Jan 10, 2023 12:01 GMT)
2.3

2 km
229 km (142 mi)7.4 km southeast of Wernigerode, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany More
Jan 5, 2023 12:01 pm (GMT +1) (Jan 5, 2023 11:01 GMT)
1.8

2 km
230 km (143 mi)6.8 km southeast of Wernigerode, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany More
Dec 28, 2022 12:28 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 28, 2022 11:28 GMT)
2.3

5 km
143 km (89 mi)4.5 km northwest of Brilon, Germany 1 reportMore
Dec 28, 2022 11:28 am (GMT +1) (Dec 28, 2022 10:28 GMT)
2.0

5 km
202 km (126 mi)16 km north of Mühlhausen, Thuringia, Germany More
Dec 27, 2022 12:30 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 27, 2022 11:30 GMT)
2.2

3 km
231 km (144 mi)6.2 km southeast of Wernigerode, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany More
Dec 12, 2022 12:44 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 12, 2022 11:44 GMT)
1.6

2 km
235 km (146 mi)Germany: Braunlage (Niedersachsen, DE) More
Dec 12, 2022 12:29 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 12, 2022 11:29 GMT)
2.2

5 km
228 km (142 mi)8.7 km southeast of Wernigerode, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany More
Dec 12, 2022 11:07 am (GMT +1) (Dec 12, 2022 10:07 GMT)
2.0

8 km
215 km (134 mi)13 km north of Nordhausen, Thuringia, Germany More
Dec 7, 2022 12:27 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 7, 2022 11:27 GMT)
2.3

5 km
229 km (142 mi)7.4 km southeast of Wernigerode, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany More
Dec 6, 2022 10:06 am (GMT +1) (Dec 6, 2022 09:06 GMT)
1.9

5 km
209 km (130 mi)21 km southwest of Nordhausen, Thuringia, Germany More
Dec 5, 2022 11:19 am (GMT +1) (Dec 5, 2022 10:19 GMT)
1.7

17 km
220 km (137 mi)Germany: Thale (Sachsen-Anhalt, DE) More
Dec 5, 2022 9:30 am (GMT +1) (Dec 5, 2022 08:30 GMT)
2.0

2 km
230 km (143 mi)6.1 km southeast of Wernigerode, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany More
Dec 2, 2022 12:17 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 11:17 GMT)
2.2

3 km
162 km (101 mi)23 km southwest of Kassel, Hesse, Germany 1 reportMore
Dec 2, 2022 9:49 am (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 08:49 GMT)
2.1

2 km
149 km (93 mi)7.4 km northeast of Brilon, Germany More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 9.9 x 1012 joules (2.75 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 2365 tons of TNT or 0.1 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Grafenberg, Germany (GRFO/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Grafenberg, Germany: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Wolfsburg Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Wolfsburg?

The last earthquake in Wolfsburg occurred 1 day 4 hours ago: Weak mag. 2.0 earthquake - 1.4 km southwest of Büren, Germany, on Thursday, Jan 26, 2023 at 11:28 am (GMT +1).

How many quakes were there in Wolfsburg since 1900?

Since 1900, Wolfsburg, Lower Saxony, Germany had 196 quakes up to magnitude 5.4.

What was the strongest quake in Wolfsburg since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Wolfsburg since 1900 occurred 70 years ago: Strong mag. 5.4 earthquake - Germany on Sunday, February 22, 1953 at 20:16 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Jan 27, 2023 14:44 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings