Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Jan 27, 2022 06:44 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Past earthquakes near Amberley, Hurunui District, Canterbury, New Zealand: 2020 - list, stats and interactive map

Updated Jan 27, 2022 06:44 GMT -
During 2020, Amberley was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 5.1, 3 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 40 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 294 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 164 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 5.1 quake 10.5 km northwest of Culverden, Hurunui District, Canterbury, New Zealand, March, 15 2020 15:28 GMT
...Read More

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 2.1 or higher (287 out of 502 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, December 31, 2020 11:10 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Jan 1, 2021 12:10 am (GMT +13) (Dec 31, 2020 11:10 GMT)
2.4

33 km
29 km northeast of Culverden, Hurunui District, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Dec 31, 2020 8:35 pm (GMT +13) (Dec 31, 2020 07:35 GMT)
2.8

4.8 km
4.9 km east of Rolleston, Selwyn District, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Dec 31, 2020 6:38 pm (GMT +13) (Dec 31, 2020 05:38 GMT)
2.8

7.8 km
6.7 km northeast of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Dec 31, 2020 1:09 pm (GMT +13) (Dec 31, 2020 00:09 GMT)
3.3

4.5 km
Selwyn District, 19 km west of Oxford, New Zealand MoreMap
Tuesday, December 29, 2020 04:36 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Dec 29, 2020 5:36 pm (GMT +13) (Dec 29, 2020 04:36 GMT)
3.3

8.7 km
13 km north of Culverden, Hurunui District, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Dec 29, 2020 3:55 pm (GMT +13) (Dec 29, 2020 02:55 GMT)
2.5

5 km
28 km southeast of Gloriavale Christian Church, New Zealand MoreMap
Monday, December 28, 2020 23:18 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Dec 29, 2020 11:18 am (GMT +12) (Dec 28, 2020 23:18 GMT)
2.8

20 km
South Pacific Ocean, 59 km east of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Dec 28, 2020 4:27 pm (GMT +13) (Dec 28, 2020 03:27 GMT)
2.3

6.3 km
24 km east of Hanmer Springs, Hurunui District, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Friday, December 25, 2020 15:14 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 26, 2020 4:14 am (GMT +13) (Dec 25, 2020 15:14 GMT)
2.2

4.7 km
11 km west of Hanmer Springs, Hurunui District, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Thursday, December 24, 2020 15:54 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Dec 25, 2020 3:54 am (GMT +12) (Dec 24, 2020 15:54 GMT)
3.2

20 km
South Pacific Ocean, 60 km east of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Dec 24, 2020 11:03 pm (GMT +12) (Dec 24, 2020 11:03 GMT)
2.6

21 km
South Pacific Ocean, 57 km east of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Dec 24, 2020 12:18 pm (GMT +12) (Dec 24, 2020 00:18 GMT)
3.5

21 km
South Pacific Ocean, 56 km east of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
Wednesday, December 23, 2020 04:00 GMT (5 earthquakes)
Dec 23, 2020 4:00 pm (GMT +12) (Dec 23, 2020 04:00 GMT)
3.3

20 km
South Pacific Ocean, 58 km east of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Dec 23, 2020 1:07 pm (GMT +12) (Dec 23, 2020 01:07 GMT)
2.7

23 km
South Pacific Ocean, 57 km east of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Dec 23, 2020 1:01 pm (GMT +12) (Dec 23, 2020 01:01 GMT)
2.7

20 km
South Pacific Ocean, 59 km east of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Dec 23, 2020 12:45 pm (GMT +12) (Dec 23, 2020 00:45 GMT)
3.4

20 km
South Pacific Ocean, 58 km east of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.1 x 1012 joules (1.13 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 974 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel