Latest quakes in or near Tairua, Waikato, New Zealand, in the past 24 hours on Thursday, August 11, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 11, 2022 21:21 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 4 quakes above magnitude 2
  • 1 quake below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Tairua had 4 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above.
A minor magnitude 2.9 earthquake occurred in Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, 2 hours and 7 minutes ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.1 | 32 km S of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 2.9 | 38 km SE of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Tairua, Waikato, New Zealand (updated )

Past 24 hours:5 quakes | 4 quakes M2+
Past 7 days:37 quakes | 28 quakes M2+ | 2 quakes M3+
Past 30 days:189 quakes | 134 quakes M2+ | 16 quakes M3+
Past 90 days:624 quakes | 413 quakes M2+ | 57 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+
Past 365 days:2,844 quakes | 1,813 quakes M2+ | 253 quakes M3+ | 18 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (6 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, August 11, 2022 GMT (5 quakes)
Aug 12, 2022 7:41 am (GMT +12) (Aug 11, 2022 19:41 GMT)
2.1

68 km
32 km south of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 12, 2022 7:14 am (GMT +12) (Aug 11, 2022 19:14 GMT)
2.9

126 km
38 km southeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 12, 2022 2:15 am (GMT +12) (Aug 11, 2022 14:15 GMT)
1.9

148 km
25 km southeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 11, 2022 11:35 pm (GMT +12) (Aug 11, 2022 11:35 GMT)
?

n/a
0.7 km east of Thames, Waikato, New Zealand (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Aug 11, 2022 6:39 pm (GMT +12) (Aug 11, 2022 06:39 GMT)
2.0

147 km
Waikato, 27 km southwest of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Wednesday, August 10, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Aug 11, 2022 9:49 am (GMT +12) (Aug 10, 2022 21:49 GMT)
2.6

131 km
South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.1 x 109 joules (586 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.504 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Tairua Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Tairua?

The last earthquake in Tairua occurred 1 hour and 40 minutes ago: Minor mag. 2.1 earthquake - 32 km south of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, on Friday, Aug 12, 2022 at 7:41 am (GMT +12).

How many quakes were there in Tairua today?

In the past 24 hours, Tairua, Waikato, New Zealand had 6 quakes up to magnitude 2.9.

What was the strongest quake in Tairua today?

The strongest earthquake in Tairua today occurred 2 hours and 7 minutes ago: Minor mag. 2.9 earthquake - 38 km southeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, on Friday, Aug 12, 2022 at 7:14 am (GMT +12).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Aug 11, 2022 21:21 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings