Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Largest earthquakes in or near Buynaksk, Dagestan, Russia, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated: Jan 6, 2023 12:33 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 4 quakes above magnitude 6
  • 35 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 283 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
Since 1900, Buynaksk has had 4 quakes of magnitude 6.0 or above, 35 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, and 283 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 4.5 | Dagestan, 30 km NW of Zaqatala, Azerbaijan -

Strongest quake: Mag. 6.7 | 38 km NW of Махачкала, Dagestan, Russia -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Filter by age:

all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 4 or higher (322 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Jan 14, 2023 11:36 am (GMT +3) (Jan 14, 2023 08:36 GMT)
4.5

20 km
186 km (116 mi)AZERBAIJAN 4 reportsMore
Dec 8, 2022 1:21 pm (GMT +3) (Dec 8, 2022 10:21 GMT)
4.4

44 km
208 km (129 mi)Azerbaijan: 8 Km S of Gunib, Russia 1 reportMore
Dec 8, 2022 10:16 am (GMT +3) (Dec 8, 2022 07:16 GMT)
4.2

40 km
195 km (121 mi)Azerbaijan: CAUCASUS REGION, RUSSIA 3 reportsMore
Dec 8, 2022 9:42 am (GMT +3) (Dec 8, 2022 06:42 GMT)
5.5

60 km
202 km (126 mi)Azerbaijan: Caucasus Region, Russia 125 reportsMore
Jul 31, 2022 9:47 pm (GMT +3) (Jul 31, 2022 18:47 GMT)
4.5

10 km
191 km (119 mi)Georgia: Eastern Caucasus 1 reportMore
Jul 2, 2022 11:24 am (GMT +3) (Jul 2, 2022 08:24 GMT)
4.1

12 km
160 km (99 mi)GEORGIA (SAK'ART'VELO) More
May 26, 2022 7:55 am (GMT +3) (May 26, 2022 04:55 GMT)
4.1

2 km
72 km (45 mi)GEORGIA (SAK'ART'VELO) More
Apr 15, 2022 5:02 pm (GMT +4) (Apr 15, 2022 13:02 GMT)
4.0

10 km
198 km (123 mi)AZERBAIJAN More
Mar 30, 2022 4:42 pm (GMT +3) (Mar 30, 2022 13:42 GMT)
4.0

20 km
312 km (194 mi)Russia: CASPIAN SEA More
Mar 14, 2022 4:15 am (GMT +3) (Mar 14, 2022 01:15 GMT)
4.5

10 km
63 km (39 mi)Georgia: 26 Km WSW of Itum-Kali, Russia 5 reportsMore
Mar 1, 2022 2:34 pm (GMT +4) (Mar 1, 2022 10:34 GMT)
4.2

10 km
189 km (117 mi)7 Km WNW of Mamrux, Azerbaijan More
Feb 9, 2022 3:26 pm (GMT +3) (Feb 9, 2022 12:26 GMT)
4.4

10 km
98 km (61 mi)Georgia: 7 Km N of Samashki, Russia 10 reportsMore
Jan 21, 2022 7:07 pm (GMT +3) (Jan 21, 2022 16:07 GMT)
4.2

10 km
281 km (175 mi)30 Km ESE of Sulak, Russia 9 reportsMore
Dec 29, 2021 12:15 pm (GMT +3) (Dec 29, 2021 09:15 GMT)
4.5

10 km
211 km (131 mi)Azerbaijan: 27 Km NE of Belidzhi, Russia More
Dec 3, 2021 2:22 am (GMT +3) (Dec 2, 2021 23:22 GMT)
4.2

2 km
213 km (132 mi)CAUCASUS REGION, RUSSIA 35 reportsMore
Oct 24, 2021 6:17 pm (GMT +3) (Oct 24, 2021 15:17 GMT)
4.0

54 km
140 km (87 mi)Georgia: CAUCASUS REGION, RUSSIA 1 reportMore
Oct 20, 2021 7:45 am (GMT +3) (Oct 20, 2021 04:45 GMT)
4.5

10 km
114 km (71 mi)Georgia: Eastern Caucasus 7 reportsMore
Sep 27, 2021 8:26 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 27, 2021 17:26 GMT)
4.0

8 km
170 km (106 mi)Georgia: CAUCASUS REGION, RUSSIA More
Sep 3, 2021 6:34 am (GMT +3) (Sep 3, 2021 03:34 GMT)
4.3

10 km
139 km (86 mi)Georgia: Eastern Caucasus 2 reportsMore
28 Jul 3:41 am (GMT +3) (Jul 28, 2021 00:41 GMT)
4.6

71 km
210 km (130 mi)Georgia: Eastern Caucasus 38 reportsMore
11 Jul 9:16 pm (GMT +3) (Jul 11, 2021 18:16 GMT)
4.0

52 km
140 km (87 mi)Georgia: CAUCASUS REGION, RUSSIA 2 reportsMore
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.3 x 1015 joules (366 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 3.1 x 105 tons of TNT or 19.7 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Garni, Armenia (GNI/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Garni, Armenia: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Buynaksk Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Buynaksk?

The last earthquake in Buynaksk occurred 3 weeks ago: Moderate mag. 4.5 earthquake - Dagestan, 30 km northwest of Zaqatala, Azerbaijan, on Saturday, Jan 14, 2023 at 11:36 am (GMT +3).

How many quakes were there in Buynaksk since 1900?

Since 1900, Buynaksk, Dagestan, Russia had 322 quakes up to magnitude 6.7.

What was the strongest quake in Buynaksk since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Buynaksk since 1900 occurred 53 years ago: Major magnitude 6.7 earthquake - 38 km northwest of Махачкала, Dagestan, Russia, on Thursday, May 14, 1970 at 18:12 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Feb 7, 2023 00:57 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings