Help Ukraine

Past earthquakes in Morteau, Bourgogne-Franche-Comté, France: 2021 - list, stats and map

Updated May 27, 2022 03:20 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes in 2021:

  • 3 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 10 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 166 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 2002 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In 2021, Morteau was shaken by 3 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 10 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 166 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 2002 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.1 | 15 km S of Montbeliard, Departement du Doubs, Bourgogne-Franche-Comté, France -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Hide unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 2 or higher (254 out of 2181 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, December 31, 2021 GMT (2 quakes)
Dec 31, 2021 10:31 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 31, 2021 21:31 GMT)
?

n/a
Baden-Württemberg, Germany (unconfirmed) 4 reportsMoreMap
Dec 31, 2021 9:00 am (GMT +1) (Dec 31, 2021 08:00 GMT)
2.4

2 km
50 km southeast of Dijon, Cote d'Or, Bourgogne-Franche-Comté, France MoreMap
Thursday, December 30, 2021 GMT (2 quakes)
Dec 30, 2021 8:43 am (GMT +1) (Dec 30, 2021 07:43 GMT)
2.5

1 km
Valais, 100 km south of Berna, Bern-Mittelland District, Switzerland MoreMap
Dec 30, 2021 7:02 am (GMT +1) (Dec 30, 2021 06:02 GMT)
?

n/a
Bourgogne-Franche-Comté, France (unconfirmed) 1 reportMoreMap
Monday, December 27, 2021 GMT (2 quakes)
Dec 27, 2021 4:57 am (GMT +1) (Dec 27, 2021 03:57 GMT)
?

n/a
7.7 km west of Epinal, Vosges, Grand Est, France (unconfirmed) 1 reportMoreMap
Dec 27, 2021 2:45 am (GMT +1) (Dec 27, 2021 01:45 GMT)
?

n/a
13 km northeast of Freiburg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany (unconfirmed) 1 reportMoreMap
Sunday, December 26, 2021 GMT (3 quakes)
Dec 26, 2021 3:20 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 26, 2021 14:20 GMT)
?

n/a
37 km northeast of Chaumont, Haute-Marne, Grand Est, France (unconfirmed) 1 reportMoreMap
Dec 26, 2021 11:25 am (GMT +1) (Dec 26, 2021 10:25 GMT)
?

n/a
37 km northeast of Chaumont, Haute-Marne, Grand Est, France (unconfirmed) 1 reportMoreMap
Dec 26, 2021 2:30 am (GMT +1) (Dec 26, 2021 01:30 GMT)
?

n/a
7.8 km south of Montbeliard, France (unconfirmed) 3 reportsMoreMap
Saturday, December 25, 2021 GMT (10 quakes)
Dec 25, 2021 8:02 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 25, 2021 19:02 GMT)
?

n/a
5.9 km southeast of Montbeliard, France (unconfirmed) 1 reportMoreMap
Dec 25, 2021 5:24 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 25, 2021 16:24 GMT)
?

n/a
2.4 km southwest of Montbeliard, France (unconfirmed) 3 reportsMoreMap
Dec 25, 2021 3:49 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 25, 2021 14:49 GMT)
3.6

5 km
Jura, 31 km north of La Chaux de Fonds, Switzerland 175 reportsMoreMap
Dec 25, 2021 1:23 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 25, 2021 12:23 GMT)
2.3

12 km
0.7 km east of Hauteville-Lompnes, Ain, Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, France MoreMap
Dec 25, 2021 8:20 am (GMT +1) (Dec 25, 2021 07:20 GMT)
2.2

5 km
5.6 km north of Lahr/Schwarzwald, Freiburg Region, Baden-Württemberg, Germany 4 reportsMoreMap
Dec 25, 2021 7:11 am (GMT +1) (Dec 25, 2021 06:11 GMT)
?

n/a
28 km southeast of Epinal, Vosges, Grand Est, France (unconfirmed) 1 reportMoreMap
Dec 25, 2021 2:03 am (GMT +1) (Dec 25, 2021 01:03 GMT)
?

n/a
41 km southwest of Mulhouse, Haut-Rhin, Grand Est, France (unconfirmed) 15 reportsMoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.6 x 1011 joules (99.1 megawatt hours, equivalent to 85.2 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 27, 2022 03:20 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.