Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Iztapa, Departamento de Escuintla, Guatemala, in the past 24 hours on Wednesday, December 7, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Dec 7, 2022 23:41 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 4
  • 4 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 2 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 2 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Iztapa was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 4.2, 4 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 2 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 2 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A light magnitude 4.2 earthquake was felt in North Pacific Ocean, El Salvador, 19 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 3.3 | North Pacific Ocean, 85 km SW of San Salvador, El Salvador -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 4.2 | North Pacific Ocean, 69 km SW of San Salvador, El Salvador -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Iztapa, Departamento de Escuintla, Guatemala (updated )

Past 24 hours9 quakes2 quakes M2+4 quakes M3+1 quake M4+
Past 7 days33 quakes13 quakes M2+14 quakes M3+4 quakes M4+
Past 30 days131 quakes54 quakes M2+55 quakes M3+15 quakes M4+1 quake M5+
Past 90 days515 quakes222 quakes M2+223 quakes M3+40 quakes M4+2 quakes M5+
Past 365 days1,717 quakes755 quakes M2+703 quakes M3+160 quakes M4+4 quakes M5+1 quake M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

Alotenango | Asuncion Mita | Barberena | Casillas | Conguaco | Cuilapa | Departamento de Chimaltenango | Departamento de Chiquimula | Departamento de Escuintla | Departamento de Guatemala | ...Show all... | Suchitepeque | Yepocapa
...Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (10 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, December 7, 2022 GMT (10 quakes)
Dec 7, 2022 9:11 am (GMT -6) (Dec 7, 2022 15:11 GMT)
3.3

25 km
North Pacific Ocean, 85 km southwest of San Salvador, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Dec 7, 2022 5:14 am (GMT -6) (Dec 7, 2022 11:14 GMT)
2.9

26 km
North Pacific Ocean, 71 km southwest of San Salvador, El Salvador More
Dec 7, 2022 4:09 am (GMT -6) (Dec 7, 2022 10:09 GMT)
1.4

14 km
Guatemala: 20 Km Al Noroeste De Ahuachapan, El Salvador More
Dec 7, 2022 4:09 am (GMT -6) (Dec 7, 2022 10:09 GMT)
1.9

45 km
Santa Rosa, 17 km southeast of Villa Canales, Departamento de Guatemala More
Dec 7, 2022 3:26 am (GMT -6) (Dec 7, 2022 09:26 GMT)
2.4

29 km
North Pacific Ocean, 65 km south of Sonsonate, El Salvador More
Dec 7, 2022 1:46 am (GMT -6) (Dec 7, 2022 07:46 GMT)
?

n/a
29 km east of Ciudad Tecun Uman, Ayutla, San Marcos, Guatemala (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Dec 6, 2022 10:39 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 7, 2022 04:39 GMT)
3.6

22 km
North Pacific Ocean, 75 km southwest of Sonsonate, El Salvador
I FELT IT - 2 reports
More
Dec 6, 2022 10:14 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 7, 2022 04:14 GMT)
4.2

60 km
North Pacific Ocean, 69 km southwest of San Salvador, El Salvador
I FELT IT - 30 reports
More
Dec 6, 2022 9:16 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 7, 2022 03:16 GMT)
3.4

23 km
North Pacific Ocean, 76 km southwest of Sonsonate, El Salvador
I FELT IT - 3 reports
More
Dec 6, 2022 8:42 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 7, 2022 02:42 GMT)
3.4

29 km
North Pacific Ocean, 83 km southwest of San Salvador, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.6 x 1011 joules (45.8 megawatt hours, equivalent to 39.4 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Montecristo, El Salvador (SNET/SV network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Montecristo, El Salvador: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Iztapa Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Iztapa?

The last earthquake in Iztapa occurred 9 hours ago: Weak mag. 3.3 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 85 km southwest of San Salvador, El Salvador, on Wednesday, Dec 7, 2022 at 9:11 am (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in Iztapa today?

In the past 24 hours, Iztapa, Departamento de Escuintla, Guatemala had 10 quakes up to magnitude 4.2.

What was the strongest quake in Iztapa today?

The strongest earthquake in Iztapa today occurred 19 hours ago: Light mag. 4.2 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 69 km southwest of San Salvador, El Salvador, on Tuesday, Dec 6, 2022 at 10:14 pm (GMT -6).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Dec 7, 2022 23:41 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings