Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Largest earthquakes in or near Trenggalek, East Java, Indonesia, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated: Sep 25, 2022 19:35 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 7
  • 12 quakes between magnitude 6 and 7
  • 140 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
Since 1900, Trenggalek has had 1 quake of magnitude 7.1, 12 quakes between 6.0 and 7.0, and 140 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 5.5 | Indian Ocean, 157 km S of Yogyakarta, Indonesia -

Strongest quake: Mag. 7.1 | 145 km S of Sewon, Yogyakarta, Indonesia -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Filter by age:

all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 5 or higher (153 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Jul 17, 2022 4:13 pm (GMT +7) (Jul 17, 2022 09:13 GMT)
5.5

10 km
173 km (107 mi)Indian Ocean, 157 km south of Yogyakarta, Indonesia 6 reportsMore
Jun 12, 2022 6:55 am (GMT +7) (Jun 11, 2022 23:55 GMT)
5.0

112 km
68 km (42 mi)Indian Ocean, 40 km southwest of Trenggalek, East Java, Indonesia 8 reportsMore
Oct 22, 2021 9:21 am (GMT +7) (Oct 22, 2021 02:21 GMT)
5.1

98 km
90 km (56 mi)Indian Ocean, 87 km southeast of Blitar, East Java, Indonesia 20 reportsMore
27 Jul 11:21 pm (GMT +7) (Jul 27, 2021 16:21 GMT)
5.0

61 km
12 km (7.5 mi)Indian Ocean, 127 km southwest of Blitar, East Java, Indonesia 8 reportsMore
28 Jun 5:15 am (GMT +7) (Jun 27, 2021 22:15 GMT)
5.1

59 km
12 km (7.5 mi)Indian Ocean, 86 km south of Yogyakarta, Indonesia 41 reportsMore
21 May 7:09 pm (GMT +7) (May 21, 2021 12:09 GMT)
5.9

115 km
45 km (28 mi)Indian Ocean, 67 km south of Blitar, East Java, Indonesia 266 reportsMore
10 Apr 2:00 pm (GMT +7) (Apr 10, 2021 07:00 GMT)
6.1

86 km
92 km (57 mi)Indian Ocean, 89 km south of Blitar, East Java, Indonesia 454 reportsMore
Jan 20, 2021 3:11 am (GMT +7) (Jan 19, 2021 20:11 GMT)
5.0

50 km
144 km (89 mi)Indian Ocean, 128 km south of Yogyakarta, Indonesia 4 reportsMore
Sep 10, 2020 08:27 GMT
5.0

67 km
142 km (88 mi)Indian Ocean, 127 km southeast of Yogyakarta, Indonesia 7 reportsMore
Jun 21, 2020 19:33 GMT
5.1

98 km
164 km (102 mi)Indian Ocean, 145 km southeast of Yogyakarta, Indonesia 64 reportsMore
Apr 7, 2020 08:03 GMT
5.0

46 km
167 km (104 mi)Indian Ocean, 153 km south of Blitar, East Java, Indonesia 2 reportsMore
Mar 12, 2020 08:03 GMT
5.1

92 km
148 km (92 mi)Indian Ocean, 126 km south of Yogyakarta, Indonesia 6 reportsMore
May 16, 2019 14:39 GMT
5.0

46 km
105 km (65 mi)Indian Ocean, 97 km south of Blitar, East Java, Indonesia 10 reportsMore
Feb 13, 2019 19:58 GMT
5.0

10 km
139 km (86 mi)Indian Ocean, 143 km south of Blitar, East Java, Indonesia 2 reportsMore
May 22, 2018 19:38 GMT
5.0

10 km
188 km (117 mi)Indian Ocean, 162 km south of Yogyakarta, Indonesia 4 reportsMore
May 24, 2017 16:44 GMT
5.2

10 km
154 km (96 mi)Indian Ocean, 132 km south of Blitar, East Java, Indonesia 9 reportsMore
Feb 12, 2017 06:42 GMT
5.0

10 km
162 km (101 mi)Indian Ocean, 142 km south of Blitar, East Java, Indonesia 8 reportsMore
Nov 18, 2016 02:19 GMT
5.0

41 km
164 km (102 mi)Indian Ocean, 134 km south of Yogyakarta, Indonesia 15 reportsMore
Nov 16, 2016 15:10 GMT
5.6

102 km
136 km (85 mi)Indian Ocean, 87 km south of Kencong, East Java, Indonesia 207 reportsMore
Jul 26, 2015 07:05 GMT
5.8

62 km
170 km (106 mi)Indian Ocean, 135 km southwest of Lumajang, East Java, Indonesia 47 reportsMore
Jun 5, 2015 16:38 GMT
5.0

80 km
155 km (96 mi)Indian Ocean, 135 km southwest of Blitar, East Java, Indonesia More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6.9 x 1015 joules (1930 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1.7 x 106 tons of TNT or 103.8 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Kappang, Sulawesi, Indonesia (KAPI/II network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Kappang, Sulawesi, Indonesia: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Trenggalek Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Trenggalek?

The last earthquake in Trenggalek occurred 11 weeks ago: Strong mag. 5.5 earthquake - Indian Ocean, 157 km south of Yogyakarta, Indonesia, on Sunday, Jul 17, 2022 at 4:13 pm (GMT +7).

How many quakes were there in Trenggalek since 1900?

Since 1900, Trenggalek, East Java, Indonesia had 153 quakes up to magnitude 7.1.

What was the strongest quake in Trenggalek since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Trenggalek since 1900 occurred 96 years ago: Major magnitude 7.1 earthquake - 145 km south of Sewon, Yogyakarta, Indonesia, on Friday, September 10, 1926 at 10:34 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Oct 2, 2022 23:28 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings