Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Milpitas, California, USA, in the past 24 hours on Monday, September 26, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Sep 26, 2022 09:03 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 4 quakes above magnitude 2
  • 22 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Milpitas had 4 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 22 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A weak magnitude 2.7 earthquake occurred in California, USA, 4 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 0.7 | 2km NNE of The Geysers, CA -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 2.7 | 12 mi SW of Clearlake, Lake County, California, USA -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Milpitas, California, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours11 quakes | 4 quakes M2+
Past 7 days96 quakes | 12 quakes M2+ | 1 quake M3+
Past 30 days480 quakes | 73 quakes M2+ | 9 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+
Past 90 days1,365 quakes | 164 quakes M2+ | 13 quakes M3+ | 4 quakes M4+
Past 365 days5,693 quakes | 718 quakes M2+ | 53 quakes M3+ | 7 quakes M4+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
Hide 7 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (33 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Monday, September 26, 2022 GMT (22 quakes)
Sep 26, 2022 1:49 am (GMT -7) (Sep 26, 2022 08:49 GMT)
?

n/a
2 mi south of Roseville, Placer County, California, USA (preliminary) Early Alert!
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Sep 26, 2022 1:44 am (GMT -7) (Sep 26, 2022 08:44 GMT)
0.7

2.2 km
2km NNE of The Geysers, CA More
Sep 26, 2022 1:41 am (GMT -7) (Sep 26, 2022 08:41 GMT)
?

n/a
1.5 mi northwest of Pleasanton, Alameda County, California, USA (preliminary) Early Alert!
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Sep 26, 2022 1:07 am (GMT -7) (Sep 26, 2022 08:07 GMT)
1.3

1.4 km
10km NW of The Geysers, CA More
Sep 26, 2022 1:01 am (GMT -7) (Sep 26, 2022 08:01 GMT)
?

n/a
4.1 mi southeast of Morgan Hill, Santa Clara County, California, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 2 reports
More
Sep 26, 2022 12:54 am (GMT -7) (Sep 26, 2022 07:54 GMT)
1.0

1.2 km
4km NW of Cobb, CA More
Sep 26, 2022 12:32 am (GMT -7) (Sep 26, 2022 07:32 GMT)
?

n/a
1.3 mi east of San Jose, Santa Clara County, California, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Sep 26, 2022 12:04 am (GMT -7) (Sep 26, 2022 07:04 GMT)
1.8

3.4 km
6km NW of The Geysers, CA More
Sep 26, 2022 12:04 am (GMT -7) (Sep 26, 2022 07:04 GMT)
0.7

2.2 km
2km SW of Cobb, CA More
Sep 25, 2022 11:50 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 26, 2022 06:50 GMT)
1.6

7.4 km
9km ESE of Pinnacles, CA More
Sep 25, 2022 10:59 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 26, 2022 05:59 GMT)
0.7

2 km
2km N of The Geysers, CA More
Sep 25, 2022 10:52 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 26, 2022 05:52 GMT)
0.9

1.7 km
2km SSW of Cobb, CA 1 reportMore
Sep 25, 2022 10:26 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 26, 2022 05:26 GMT)
0.9

1.9 km
2km SW of Cobb, CA More
Sep 25, 2022 10:20 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 26, 2022 05:20 GMT)
0.7

2.4 km
2km SW of Cobb, CA More
Sep 25, 2022 10:19 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 26, 2022 05:19 GMT)
0.2

1.6 km
2km SW of Cobb, CA More
Sep 25, 2022 10:18 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 26, 2022 05:18 GMT)
2.7

2.2 km
12 mi southwest of Clearlake, Lake County, California, USA
I FELT IT
More
Sep 25, 2022 8:50 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 26, 2022 03:50 GMT)
1.5

3.4 km
2km N of The Geysers, CA 1 reportMore
Sep 25, 2022 8:07 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 26, 2022 03:07 GMT)
0.6

3.1 km
7km NW of The Geysers, CA More
Sep 25, 2022 7:10 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 26, 2022 02:10 GMT)
0.4

2.2 km
7km NW of The Geysers, CA More
Sep 25, 2022 6:33 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 26, 2022 01:33 GMT)
2.0

10.7 km
16 mi east of Hollister, San Benito County, California, USA More
Sep 25, 2022 6:13 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 26, 2022 01:13 GMT)
1.8

0.2 km
4km WNW of The Geysers, CA More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.8 x 109 joules (503 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.433 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: San Andreas Geophysical Obs., Hollister, CA, USA (SAO/BK network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station San Andreas Geophysical Obs., Hollister, CA, USA: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Milpitas Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Milpitas?

The last earthquake in Milpitas occurred 20 minutes ago: Minor mag. 0.7 earthquake - 2km NNE of The Geysers, CA, on Monday, Sep 26, 2022 at 1:44 am (GMT -7).

How many quakes were there in Milpitas today?

In the past 24 hours, Milpitas, California, USA had 33 quakes up to magnitude 2.7.

What was the strongest quake in Milpitas today?

The strongest earthquake in Milpitas today occurred 4 hours ago: Weak mag. 2.7 earthquake - 12 mi southwest of Clearlake, Lake County, California, USA, on Sunday, Sep 25, 2022 at 10:18 pm (GMT -7).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Sep 26, 2022 09:03 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings