2 spots left on Iceland Geo Tour 16-30 July 2022

Latest quakes in or near New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand, in the past 24 hours on Saturday, July 2, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Jul 2, 2022 16:24 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 3 quakes above magnitude 2
  • 12 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, New Plymouth had 3 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 12 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A minor magnitude 2.2 earthquake occurred in Tasman Sea, New Zealand, 17 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 1.2 | New Zealand -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 2.2 | Tasman Sea, 82 km S of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand (updated )

Past 24 hours:13 quakes | 3 quakes M2+
Past 7 days:94 quakes | 26 quakes M2+ | 1 quake M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 30 days:346 quakes | 157 quakes M2+ | 24 quakes M3+ | 2 quakes M4+
Past 90 days:998 quakes | 454 quakes M2+ | 63 quakes M3+ | 2 quakes M4+
Past 365 days:3,889 quakes | 1,776 quakes M2+ | 199 quakes M3+ | 8 quakes M4+ | 4 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (15 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Saturday, July 2, 2022 GMT (11 quakes)
Jul 3, 2022 1:01 am (GMT +12) (Jul 2, 2022 13:01 GMT)
1.2

21 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jul 3, 2022 12:14 am (GMT +12) (Jul 2, 2022 12:14 GMT)
2.1

185 km
53 km south of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 11:11 pm (GMT +12) (Jul 2, 2022 11:11 GMT)
1.0

8.3 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 9:20 pm (GMT +12) (Jul 2, 2022 09:20 GMT)
1.9

7.3 km
4.7 km southeast of Waiouru, Ruapehu District, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 8:52 pm (GMT +12) (Jul 2, 2022 08:52 GMT)
1.1

8.5 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 6:52 pm (GMT +12) (Jul 2, 2022 06:52 GMT)
1.2

10.6 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 6:23 pm (GMT +12) (Jul 2, 2022 06:23 GMT)
1.8

26 km
Tasman Sea, 29 km southwest of Whanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 3:53 pm (GMT +12) (Jul 2, 2022 03:53 GMT)
1.0

16 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 2:24 pm (GMT +12) (Jul 2, 2022 02:24 GMT)
1.5

4.8 km
26 km southwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 1:58 pm (GMT +12) (Jul 2, 2022 01:58 GMT)
1.4

7.8 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 12:28 pm (GMT +12) (Jul 2, 2022 00:28 GMT)
0.8

5 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Friday, July 1, 2022 GMT (4 quakes)
Jul 2, 2022 11:22 am (GMT +12) (Jul 1, 2022 23:22 GMT)
2.2

176 km
Tasman Sea, 82 km south of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 11:12 am (GMT +12) (Jul 1, 2022 23:12 GMT)
1.2

8.4 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 10:56 am (GMT +12) (Jul 1, 2022 22:56 GMT)
2.0

127 km
Waikato, 58 km northwest of North Island, New Zealand MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 8:23 am (GMT +12) (Jul 1, 2022 20:23 GMT)
0.5

14 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.9 x 108 joules (109 kilowatt hours) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

New Plymouth Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in New Plymouth?

The last earthquake in New Plymouth occurred 3 hours ago: Minor mag. 1.2 earthquake - New Zealand on Sunday, Jul 3, 2022 at 1:01 am (GMT +12).

How many quakes were there in New Plymouth today?

In the past 24 hours, New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand had 15 quakes up to magnitude 2.2.

What was the strongest quake in New Plymouth today?

The strongest earthquake in New Plymouth today occurred 17 hours ago: Minor mag. 2.2 earthquake - Tasman Sea, 82 km south of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand, on Saturday, Jul 2, 2022 at 11:22 am (GMT +12).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Jul 2, 2022 16:24 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.