Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Largest earthquakes in or near Gypsum, Kansas, USA, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated: Sep 21, 2022 23:07 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 10 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 107 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 330 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 41 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
Since 1900, Gypsum has had 10 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 107 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 330 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There have been also 41 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 2.6 | 10.2 mi E of Salina, Saline County, Kansas, USA -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.9 | 8.2 mi N of Manhattan, Riley County, Kansas, USA -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Filter by age:

all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 1.6 or higher (488 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Nov 28, 2022 4:45 pm (GMT -6) (Nov 28, 2022 22:45 GMT)
2.6

5 km
831 km (516 mi)5.4 mi northeast of Salina, Saline County, Kansas, USA
I FELT IT - 3 reports
More
Nov 24, 2022 9:29 pm (GMT -6) (Nov 25, 2022 03:29 GMT)
2.5

9.1 km
787 km (489 mi)5.1 mi east of Harper, Kansas, USA More
Nov 2, 2022 12:04 pm (GMT -5) (Nov 2, 2022 17:04 GMT)
2.6

5 km
890 km (553 mi)Kansas More
Oct 10, 2022 12:04 am (GMT -5) (Oct 10, 2022 05:04 GMT)
2.1

5 km
883 km (549 mi)5 Km SE of Marion, Kansas More
Sep 10, 2022 8:24 pm (GMT -5) (Sep 11, 2022 01:24 GMT)
2.6

5 km
678 km (421 mi)13 Km WSW of Natoma, Kansas More
Sep 2, 2022 12:47 pm (GMT -5) (Sep 2, 2022 17:47 GMT)
2.4

2.2 km
676 km (420 mi)17 Km SSE of Plainville, Kansas More
Aug 28, 2022 1:54 pm (GMT -5) (Aug 28, 2022 18:54 GMT)
2.7

5 km
732 km (455 mi)13 mi northeast of Osborne, Kansas, USA 2 reportsMore
Jul 26, 2022 7:04 am (GMT -5) (Jul 26, 2022 12:04 GMT)
3.6

5 km
758 km (471 mi)5.8 mi southwest of Superior, Nuckolls County, Nepalaka, USA 3 reportsMore
Jul 17, 2022 7:51 am (GMT -5) (Jul 17, 2022 12:51 GMT)
3.7

5 km
760 km (472 mi)4.6 mi southwest of Superior, Nuckolls County, Nepalaka, USA 27 reportsMore
Jul 7, 2022 4:09 am (GMT -5) (Jul 7, 2022 09:09 GMT)
2.4

1.8 km
866 km (538 mi)9 mi west of Junction City, Geary County, Kansas, USA 1 reportMore
Jun 17, 2022 4:52 pm (GMT -5) (Jun 17, 2022 21:52 GMT)
2.5

5 km
734 km (456 mi)13 Km N of Cawker City, Kansas More
Jun 4, 2022 11:23 am (GMT -5) (Jun 4, 2022 16:23 GMT)
3.0

5 km
832 km (517 mi)16 mi southeast of Salina, Saline County, Kansas, USA More
May 16, 2022 9:23 pm (GMT -5) (May 17, 2022 02:23 GMT)
2.2

5 km
801 km (498 mi)Kansas 2 reportsMore
Apr 30, 2022 11:06 am (GMT -5) (Apr 30, 2022 16:06 GMT)
2.5

5 km
867 km (539 mi)7 Km WSW of Woodbine, Kansas More
Apr 28, 2022 8:00 pm (GMT -5) (Apr 29, 2022 01:00 GMT)
2.6

5 km
826 km (513 mi)Near McPherson, Kansas, USA 2 reportsMore
Apr 15, 2022 4:59 am (GMT -5) (Apr 15, 2022 09:59 GMT)
2.6

5 km
825 km (513 mi)6 Km SE of Assaria, Kansas More
Mar 21, 2022 7:33 pm (GMT -5) (Mar 22, 2022 00:33 GMT)
2.8

7.6 km
806 km (501 mi)26 mi southwest of Wichita, Sedgwick County, Kansas, USA More
Mar 20, 2022 10:40 am (GMT -5) (Mar 20, 2022 15:40 GMT)
2.4

5 km
807 km (501 mi)10 Km WNW of Viola, Kansas More
Mar 20, 2022 3:51 am (GMT -5) (Mar 20, 2022 08:51 GMT)
2.6

3.5 km
808 km (502 mi)9 Km WNW of Viola, Kansas More
Mar 20, 2022 3:31 am (GMT -5) (Mar 20, 2022 08:31 GMT)
2.2

5 km
808 km (502 mi)9 Km NNE of Milton, Kansas More
Mar 19, 2022 9:43 pm (GMT -5) (Mar 20, 2022 02:43 GMT)
2.4

5 km
809 km (503 mi)9 Km NW of Viola, Kansas More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.8 x 1012 joules (1.34 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1154 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Kansas State University--Konza Prairie, Kansas, USA (KSU1/US network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Kansas State University--Konza Prairie, Kansas, USA: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Gypsum Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Gypsum?

The last earthquake in Gypsum occurred 7 days ago: Weak mag. 2.6 earthquake - 5.4 mi northeast of Salina, Saline County, Kansas, USA, on Monday, Nov 28, 2022 at 4:45 pm (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in Gypsum since 1900?

Since 1900, Gypsum, Kansas, USA had 488 quakes up to magnitude 4.9.

What was the strongest quake in Gypsum since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Gypsum since 1900 occurred 117 years ago: Moderate mag. 4.9 earthquake - 8.2 mi north of Manhattan, Riley County, Kansas, USA, on Monday, January 8, 1906 at 00:15 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Dec 5, 2022 22:40 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings