Latest quakes in or near Huara, Tarapaca, Chile, in the past 24 hours on Monday, August 15, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 15, 2022 03:34 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 4
  • 2 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 4 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
In the past 24 hours, Huara was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 4.0, 2 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 4 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
A light magnitude 4.0 earthquake occurred in Tarapaca, Chile, 13 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.9 | Departamento de Potosi, Bolivia, 113 km SE of Huara, Chile -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 4.0 | 84 km NE of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Huara, Tarapaca, Chile (updated )

Past 24 hours:7 quakes | 4 quakes M2+ | 2 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 7 days:32 quakes | 19 quakes M2+ | 10 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+
Past 30 days:143 quakes | 73 quakes M2+ | 54 quakes M3+ | 14 quakes M4+ | 2 quakes M5+
Past 90 days:686 quakes | 446 quakes M2+ | 197 quakes M3+ | 40 quakes M4+ | 2 quakes M5+
Past 365 days:2,938 quakes | 1,928 quakes M2+ | 842 quakes M3+ | 151 quakes M4+ | 6 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (7 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Monday, August 15, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Aug 14, 2022 10:43 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 15, 2022 02:43 GMT)
2.9

106 km
Departamento de Potosi, Bolivia, 113 km southeast of Huara, Chile MoreMap
Sunday, August 14, 2022 GMT (6 quakes)
Aug 14, 2022 7:08 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 14, 2022 23:08 GMT)
2.5

92 km
87 km southeast of Huara, Provincia del Tamarugal, Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
Aug 14, 2022 3:08 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 14, 2022 19:08 GMT)
3.7

121 km
132 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 14, 2022 10:53 am (GMT -4) (Aug 14, 2022 14:53 GMT)
4.0

106 km
84 km northeast of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 14, 2022 10:49 am (GMT -4) (Aug 14, 2022 14:49 GMT)
2.5

34 km
94 km south of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
Aug 14, 2022 9:37 am (GMT -4) (Aug 14, 2022 13:37 GMT)
2.6

112 km
Tarapaca, 67 km west of Ollagüe, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Aug 14, 2022 2:08 am (GMT -4) (Aug 14, 2022 06:08 GMT)
3.3

36 km
South Pacific Ocean, 109 km south of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 9.4 x 1010 joules (26 megawatt hours, equivalent to 22.4 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Huara Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Huara?

The last earthquake in Huara occurred 50 minutes ago: Minor mag. 2.9 earthquake - Departamento de Potosi, Bolivia, 113 km southeast of Huara, Chile, on Sunday, Aug 14, 2022 at 10:43 pm (GMT -4).

How many quakes were there in Huara today?

In the past 24 hours, Huara, Tarapaca, Chile had 7 quakes up to magnitude 4.0.

What was the strongest quake in Huara today?

The strongest earthquake in Huara today occurred 13 hours ago: Light mag. 4.0 earthquake - 84 km northeast of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile, on Sunday, Aug 14, 2022 at 10:53 am (GMT -4).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Aug 15, 2022 03:34 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings