Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Mapastepec, Chiapas, Mexico, in the past 24 hours on Wednesday, February 8, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Feb 8, 2023 15:10 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 5 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
In the past 24 hours, Mapastepec was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above and 5 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0.
A light magnitude 4.1 earthquake occurred in Chiapas, Mexico, 10 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 3.8 | North Pacific Ocean, 112 km SW of Pijijiapan, Chiapas, Mexico -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 4.1 | 20 km W of Tapachula de Cordova y Ordoñez, Chiapas, Mexico -

Recent quakes above magnitude 2.0 in or near Mapastepec, Chiapas, Mexico (updated )

Past 24 hours7 quakes0 quakes M2+5 quakes M3+2 quakes M4+
Past 7 days28 quakes0 quakes M2+22 quakes M3+6 quakes M4+
Past 30 days93 quakes0 quakes M2+75 quakes M3+18 quakes M4+
Past 90 days296 quakes8 quakes M2+212 quakes M3+76 quakes M4+
Past 365 days1,258 quakes39 quakes M2+853 quakes M3+362 quakes M4+4 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (7 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, February 8, 2023 GMT (4 quakes)
Feb 8, 2023 4:56 am (GMT -6) (Feb 8, 2023 10:56 GMT)
3.8

10 km
North Pacific Ocean, 112 km southwest of Pijijiapan, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Feb 8, 2023 3:26 am (GMT -6) (Feb 8, 2023 09:26 GMT)
3.8

60 km
North Pacific Ocean, 67 km south of Tonala, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Feb 8, 2023 1:46 am (GMT -6) (Feb 8, 2023 07:46 GMT)
4.0

23 km
North Pacific Ocean, 162 km southeast of Salina Cruz, Oaxaca, Mexico
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Feb 7, 2023 11:19 pm (GMT -6) (Feb 8, 2023 05:19 GMT)
4.1

103 km
20 km west of Tapachula de Cordova y Ordoñez, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Tuesday, February 7, 2023 GMT (3 quakes)
Feb 7, 2023 4:58 pm (GMT -6) (Feb 7, 2023 22:58 GMT)
3.6

85 km
North Pacific Ocean, 52 km southwest of Mapastepec, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Feb 7, 2023 4:00 pm (GMT -6) (Feb 7, 2023 22:00 GMT)
3.3

12 km
North Pacific Ocean, 24 km south of Manuel Avila Camacho (Ponte Duro), Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Feb 7, 2023 11:38 am (GMT -6) (Feb 7, 2023 17:38 GMT)
3.8

186 km
38 km southwest of Tuxtla Gutiérrez, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.7 x 1011 joules (74.6 megawatt hours, equivalent to 64.2 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: COMITAN (CCIG/MX network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station COMITAN: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Mapastepec Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Mapastepec?

The last earthquake in Mapastepec occurred 4 hours ago: Light mag. 3.8 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 112 km southwest of Pijijiapan, Chiapas, Mexico, on Wednesday, Feb 8, 2023 at 4:56 am (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in Mapastepec today?

In the past 24 hours, Mapastepec, Chiapas, Mexico had 7 quakes up to magnitude 4.1.

What was the strongest quake in Mapastepec today?

The strongest earthquake in Mapastepec today occurred 10 hours ago: Light mag. 4.1 earthquake - 20 km west of Tapachula de Cordova y Ordoñez, Chiapas, Mexico, on Tuesday, Feb 7, 2023 at 11:19 pm (GMT -6).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Feb 8, 2023 15:10 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings