Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Tairua, Waikato, New Zealand, in the past 30 days - list, stats and map

Updated: Sep 27, 2022 18:59 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 30 days:

  • 4 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 32 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 160 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 48 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 30 days, Tairua was shaken by 4 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 32 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 160 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 48 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 2.2 | South Pacific Ocean, 95 km NE of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.8 | South Pacific Ocean, 119 km NE of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Tairua, Waikato, New Zealand (updated )

Past 24 hours8 quakes | 6 quakes M2+ | 2 quakes M3+
Past 7 days58 quakes | 36 quakes M2+ | 12 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 30 days244 quakes | 160 quakes M2+ | 32 quakes M3+ | 4 quakes M4+
Past 90 days656 quakes | 434 quakes M2+ | 74 quakes M3+ | 6 quakes M4+
Past 365 days2,894 quakes | 1,835 quakes M2+ | 277 quakes M3+ | 20 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Hide 10 unconfirmed quakes
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 2.8 or higher (67 out of 244 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, September 27, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
Sep 28, 2022 4:48 am (GMT +13) (Sep 27, 2022 15:48 GMT)
?

n/a
44 km north of Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 2 reports
More
Sep 27, 2022 7:31 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 27, 2022 06:31 GMT)
3.0

159 km
76 km southeast of Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Monday, September 26, 2022 GMT (3 quakes)
Sep 27, 2022 10:23 am (GMT +13) (Sep 26, 2022 21:23 GMT)
3.2

82 km
South Pacific Ocean, 41 km north of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Sep 27, 2022 12:01 am (GMT +13) (Sep 26, 2022 11:01 GMT)
?

n/a
South Pacific Ocean, 13 km north of Auckland, akland, Auckland, New Zealand (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 2 reports
More
Sep 26, 2022 3:00 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 26, 2022 02:00 GMT)
3.1

143 km
South Pacific Ocean, 40 km east of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Sunday, September 25, 2022 GMT (4 quakes)
Sep 26, 2022 2:22 am (GMT +13) (Sep 25, 2022 13:22 GMT)
3.0

134 km
6.1 km south of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Sep 26, 2022 2:22 am (GMT +13) (Sep 25, 2022 13:22 GMT)
3.7

256 km
10 km southwest of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Sep 26, 2022 1:56 am (GMT +13) (Sep 25, 2022 12:56 GMT)
?

n/a
Auckland, 39 km northwest of Waitakere, New Zealand (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Sep 25, 2022 8:23 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 25, 2022 07:23 GMT)
2.9

194 km
13 km south of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Saturday, September 24, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
Sep 25, 2022 5:27 am (GMT +12) (Sep 24, 2022 17:27 GMT)
3.1

184 km
South Pacific Ocean, 133 km northeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Sep 25, 2022 4:17 am (GMT +13) (Sep 24, 2022 15:17 GMT)
2.6

5 km
49 km east of Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
I FELT IT - 6 reports
More
Friday, September 23, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Sep 23, 2022 2:32 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 23, 2022 02:32 GMT)
?

n/a
5.5 km northwest of Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Thursday, September 22, 2022 GMT (6 quakes)
Sep 23, 2022 1:32 am (GMT +12) (Sep 22, 2022 13:32 GMT)
3.0

171 km
South Pacific Ocean, 162 km northeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Sep 22, 2022 9:10 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 22, 2022 09:10 GMT)
?

n/a
29 km northwest of Auckland, akland, Auckland, New Zealand (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 11 reports
More
Sep 22, 2022 6:57 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 22, 2022 06:57 GMT)
3.2

143 km
South Pacific Ocean, 77 km north of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Sep 22, 2022 4:28 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 22, 2022 04:28 GMT)
4.8

225 km
South Pacific Ocean, 119 km northeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Sep 22, 2022 1:29 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 22, 2022 01:29 GMT)
3.2

68 km
41 km southeast of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Sep 22, 2022 1:21 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 22, 2022 01:21 GMT)
3.0

250 km
South Pacific Ocean, 117 km east of Auckland, akland, Auckland, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Wednesday, September 21, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
Sep 21, 2022 9:37 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 21, 2022 09:37 GMT)
3.3

121 km
Waikato, 24 km southeast of Pukekohe East, akland, Auckland, New Zealand
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Sep 21, 2022 8:06 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 21, 2022 08:06 GMT)
3.3

12 km
South Pacific Ocean, 97 km north of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
I FELT IT - 7 reports
More
Monday, September 19, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Sep 19, 2022 12:38 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 19, 2022 00:38 GMT)
3.6

156 km
21 km southeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.7 x 1012 joules (741 megawatt hours, equivalent to 638 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: South Karori, New Zealand (SNZO/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station South Karori, New Zealand: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Tairua Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Tairua?

The last earthquake in Tairua occurred 2 hours and 42 minutes ago: Minor mag. 2.2 earthquake - South Pacific Ocean, 95 km northeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, on Wednesday, Sep 28, 2022 at 4:18 am (GMT +12).

How many quakes were there in Tairua past month?

In the past 30 days, Tairua, Waikato, New Zealand had 67 quakes up to magnitude 4.8.

What was the strongest quake in Tairua past month?

The strongest earthquake in Tairua past month occurred 6 days ago: Light mag. 4.8 earthquake - South Pacific Ocean, 119 km northeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, on Thursday, Sep 22, 2022 at 4:28 pm (GMT +12).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Sep 27, 2022 18:59 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings