Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Jan 17, 2022 18:25 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Past earthquakes near Rio Grande, Altamira, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic: October 2021

Updated Jan 17, 2022 18:25 GMT -
During Oct 2021, Rio Grande was shaken by 6 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 13 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 3.2 quake North Atlantic Ocean, Dominican Republic, Oct 12, 2021 5:03 am (GMT -4)
...Read More

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (19 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Monday, October 18, 2021 05:43 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 18, 2021 1:43 am (GMT -4) (Oct 18, 2021 05:43 GMT)
2.7

10 km
Altamira, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic MoreMap
Sunday, October 17, 2021 04:58 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 17, 2021 12:58 am (GMT -4) (Oct 17, 2021 04:58 GMT)
2.9

14 km
Imbert, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic MoreMap
Oct 16, 2021 11:44 pm (GMT -4) (Oct 17, 2021 03:44 GMT)
2.7

15 km
Guayubin, Provincia de Monte Cristi, Dominican Republic MoreMap
Tuesday, October 12, 2021 09:03 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 12, 2021 5:03 am (GMT -4) (Oct 12, 2021 09:03 GMT)
3.2

14 km
North Atlantic Ocean, Dominican Republic MoreMap
Saturday, October 9, 2021 19:25 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 9, 2021 3:25 pm (GMT -4) (Oct 9, 2021 19:25 GMT)
3.0

10 km
North Atlantic Ocean, 38 km east of Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic MoreMap
Oct 8, 2021 11:19 pm (GMT -4) (Oct 9, 2021 03:19 GMT)
3.0

10 km
North Atlantic Ocean, 32 km northeast of Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic MoreMap
Friday, October 8, 2021 00:06 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 7, 2021 8:06 pm (GMT -4) (Oct 8, 2021 00:06 GMT)
2.8

12 km
17 km north of Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic MoreMap
Monday, October 4, 2021 23:52 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 4, 2021 7:52 pm (GMT -4) (Oct 4, 2021 23:52 GMT)
2.9

23 km
North Atlantic Ocean, 41 km north of San Francisco de Macoris, Dominican Republic MoreMap
Sunday, October 3, 2021 18:57 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 3, 2021 2:57 pm (GMT -4) (Oct 3, 2021 18:57 GMT)
2.8

10 km
North Atlantic Ocean, 40 km northeast of Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic MoreMap
Oct 3, 2021 2:11 am (GMT -4) (Oct 3, 2021 06:11 GMT)
2.9

10 km
1.7 km east of Villa Vasquez, Provincia de Monte Cristi, Dominican Republic MoreMap
Sunday, October 31, 2021 21:49 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 31, 2021 5:49 pm (GMT -4) (Oct 31, 2021 21:49 GMT)
2.5

10 km
13 km west of Jarabacoa, Provincia de La Vega, Dominican Republic MoreMap
Oct 31, 2021 8:56 am (GMT -4) (Oct 31, 2021 12:56 GMT)
2.7

10 km
Villa Gonzalez, 15 km northwest of Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic MoreMap
Thursday, October 28, 2021 22:10 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 28, 2021 6:10 pm (GMT -4) (Oct 28, 2021 22:10 GMT)
2.8

23 km
Altamira, Puerto Plata, 17 km north of Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic MoreMap
Wednesday, October 27, 2021 22:48 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 27, 2021 6:48 pm (GMT -4) (Oct 27, 2021 22:48 GMT)
2.8

25 km
Villa Gonzalez, 16 km northwest of Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic MoreMap
Tuesday, October 26, 2021 23:06 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 26, 2021 7:06 pm (GMT -4) (Oct 26, 2021 23:06 GMT)
3.0

23 km
Imbert, 14 km southwest of Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic MoreMap
Sunday, October 24, 2021 20:25 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 24, 2021 4:25 pm (GMT -4) (Oct 24, 2021 20:25 GMT)
3.2

10 km
19 km northwest of Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic 2 reportsMoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.8 x 1010 joules (7.82 megawatt hours, equivalent to 6.73 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel