Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Khvoy, West Azerbaijan, Iran, in the past 48 hours on Monday, January 30, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Jan 30, 2023 08:59 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 5
  • 6 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 14 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 14 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
In the past 48 hours, Khvoy was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 5.9, 6 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 14 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 14 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 2.5 | West Azerbaijan, 31 km S of Ararat, Armenia -

Strongest quake: Mag. 5.9 | 15 km S of Khvoy, West Azerbaijan, Iran -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Khvoy, West Azerbaijan, Iran (updated )

Past 24 hours12 quakes6 quakes M2+2 quakes M3+4 quakes M4+
Past 7 days48 quakes21 quakes M2+15 quakes M3+6 quakes M4+1 quake M5+
Past 30 days128 quakes58 quakes M2+33 quakes M3+11 quakes M4+1 quake M5+
Past 90 days222 quakes98 quakes M2+42 quakes M3+12 quakes M4+1 quake M5+
Past 365 days826 quakes477 quakes M2+123 quakes M3+19 quakes M4+4 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (35 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Monday, January 30, 2023 GMT (3 quakes)
Jan 30, 2023 10:30 am (GMT +3:30) (Jan 30, 2023 07:00 GMT)
2.5

4.8 km
West Azerbaijan, 31 km south of Ararat, Armenia More
Jan 30, 2023 7:22 am (GMT +3) (Jan 30, 2023 04:22 GMT)
2.0

1.5 km
24 km southeast of Erciş, Van, Turkey More
Jan 30, 2023 3:36 am (GMT +3:30) (Jan 30, 2023 00:06 GMT)
2.5

5 km
7.5 km west of Khvoy, West Azerbaijan, Iran More
Sunday, January 29, 2023 GMT (15 quakes)
Jan 30, 2023 1:30 am (GMT +3:30) (Jan 29, 2023 22:00 GMT)
4.2

10 km
15 km west of Khvoy, West Azerbaijan, Iran
I FELT IT
More
Jan 30, 2023 12:55 am (GMT +3:30) (Jan 29, 2023 21:25 GMT)
3.1

2 km
7.8 km north of Khvoy, West Azerbaijan, Iran
I FELT IT
More
Jan 29, 2023 10:16 pm (GMT +3:30) (Jan 29, 2023 18:46 GMT)
3.5

5 km
13 km west of Khvoy, West Azerbaijan, Iran
I FELT IT
More
Jan 29, 2023 8:08 pm (GMT +3:30) (Jan 29, 2023 16:38 GMT)
4.1

10 km
32 km west of Khvoy, West Azerbaijan, Iran
I FELT IT
More
Jan 29, 2023 7:06 pm (GMT +3:30) (Jan 29, 2023 15:36 GMT)
2.8

15 km
28 km southeast of Khvoy, West Azerbaijan, Iran More
Jan 29, 2023 6:43 pm (GMT +3:30) (Jan 29, 2023 15:13 GMT)
4.5

10 km
20 km southwest of Khvoy, West Azerbaijan, Iran
I FELT IT
More
Jan 29, 2023 6:36 pm (GMT +3:30) (Jan 29, 2023 15:06 GMT)
2.5

5 km
24 km west of Khvoy, West Azerbaijan, Iran More
Jan 29, 2023 6:11 pm (GMT +3:30) (Jan 29, 2023 14:41 GMT)
4.7

10 km
14 km west of Khvoy, West Azerbaijan, Iran
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Jan 29, 2023 2:35 pm (GMT +3:30) (Jan 29, 2023 11:05 GMT)
2.6

5 km
25 km northwest of Khvoy, West Azerbaijan, Iran
I FELT IT
More
Jan 29, 2023 7:18 am (GMT +3:30) (Jan 29, 2023 03:48 GMT)
4.1

10 km
14 km northwest of Khvoy, West Azerbaijan, Iran
I FELT IT - 2 reports
More
Jan 29, 2023 6:59 am (GMT +3:30) (Jan 29, 2023 03:29 GMT)
2.9
15 km east of Khvoy, West Azerbaijan, Iran
I FELT IT
More
Jan 29, 2023 6:48 am (GMT +3:30) (Jan 29, 2023 03:18 GMT)
2.8

12 km
24 km southeast of Khvoy, West Azerbaijan, Iran More
Jan 29, 2023 6:02 am (GMT +3:30) (Jan 29, 2023 02:32 GMT)
3.4

15 km
20 km southeast of Khvoy, West Azerbaijan, Iran
I FELT IT
More
Jan 29, 2023 4:07 am (GMT +3:30) (Jan 29, 2023 00:37 GMT)
2.9

15 km
19 km southeast of Khvoy, West Azerbaijan, Iran More
Jan 29, 2023 3:48 am (GMT +3:30) (Jan 29, 2023 00:18 GMT)
3.4

2 km
9 km west of Khvoy, West Azerbaijan, Iran
I FELT IT
More
Saturday, January 28, 2023 GMT (17 quakes)
Jan 29, 2023 3:23 am (GMT +3:30) (Jan 28, 2023 23:53 GMT)
2.3

5 km
8.1 km west of Khvoy, West Azerbaijan, Iran More
Jan 29, 2023 3:04 am (GMT +3:30) (Jan 28, 2023 23:34 GMT)
2.9

5 km
5.3 km west of Khvoy, West Azerbaijan, Iran
I FELT IT
More
Jan 29, 2023 2:57 am (GMT +3:30) (Jan 28, 2023 23:27 GMT)
3.6

14 km
25 km southeast of Khvoy, West Azerbaijan, Iran
I FELT IT
More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.7 x 1013 joules (12.9 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 11121 tons of TNT or 0.7 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Garni, Armenia (GNI/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Garni, Armenia: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Khvoy Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Khvoy?

The last earthquake in Khvoy occurred 1 hour and 59 minutes ago: Weak mag. 2.5 earthquake - West Azerbaijan, 31 km south of Ararat, Armenia, on Monday, Jan 30, 2023 at 10:30 am (GMT +3:30).

How many quakes were there in Khvoy in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Khvoy, West Azerbaijan, Iran had 35 quakes up to magnitude 5.9.

What was the strongest quake in Khvoy in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Khvoy in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 15 hours ago: Strong mag. 5.9 earthquake - 15 km south of Khvoy, West Azerbaijan, Iran, on Saturday, Jan 28, 2023 at 9:44 pm (GMT +3:30).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Jan 30, 2023 08:59 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings