Help Ukraine

Latest quakes in or near Morteau, Bourgogne-Franche-Comté, France, in the past 48 hours on Wednesday, May 25, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated May 25, 2022 03:50 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 2
  • 13 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, Morteau had 1 quake of magnitude 2.0. There were also 13 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 1.0 | Switzerland: Zinal VS -

Strongest quake: Mag. 2.0 | 8.6 km SW of Montbeliard, Departement du Doubs, Bourgogne-Franche-Comté, France -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Morteau, Bourgogne-Franche-Comté, France (updated )

Past 24 hours:6 quakes
Past 7 days:31 quakes | 2 quakes M2+
Past 30 days:132 quakes | 10 quakes M2+
Past 90 days:458 quakes | 53 quakes M2+ | 4 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 365 days:1,705 quakes | 148 quakes M2+ | 12 quakes M3+ | 4 quakes M4+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
Hide 3 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (17 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, May 24, 2022 GMT (7 quakes)
May 25, 2022 1:34 am (GMT +2) (May 24, 2022 23:34 GMT)
1.0

1.3 km
Switzerland: Zinal VS MoreMap
May 24, 2022 5:20 pm (GMT +2) (May 24, 2022 15:20 GMT)
1.9

0.5 km
10.6 km west of Montbeliard, France MoreMap
May 24, 2022 2:04 pm (GMT +2) (May 24, 2022 12:04 GMT)
1.0

7 km
Switzerland: Confine Italia-Svizzera (SVIZZERA) MoreMap
May 24, 2022 2:04 pm (GMT +2) (May 24, 2022 12:04 GMT)
1.7

7.1 km
20 km east of Sion, Valais, Switzerland MoreMap
May 24, 2022 11:53 am (GMT +2) (May 24, 2022 09:53 GMT)
1.3
France: Near Saint-Dié-des-Vosges (quarry Blast) MoreMap
May 24, 2022 11:33 am (GMT +2) (May 24, 2022 09:33 GMT)
1.5
7.9 km west of Beaune, Cote d'Or, Bourgogne-Franche-Comté, France MoreMap
May 24, 2022 10:52 am (GMT +2) (May 24, 2022 08:52 GMT)
?

n/a
6 km southwest of Lahr/Schwarzwald, Freiburg Region, Baden-Württemberg, Germany (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Monday, May 23, 2022 GMT (10 quakes)
May 24, 2022 12:19 am (GMT +2) (May 23, 2022 22:19 GMT)
1.8

19 km
19 km south of Montbeliard, France MoreMap
May 23, 2022 11:51 pm (GMT +2) (May 23, 2022 21:51 GMT)
1.2

6 km
France: Near Montbéliard MoreMap
May 23, 2022 11:07 pm (GMT +2) (May 23, 2022 21:07 GMT)
?

n/a
18 km south of Montbeliard, France (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 7 reports
MoreMap
May 23, 2022 11:06 pm (GMT +2) (May 23, 2022 21:06 GMT)
1.9

5.5 km
20 km south of Montbeliard, France 1 reportMoreMap
May 23, 2022 8:11 pm (GMT +2) (May 23, 2022 18:11 GMT)
1.1

7 km
Switzerland: Sion VS MoreMap
May 23, 2022 4:30 pm (GMT +2) (May 23, 2022 14:30 GMT)
0.8
Switzerland: Near Sion (quarry Blast) MoreMap
May 23, 2022 1:38 pm (GMT +2) (May 23, 2022 11:38 GMT)
2.0
8.6 km southwest of Montbeliard, France MoreMap
May 23, 2022 11:59 am (GMT +2) (May 23, 2022 09:59 GMT)
1.6
15 km north of Saint-Dié, Vosges, Grand Est, France MoreMap
May 23, 2022 11:35 am (GMT +2) (May 23, 2022 09:35 GMT)
?

n/a
3.4 km east of Basel, Basel-Stadt, Switzerland (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.6 x 108 joules (72.8 kilowatt hours) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Morteau Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Morteau?

The last earthquake in Morteau occurred 4 hours ago: Minor mag. 1.0 earthquake - Switzerland: Zinal VS on Wednesday, May 25, 2022 at 1:34 am (GMT +2).

How many quakes were there in Morteau in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Morteau, Bourgogne-Franche-Comté, France had 17 quakes up to magnitude 2.0.

What was the strongest quake in Morteau in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Morteau in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 16 hours ago: Weak mag. 2.0 earthquake - 8.6 km southwest of Montbeliard, France, on Monday, May 23, 2022 at 1:38 pm (GMT +2).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 25, 2022 03:50 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.