Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Jan 23, 2022 22:26 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Past earthquakes near Santa Cruz da Graciosa, Santa Cruz da Graciosa Municipality, Azores, Portugal: 2020

Updated Jan 23, 2022 22:26 GMT -
During 2020, Santa Cruz da Graciosa was shaken by 6 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 63 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 3.5 quake North Atlantic Ocean, 37 km west of Graciosa Island, Portugal, March, 14 2020 17:23 GMT
...Read More

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (69 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, December 23, 2020 23:31 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 23, 2020 10:31 pm (GMT -1) (Dec 23, 2020 23:31 GMT)
2.1
North Atlantic Ocean, 9.8 km north of Madalena, Azores, Portugal MoreMap
Tuesday, December 22, 2020 13:33 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 22, 2020 12:33 pm (GMT -1) (Dec 22, 2020 13:33 GMT)
2.1
North Atlantic Ocean, 29 km west of Graciosa Island, Portugal MoreMap
Monday, December 21, 2020 12:24 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Dec 21, 2020 11:24 am (GMT -1) (Dec 21, 2020 12:24 GMT)
3.0

16 km
North Atlantic Ocean, 8 km northwest of Madalena, Azores, Portugal MoreMap
Dec 21, 2020 11:19 am (GMT -1) (Dec 21, 2020 12:19 GMT)
3.0
North Atlantic Ocean, 9.2 km north of Madalena, Azores, Portugal MoreMap
Thursday, December 17, 2020 09:46 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 17, 2020 8:46 am (GMT -1) (Dec 17, 2020 09:46 GMT)
2.0
North Atlantic Ocean, 64 km north of Madalena, Azores, Portugal MoreMap
Saturday, December 12, 2020 08:58 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 12, 2020 08:58 GMT
3.1

4 km
São Roque do Pico Municipality, 9.4 km east of Madalena, Azores, Portugal MoreMap
Friday, December 11, 2020 04:09 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 11, 2020 3:09 am (GMT -1) (Dec 11, 2020 04:09 GMT)
2.2
North Atlantic Ocean, 62 km northwest of Angra do Heroismo, Angra do Heroísmo Municipality, Azores, Portugal MoreMap
Thursday, December 10, 2020 10:01 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 10, 2020 9:01 am (GMT -1) (Dec 10, 2020 10:01 GMT)
2.7

12 km
North Atlantic Ocean, 53 km east of Madalena, Azores, Portugal MoreMap
Sunday, November 22, 2020 09:36 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Nov 22, 2020 8:36 am (GMT -1) (Nov 22, 2020 09:36 GMT)
2.4
29 km west of Santa Cruz da Graciosa, Açores, Portugal MoreMap
Nov 22, 2020 8:28 am (GMT -1) (Nov 22, 2020 09:28 GMT)
2.2
31 km west of Santa Cruz da Graciosa, Açores, Portugal MoreMap
Friday, November 20, 2020 17:26 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 20, 2020 4:26 pm (GMT -1) (Nov 20, 2020 17:26 GMT)
2.2
18 km east of Santa Cruz da Graciosa, Açores, Portugal MoreMap
Saturday, November 7, 2020 17:12 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Nov 7, 2020 4:12 pm (GMT -1) (Nov 7, 2020 17:12 GMT)
2.4
14 km NW of Angra do Heroísmo, Portugal MoreMap
Nov 7, 2020 4:11 pm (GMT -1) (Nov 7, 2020 17:11 GMT)
2.7
8.2 km SW of Santa Cruz da Graciosa, Portugal MoreMap
Nov 7, 2020 4:40 am (GMT -1) (Nov 7, 2020 05:40 GMT)
2.7
8.2 km SW of Santa Cruz da Graciosa, Portugal MoreMap
Nov 7, 2020 3:36 am (GMT -1) (Nov 7, 2020 04:36 GMT)
2.2
7.6 km SW of Santa Cruz da Graciosa, Portugal MoreMap
Friday, November 6, 2020 21:46 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Nov 6, 2020 8:46 pm (GMT -1) (Nov 6, 2020 21:46 GMT)
2.5

4 km
14 km SW of Santa Cruz da Graciosa, Portugal MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.1 x 1010 joules (11.4 megawatt hours, equivalent to 9.81 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel