Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Dec 8, 2021 04:39 GMT -

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Earthquakes Today: latest quakes near Cheviot, Hurunui District, Canterbury, New Zealand: past 7 days

Updated Dec 8, 2021 04:39 GMT -
During the past 7 days, Cheviot had 6 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 3 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 2.8 quake Kaikoura District, Canterbury, 89 km south of Blenheim, New Zealand, Dec 1, 2021 7:59 pm (GMT +13)
Most recent quake: 2.7 quake Hurunui District, 84 km northeast of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand, Dec 6, 2021 2:54 pm (GMT +13)
...Read More
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (9 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Monday, December 6, 2021 01:54 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 6, 2021 2:54 pm (GMT +13) (Dec 6, 2021 01:54 GMT)
2.7

4.9 km
Hurunui District, 84 km northeast of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sunday, December 5, 2021 00:34 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 5, 2021 1:34 pm (GMT +13) (Dec 5, 2021 00:34 GMT)
2.5

5 km
South Pacific Ocean, 95 km south of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
Saturday, December 4, 2021 10:46 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Dec 4, 2021 11:46 pm (GMT +13) (Dec 4, 2021 10:46 GMT)
1.9

10.3 km
Hurunui District, 82 km northeast of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Dec 4, 2021 7:55 pm (GMT +13) (Dec 4, 2021 06:55 GMT)
1.9

3.7 km
Hurunui District, 93 km north of Rangiora, New Zealand MoreMap
Thursday, December 2, 2021 23:51 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Dec 3, 2021 12:51 pm (GMT +13) (Dec 2, 2021 23:51 GMT)
2.6

5.5 km
Hurunui District, 72 km north of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Dec 3, 2021 10:18 am (GMT +13) (Dec 2, 2021 21:18 GMT)
2.2

11 km
Kaikoura District, Canterbury, 168 km southwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Dec 2, 2021 8:51 pm (GMT +13) (Dec 2, 2021 07:51 GMT)
2.6

5.6 km
Hurunui District, 97 km north of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Wednesday, December 1, 2021 23:07 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Dec 2, 2021 12:07 pm (GMT +13) (Dec 1, 2021 23:07 GMT)
1.5

5 km
Kaikoura District, Canterbury, 87 km south of Blenheim, New Zealand MoreMap
Dec 1, 2021 7:59 pm (GMT +13) (Dec 1, 2021 06:59 GMT)
2.8

5 km
Kaikoura District, Canterbury, 89 km south of Blenheim, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.3 x 109 joules (914 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.787 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel