Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Jan 25, 2022 16:18 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Past earthquakes near Morteau, Doubs, Bourgogne-Franche-Comté, France: 2020

Updated Jan 25, 2022 16:18 GMT -
During 2020, Morteau was shaken by 8 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 103 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 340 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 3.4 quake 0.6 km southwest of Bavans, France, June, 26 2020 07:55 GMT
...Read More

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 1.6 or higher (298 out of 451 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, December 31, 2020 08:36 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Dec 31, 2020 9:36 am (GMT +1) (Dec 31, 2020 08:36 GMT)
1.8

5 km
Sankt Petersinsel, 1.3 km southwest of Tavannes, Bernese Jura, Switzerland MoreMap
Dec 31, 2020 9:36 am (GMT +1) (Dec 31, 2020 08:36 GMT)
1.7

1.1 km
Sankt Petersinsel, 6.7 km west of Biel/Bienne, Bern, Switzerland MoreMap
Sunday, December 27, 2020 02:46 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 27, 2020 3:46 am (GMT +1) (Dec 27, 2020 02:46 GMT)
2.0

11 km
1.5 km east of Valdahon, Departement du Doubs, Bourgogne-Franche-Comté, France MoreMap
Tuesday, December 22, 2020 13:58 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 22, 2020 2:58 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 22, 2020 13:58 GMT)
1.8

26 km
1.8 km southeast of Schnottwil, Bezirk Bucheggberg, Solothurn, Switzerland MoreMap
Sunday, December 20, 2020 07:04 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 20, 2020 8:04 am (GMT +1) (Dec 20, 2020 07:04 GMT)
1.9

10 km
0.4 km east of Kappelen, Bern, Switzerland MoreMap
Friday, December 18, 2020 10:06 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 18, 2020 11:06 am (GMT +1) (Dec 18, 2020 10:06 GMT)
1.8

25 km
0.5 km southeast of Lusans, Bourgogne-Franche-Comté, France MoreMap
Thursday, December 17, 2020 12:23 GMT (5 earthquakes)
Dec 17, 2020 1:23 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 17, 2020 12:23 GMT)
2.1

5 km
Courtelary, 1.5 km northeast of Tramelan, Bern, Switzerland MoreMap
Dec 17, 2020 1:23 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 17, 2020 12:23 GMT)
1.8

1 km
Bernese Jura, 6.7 km west of Biel/Bienne, Bern, Switzerland MoreMap
Dec 17, 2020 12:23 GMT
1.7
4.6 km northeast of Biel/Bienne, Bern, Switzerland MoreMap
Dec 17, 2020 11:30 am (GMT +1) (Dec 17, 2020 10:30 GMT)
1.8
0.5 km west of Mathay, Bourgogne-Franche-Comté, France MoreMap
Dec 17, 2020 11:30 am (GMT +1) (Dec 17, 2020 10:30 GMT)
2.1

0.4 km
1.8 km southwest of Montenois, Bourgogne-Franche-Comté, France MoreMap
Monday, December 14, 2020 22:09 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Dec 14, 2020 11:09 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 14, 2020 22:09 GMT)
1.8

8.4 km
2.3 km south of Yvonand, Vaud, Switzerland MoreMap
Dec 14, 2020 1:59 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 14, 2020 12:59 GMT)
2.0

4.6 km
3.2 km northwest of Les Bayards, Neuchâtel, Switzerland MoreMap
Dec 14, 2020 1:59 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 14, 2020 12:59 GMT)
2.1

10 km
5.6 km northwest of Champagnole, Jura, Bourgogne-Franche-Comté, France MoreMap
Sunday, December 13, 2020 16:35 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Dec 13, 2020 5:35 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 13, 2020 16:35 GMT)
1.9

23 km
4 km northeast of Pontarlier, Doubs, Bourgogne-Franche-Comté, France MoreMap
Dec 13, 2020 5:35 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 13, 2020 16:35 GMT)
1.7

10 km
1.6 km northeast of Vallorbe, Vaud, Switzerland MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 7.7 x 1010 joules (21.3 megawatt hours, equivalent to 18.3 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel