Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Newhalen, Alaska, USA, in the past 48 hours on Wednesday, February 1, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Feb 1, 2023 07:24 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 9 quakes above magnitude 2
  • 15 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, Newhalen had 9 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 15 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 2.1 | 52 mi W of Anchor Point, Kenai Peninsula, Alaska, USA -

Strongest quake: Mag. 2.7 | 36 mi S of Lime Village, Bethel, Alaska, USA -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Newhalen, Alaska, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours8 quakes2 quakes M2+
Past 7 days45 quakes18 quakes M2+
Past 30 days224 quakes92 quakes M2+6 quakes M3+
Past 90 days580 quakes230 quakes M2+10 quakes M3+
Past 365 days2,149 quakes621 quakes M2+47 quakes M3+10 quakes M4+1 quake M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (24 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, February 1, 2023 GMT (3 quakes)
Jan 31, 2023 7:46 pm (GMT -9) (Feb 1, 2023 04:46 GMT)
2.1

132 km
52 mi west of Anchor Point, Kenai Peninsula, Alaska, USA More
Jan 31, 2023 6:00 pm (GMT -9) (Feb 1, 2023 03:00 GMT)
1.6

123 km
58 Km ENE of Pedro Bay, Alaska More
Jan 31, 2023 4:53 pm (GMT -9) (Feb 1, 2023 01:53 GMT)
1.1

58 km
35 Km W of Happy Valley, Alaska More
Tuesday, January 31, 2023 GMT (11 quakes)
Jan 31, 2023 1:06 pm (GMT -9) (Jan 31, 2023 22:06 GMT)
1.4

94 km
48 Km WNW of Happy Valley, Alaska More
Jan 31, 2023 6:59 am (GMT -9) (Jan 31, 2023 15:59 GMT)
1.9

91 km
53 mi southwest of Kalifornsky, Kenai Peninsula, Alaska, USA More
Jan 31, 2023 6:38 am (GMT -9) (Jan 31, 2023 15:38 GMT)
2.7

14 km
36 mi south of Lime Village, Bethel, Alaska, USA More
Jan 31, 2023 1:00 am (GMT -9) (Jan 31, 2023 10:00 GMT)
1.2

90 km
52 Km W of Anchor Point, Alaska More
Jan 31, 2023 12:03 am (GMT -9) (Jan 31, 2023 09:03 GMT)
1.9

112 km
54 mi west of Homer, Kenai Peninsula, Alaska, USA More
Jan 30, 2023 9:08 pm (GMT -9) (Jan 31, 2023 06:08 GMT)
2.0

101 km
50 mi northwest of Kenai, Alaska, USA More
Jan 30, 2023 8:11 pm (GMT -9) (Jan 31, 2023 05:11 GMT)
0.1

5.4 km
98 Km NNW of Karluk, Alaska More
Jan 30, 2023 5:00 pm (GMT -9) (Jan 31, 2023 02:00 GMT)
2.0

119 km
62 mi west of Anchor Point, Kenai Peninsula, Alaska, USA More
Jan 30, 2023 4:47 pm (GMT -9) (Jan 31, 2023 01:47 GMT)
1.5

75 km
Southern Alaska More
Jan 30, 2023 3:38 pm (GMT -9) (Jan 31, 2023 00:38 GMT)
2.1

65 km
66 mi southwest of Homer, Kenai Peninsula, Alaska, USA More
Jan 30, 2023 3:05 pm (GMT -9) (Jan 31, 2023 00:05 GMT)
1.5

86 km
45 Km W of Anchor Point, Alaska More
Monday, January 30, 2023 GMT (10 quakes)
Jan 30, 2023 2:11 pm (GMT -9) (Jan 30, 2023 23:11 GMT)
0.3

0.2 km
61 Km SE of Pedro Bay, Alaska More
Jan 30, 2023 10:56 am (GMT -9) (Jan 30, 2023 19:56 GMT)
0.7

3.7 km
Southern Alaska More
Jan 30, 2023 10:49 am (GMT -9) (Jan 30, 2023 19:49 GMT)
1.5

120 km
69 Km ENE of Pedro Bay, Alaska More
Jan 30, 2023 3:46 am (GMT -9) (Jan 30, 2023 12:46 GMT)
2.4

179 km
73 mi northwest of Anchor Point, Kenai Peninsula, Alaska, USA More
Jan 30, 2023 2:36 am (GMT -9) (Jan 30, 2023 11:36 GMT)
1.6

119 km
Southern Alaska More
Jan 30, 2023 1:49 am (GMT -9) (Jan 30, 2023 10:49 GMT)
2.1

114 km
44 mi northwest of Kenai, Alaska, USA More
Jan 30, 2023 1:31 am (GMT -9) (Jan 30, 2023 10:31 GMT)
1.9

62 km
26 mi southwest of Homer, Kenai Peninsula, Alaska, USA More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.8 x 109 joules (497 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.427 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Koktuh Hills, AK, USA (O18K/AK network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Koktuh Hills, AK, USA: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Newhalen Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Newhalen?

The last earthquake in Newhalen occurred 2 hours and 38 minutes ago: Minor mag. 2.1 earthquake - 52 mi west of Anchor Point, Kenai Peninsula, Alaska, USA, on Tuesday, Jan 31, 2023 at 7:46 pm (GMT -9).

How many quakes were there in Newhalen in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Newhalen, Alaska, USA had 24 quakes up to magnitude 2.7.

What was the strongest quake in Newhalen in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Newhalen in the past 48 hours occurred 16 hours ago: Weak mag. 2.7 earthquake - 36 mi south of Lime Village, Bethel, Alaska, USA, on Tuesday, Jan 31, 2023 at 6:38 am (GMT -9).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Feb 1, 2023 07:24 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings