Help Ukraine

Latest quakes in or near Sant'Agata, Sicily, Italy, in the past 24 hours on Friday, May 20, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated May 20, 2022 21:25 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 4 quakes above magnitude 2
  • 3 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Sant'Agata had 4 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 3 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A minor magnitude 2.7 earthquake occurred in Tyrrhenian Sea, Italy, 8 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.2 | 28 km S of Licata, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 2.7 | Tyrrhenian Sea, 36 km N of Milazzo, Province of Messina, Sicily, Italy -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Sant'Agata, Sicily, Italy (updated )

Past 24 hours:5 quakes | 4 quakes M2+
Past 7 days:31 quakes | 12 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+
Past 30 days:122 quakes | 40 quakes M2+ | 7 quakes M3+
Past 90 days:338 quakes | 111 quakes M2+ | 14 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+
Past 365 days:1,601 quakes | 458 quakes M2+ | 53 quakes M3+ | 8 quakes M4+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (7 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, May 20, 2022 GMT (6 quakes)
May 20, 2022 7:23 pm (GMT +2) (May 20, 2022 17:23 GMT)
2.2

14 km
28 km south of Licata, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy MoreMap
May 20, 2022 3:49 pm (GMT +2) (May 20, 2022 13:49 GMT)
2.7

161 km
Tyrrhenian Sea, 36 km north of Milazzo, Province of Messina, Sicily, Italy MoreMap
May 20, 2022 2:00 pm (GMT +2) (May 20, 2022 12:00 GMT)
0.6

7.5 km
Southern Italy MoreMap
May 20, 2022 10:26 am (GMT +2) (May 20, 2022 08:26 GMT)
1.5

11 km
9.1 km northeast of Reggio Calabria, Italy MoreMap
May 20, 2022 2:23 am (GMT +2) (May 20, 2022 00:23 GMT)
0.3

11 km
Southern Italy MoreMap
May 20, 2022 2:00 am (GMT +2) (May 20, 2022 00:00 GMT)
2.4

5.1 km
9.7 km west of Giarre, Catania, Sicily, Italy MoreMap
Thursday, May 19, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
May 20, 2022 1:26 am (GMT +2) (May 19, 2022 23:26 GMT)
2.2

5.4 km
9.7 km west of Giarre, Catania, Sicily, Italy MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.2 x 109 joules (340 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.292 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Sant'Agata Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Sant'Agata?

The last earthquake in Sant'Agata occurred 4 hours ago: Minor mag. 2.2 earthquake - 28 km south of Licata, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy, on Friday, May 20, 2022 at 7:23 pm (GMT +2).

How many quakes were there in Sant'Agata today?

In the past 24 hours, Sant'Agata, Sicily, Italy had 7 quakes up to magnitude 2.7.

What was the strongest quake in Sant'Agata today?

The strongest earthquake in Sant'Agata today occurred 8 hours ago: Minor mag. 2.7 earthquake - Tyrrhenian Sea, 36 km north of Milazzo, Province of Messina, Sicily, Italy, on Friday, May 20, 2022 at 3:49 pm (GMT +2).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 20, 2022 21:25 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.