Help Ukraine

Latest quakes in or near Rome City, Latium, Italy, in the past 24 hours on Tuesday, May 24, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated May 24, 2022 22:20 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 2
  • 28 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Rome had 1 quake of magnitude 2.0. There were also 28 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A minor magnitude 2.0 earthquake occurred in Adriatic Sea, Italy, 21 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 1.0 | Italy: 8 Km W Arquata Del Tronto (AP) -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 2.0 | Adriatic Sea, 26 km E of San Benedetto del Tronto, Italy -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Rome City, Latium, Italy (updated )

Past 24 hours:13 quakes | 1 quake M2+
Past 7 days:95 quakes | 6 quakes M2+
Past 30 days:404 quakes | 23 quakes M2+ | 1 quake M3+
Past 90 days:1,240 quakes | 87 quakes M2+ | 7 quakes M3+
Past 365 days:5,417 quakes | 348 quakes M2+ | 23 quakes M3+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (29 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, May 24, 2022 GMT (26 quakes)
May 24, 2022 7:05 pm (GMT +2) (May 24, 2022 17:05 GMT)
1.0

10.2 km
Italy: 8 Km W Arquata Del Tronto (AP) MoreMap
May 24, 2022 6:36 pm (GMT +2) (May 24, 2022 16:36 GMT)
1.3

13 km
Italy: 3 Km NE Vallo Di Nera (PG) MoreMap
May 24, 2022 5:39 pm (GMT +2) (May 24, 2022 15:39 GMT)
0.6

11 km
Central Italy MoreMap
May 24, 2022 5:10 pm (GMT +2) (May 24, 2022 15:10 GMT)
0.3

12 km
Central Italy MoreMap
May 24, 2022 4:38 pm (GMT +2) (May 24, 2022 14:38 GMT)
0.6

10.8 km
Central Italy MoreMap
May 24, 2022 4:16 pm (GMT +2) (May 24, 2022 14:16 GMT)
0.9

10.7 km
Central Italy MoreMap
May 24, 2022 3:12 pm (GMT +2) (May 24, 2022 13:12 GMT)
0.4

2 km
Italy: Campi Flegrei Area MoreMap
May 24, 2022 1:35 pm (GMT +2) (May 24, 2022 11:35 GMT)
1.2

14 km
Italy: 9 Km S Acquasanta Terme (AP) MoreMap
May 24, 2022 1:31 pm (GMT +2) (May 24, 2022 11:31 GMT)
1.1

1.6 km
Italy: Campi Flegrei MoreMap
May 24, 2022 1:24 pm (GMT +2) (May 24, 2022 11:24 GMT)
0.1

1.4 km
Italy: Campi Flegrei Area MoreMap
May 24, 2022 11:55 am (GMT +2) (May 24, 2022 09:55 GMT)
0.5

1.4 km
Italy: Campi Flegrei Area MoreMap
May 24, 2022 11:51 am (GMT +2) (May 24, 2022 09:51 GMT)
1.6

7.6 km
7.3 km southwest of Pieve Torina, Provincia di Macerata, The Marches, Italy MoreMap
May 24, 2022 11:26 am (GMT +2) (May 24, 2022 09:26 GMT)
0.8

11 km
Central Italy MoreMap
May 24, 2022 11:17 am (GMT +2) (May 24, 2022 09:17 GMT)
0.4

1.4 km
Italy: Campi Flegrei Area MoreMap
May 24, 2022 11:04 am (GMT +2) (May 24, 2022 09:04 GMT)
1.0

2.2 km
Southern Italy MoreMap
May 24, 2022 10:28 am (GMT +2) (May 24, 2022 08:28 GMT)
0.6

1.7 km
Italy: Campi Flegrei Area MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.4 x 108 joules (39.2 kilowatt hours) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Rome Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Rome?

The last earthquake in Rome occurred 5 hours ago: Minor mag. 1.0 earthquake - Italy: 8 Km W Arquata Del Tronto (AP) on Tuesday, May 24, 2022 at 7:05 pm (GMT +2).

How many quakes were there in Rome today?

In the past 24 hours, Rome City, Latium, Italy had 29 quakes up to magnitude 2.0.

What was the strongest quake in Rome today?

The strongest earthquake in Rome today occurred 21 hours ago: Minor mag. 2.0 earthquake - Adriatic Sea, 26 km east of San Benedetto del Tronto, Italy, on Tuesday, May 24, 2022 at 3:48 am (GMT +2).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 24, 2022 22:20 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.