Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes near Cromwell, Central Otago District, Otago, New Zealand, past 30 days

Updated 7 Mar 2021 12:35 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Cromwell was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 3.3 and 13 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 2 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 3.3 quake 62 km northwest of Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand, 15 Feb 2021 5:10 pm (GMT +13)
Most recent quake: 2.6 quake 15 km southeast of Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand, 6 Mar 2021 7:24 am (GMT +13)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (16 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Fri, 5 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
6 Mar 2021 7:24 am (GMT +13) (5 Mar 2021 18:24:35 GMT)
2.6

5 km
(783 km)15 km southeast of Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Wed, 3 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
4 Mar 2021 4:05 am (GMT +13) (3 Mar 2021 15:05:15 GMT)
2.2

3.1 km
(755 km)8.3 km northeast of Arrowtown, Queenstown-Lakes District, Otago, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
Thu, 25 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
26 Feb 2021 11:33 am (GMT +13) (25 Feb 2021 22:33:15 GMT)
1.8

5 km
(749 km)New Zealand MoreMap
26 Feb 2021 2:57 am (GMT +13) (25 Feb 2021 13:57:07 GMT)
2.0

5 km
(753 km)Queenstown-Lakes District, 227 km northwest of Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand MoreMap
25 Feb 2021 10:53 pm (GMT +13) (25 Feb 2021 09:53:33 GMT)
2.1

5 km
(756 km)7.5 km east of Arrowtown, Queenstown-Lakes District, Otago, New Zealand MoreMap
25 Feb 2021 1:54 pm (GMT +13) (25 Feb 2021 00:54:49 GMT)
2.4

5 km
(748 km)Southland District, 229 km northwest of Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand MoreMap
Tue, 23 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
23 Feb 2021 8:58 pm (GMT +13) (23 Feb 2021 07:58:00 GMT)
1.9

5 km
(747 km)62 km northwest of Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand MoreMap
Mon, 22 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
22 Feb 2021 3:10 pm (GMT +13) (22 Feb 2021 02:10:46 GMT)
2.6

5 km
(748 km)54 km north of Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand MoreMap
Fri, 19 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
20 Feb 2021 9:50 am (GMT +13) (19 Feb 2021 20:50:10 GMT)
2.4

5 km
(734 km)55 km north of Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 17 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
17 Feb 2021 1:59 pm (GMT +13) (17 Feb 2021 00:59:53 GMT)
2.1

5 km
(750 km)Southland District, 210 km north of Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand MoreMap
Tue, 16 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
17 Feb 2021 1:31 am (GMT +13) (16 Feb 2021 12:31:16 GMT)
2.5

5 km
(726 km)Central Otago District, 115 km northwest of Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand MoreMap
Mon, 15 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
15 Feb 2021 5:10 pm (GMT +13) (15 Feb 2021 04:10:00 GMT)
3.3

5 km
(748 km)62 km northwest of Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand MoreMap
Sat, 13 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
14 Feb 2021 4:42 am (GMT +13) (13 Feb 2021 15:42:38 GMT)
2.5

5 km
(734 km)57 km north of Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand MoreMap
13 Feb 2021 8:11 pm (GMT +13) (13 Feb 2021 07:11:57 GMT)
2.7

5 km
(749 km)62 km northwest of Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand MoreMap
Thu, 11 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
12 Feb 2021 3:00 am (GMT +13) (11 Feb 2021 14:00:10 GMT)
2.7

5 km
(753 km)56 km northwest of Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand MoreMap
12 Feb 2021 2:06 am (GMT +13) (11 Feb 2021 13:06:36 GMT)
2.6

2.1 km
(730 km)48 km northwest of Wanaka, Queenstown-Lakes District, Otago, New Zealand MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1 x 1010 joules (2.83 megawatt hours, equivalent to 2.44 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.