Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Honalo, Hawaii, USA, in the past 24 hours on Sunday, December 4, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Dec 4, 2022 22:20 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 3
  • 15 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 30 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Honalo had 1 quake of magnitude 3.0 and 15 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 30 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A light magnitude 3.0 earthquake occurred in Hawaii, USA, 11 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 1.9 | North Pacific Ocean, 12 mi SW of Kailua-Kona, Hawaii County, USA -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 3.0 | 31 mi W of Hilo, Hawaii County, USA -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Honalo, Hawaii, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours43 quakes15 quakes M2+1 quake M3+
Past 7 days487 quakes256 quakes M2+20 quakes M3+3 quakes M4+
Past 30 days976 quakes521 quakes M2+29 quakes M3+3 quakes M4+
Past 90 days2,643 quakes1,385 quakes M2+62 quakes M3+8 quakes M4+1 quake M5+
Past 365 days8,498 quakes4,732 quakes M2+201 quakes M3+18 quakes M4+1 quake M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (46 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sunday, December 4, 2022 GMT (46 quakes)
Dec 4, 2022 11:54 am (GMT -10) (Dec 4, 2022 21:54 GMT)
1.9

10.3 km
North Pacific Ocean, 12 mi southwest of Kailua-Kona, Hawaii County, USA More
Dec 4, 2022 11:12 am (GMT -10) (Dec 4, 2022 21:12 GMT)
1.9

2 km
38 mi southwest of Hilo, Hawaii County, USA More
Dec 4, 2022 11:01 am (GMT -10) (Dec 4, 2022 21:01 GMT)
1.9

0.8 km
7.2 mi southwest of Volcano Village, Hawaii County, USA More
Dec 4, 2022 10:41 am (GMT -10) (Dec 4, 2022 20:41 GMT)
2.2

1.6 km
39 mi southwest of Hilo, Hawaii County, USA More
Dec 4, 2022 9:58 am (GMT -10) (Dec 4, 2022 19:58 GMT)
1.9

34 km
1.5 mi south of Pāhala, Hawaii County, USA More
Dec 4, 2022 9:31 am (GMT -10) (Dec 4, 2022 19:31 GMT)
1.7

4.2 km
15 Km SSE of Volcano, Hawaii More
Dec 4, 2022 8:38 am (GMT -10) (Dec 4, 2022 18:38 GMT)
1.7

1.6 km
28 Km E of Honaunau-Napoopoo, Hawaii More
Dec 4, 2022 8:07 am (GMT -10) (Dec 4, 2022 18:07 GMT)
1.7

1.4 km
28 Km E of Honaunau-Napoopoo, Hawaii More
Dec 4, 2022 7:13 am (GMT -10) (Dec 4, 2022 17:13 GMT)
1.6

1.4 km
28 Km E of Honaunau-Napoopoo, Hawaii More
Dec 4, 2022 7:11 am (GMT -10) (Dec 4, 2022 17:11 GMT)
1.8

2.3 km
2.4 mi south of Volcano Village, Hawaii County, USA More
Dec 4, 2022 6:28 am (GMT -10) (Dec 4, 2022 16:28 GMT)
1.9

32 km
40 mi southwest of Hilo, Hawaii County, USA More
Dec 4, 2022 6:14 am (GMT -10) (Dec 4, 2022 16:14 GMT)
2.2

1.3 km
37 mi southwest of Hilo, Hawaii County, USA More
Dec 4, 2022 6:05 am (GMT -10) (Dec 4, 2022 16:05 GMT)
1.7

31 km
10 Km ENE of Pāhala, Hawaii More
Dec 4, 2022 5:44 am (GMT -10) (Dec 4, 2022 15:44 GMT)
1.7

1.2 km
28 Km E of Honaunau-Napoopoo, Hawaii More
Dec 4, 2022 5:29 am (GMT -10) (Dec 4, 2022 15:29 GMT)
1.9

33 km
North Pacific Ocean, 50 mi southwest of Hilo, Hawaii County, USA More
Dec 4, 2022 4:09 am (GMT -10) (Dec 4, 2022 14:09 GMT)
2.0

0.4 km
2.2 mi southwest of Volcano Village, Hawaii County, USA More
Dec 4, 2022 3:57 am (GMT -10) (Dec 4, 2022 13:57 GMT)
2.1

0.6 km
37 mi southwest of Hilo, Hawaii County, USA More
Dec 4, 2022 3:16 am (GMT -10) (Dec 4, 2022 13:16 GMT)
2.8

34 km
27 mi southeast of Hawaii Island, Hawaii County, USA 1 reportMore
Dec 4, 2022 3:07 am (GMT -10) (Dec 4, 2022 13:07 GMT)
1.5

1.4 km
28 Km NNW of Pāhala, Hawaii More
Dec 4, 2022 2:54 am (GMT -10) (Dec 4, 2022 12:54 GMT)
0.6

1.8 km
27 Km E of Honaunau-Napoopoo, Hawaii More
Dec 4, 2022 2:54 am (GMT -10) (Dec 4, 2022 12:54 GMT)
0.6

1.8 km
27 Km E of Honaunau-Napoopoo, Hawaii More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 7.2 x 109 joules (1.99 megawatt hours, equivalent to 1.71 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Pohakuloa, Hawaii, USA (POHA/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Pohakuloa, Hawaii, USA: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Honalo Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Honalo?

The last earthquake in Honalo occurred 26 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.9 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 12 mi southwest of Kailua-Kona, Hawaii County, USA, on Sunday, Dec 4, 2022 at 11:54 am (GMT -10).

How many quakes were there in Honalo today?

In the past 24 hours, Honalo, Hawaii, USA had 46 quakes up to magnitude 3.0.

What was the strongest quake in Honalo today?

The strongest earthquake in Honalo today occurred 11 hours ago: Light mag. 3.0 earthquake - 31 mi west of Hilo, Hawaii County, USA, on Sunday, Dec 4, 2022 at 1:29 am (GMT -10).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Dec 4, 2022 22:20 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings