Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Tairua, Waikato, New Zealand, in the past 7 days - list, stats and map

Updated: Oct 1, 2022 02:19 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 7 days:

  • 7 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 42 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 9 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 7 days, Tairua had 7 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 42 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 9 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!
A minor magnitude 2.7 earthquake occurred in Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, 5 hours ago.

Strongest quake: Mag. 3.7 | 47 km N of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Tairua, Waikato, New Zealand (updated )

Past 24 hours4 quakes | 4 quakes M2+
Past 7 days58 quakes | 42 quakes M2+ | 7 quakes M3+
Past 30 days235 quakes | 157 quakes M2+ | 32 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+
Past 90 days654 quakes | 435 quakes M2+ | 73 quakes M3+ | 5 quakes M4+
Past 365 days2,890 quakes | 1,838 quakes M2+ | 276 quakes M3+ | 20 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Hide 8 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (66 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, September 30, 2022 GMT (6 quakes)
Oct 1, 2022 9:51 am (GMT +13) (Sep 30, 2022 20:51 GMT)
2.7

118 km
26 km northwest of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Oct 1, 2022 4:44 am (GMT +12) (Sep 30, 2022 16:44 GMT)
2.7

97 km
South Pacific Ocean, 66 km northeast of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Oct 1, 2022 4:26 am (GMT +13) (Sep 30, 2022 15:26 GMT)
2.0

5 km
South Pacific Ocean, 96 km north of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Oct 1, 2022 3:47 am (GMT +13) (Sep 30, 2022 14:47 GMT)
?

n/a
3.9 km east of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Oct 1, 2022 2:13 am (GMT +13) (Sep 30, 2022 13:13 GMT)
?

n/a
10.6 km north of Auckland, akland, Auckland, New Zealand (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Sep 30, 2022 4:19 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 30, 2022 03:19 GMT)
2.5

147 km
Waikato, 30 km southwest of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Thursday, September 29, 2022 GMT (10 quakes)
Sep 30, 2022 11:27 am (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 22:27 GMT)
2.4

56 km
South Pacific Ocean, 58 km northeast of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Sep 30, 2022 9:35 am (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 20:35 GMT)
2.4

138 km
Waikato, 25 km west of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Sep 30, 2022 8:46 am (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 19:46 GMT)
2.3

106 km
8 km south of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Sep 30, 2022 7:37 am (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 18:37 GMT)
2.3

37 km
South Pacific Ocean, 44 km northeast of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Sep 30, 2022 3:04 am (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 14:04 GMT)
2.4

174 km
South Pacific Ocean, 67 km northeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Sep 30, 2022 2:10 am (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 13:10 GMT)
?

n/a
7.2 km east of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Sep 29, 2022 10:40 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 09:40 GMT)
1.9

43 km
17 km east of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Sep 29, 2022 9:53 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 08:53 GMT)
2.3

147 km
22 km northwest of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Sep 29, 2022 4:21 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 03:21 GMT)
?

n/a
0.7 km southeast of Auckland, akland, Auckland, New Zealand (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 2 reports
More
Sep 29, 2022 3:22 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 02:22 GMT)
?

n/a
1.4 km southeast of Tairua, Thames-Coromandel District, Waikato, New Zealand (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Wednesday, September 28, 2022 GMT (10 quakes)
Sep 29, 2022 11:00 am (GMT +13) (Sep 28, 2022 22:00 GMT)
2.9

5 km
South Pacific Ocean, 30 km east of Whitianga, New Zealand
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Sep 29, 2022 10:36 am (GMT +13) (Sep 28, 2022 21:36 GMT)
2.4

121 km
Waikato, 46 km southwest of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Sep 29, 2022 8:31 am (GMT +12) (Sep 28, 2022 20:31 GMT)
3.2

138 km
South Pacific Ocean, 98 km northeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Sep 29, 2022 9:06 am (GMT +13) (Sep 28, 2022 20:06 GMT)
2.0

152 km
7.6 km east of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Sep 29, 2022 5:46 am (GMT +13) (Sep 28, 2022 16:46 GMT)
2.0

63 km
51 km east of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.4 x 1010 joules (15.1 megawatt hours, equivalent to 13 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: South Karori, New Zealand (SNZO/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station South Karori, New Zealand: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Tairua Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Tairua?

The last earthquake in Tairua occurred 5 hours ago: Minor mag. 2.7 earthquake - 26 km northwest of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, on Saturday, Oct 1, 2022 at 9:51 am (GMT +13).

How many quakes were there in Tairua past week?

In the past 7 days, Tairua, Waikato, New Zealand had 66 quakes up to magnitude 3.7.

What was the strongest quake in Tairua past week?

The strongest earthquake in Tairua past week occurred 6 days ago: Minor mag. 3.7 earthquake - 47 km north of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, on Monday, Sep 26, 2022 at 2:22 am (GMT +13).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Oct 1, 2022 02:19 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings