Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Çan, Canakkale, Turkey, in the past 24 hours on Sunday, January 29, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Jan 29, 2023 01:49 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 3
  • 4 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 5 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Çan had 1 quake of magnitude 3.1 and 4 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 5 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A light magnitude 3.1 earthquake occurred in Lesvos, North Aegean, Greece, 12 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 1.7 | Greece: MIDILLI ADASI (AEGEAN SEA) -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 3.1 | 20 km SW of Mitilini, Lesvos, North Aegean, Greece -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Çan, Canakkale, Turkey (updated )

Past 24 hours10 quakes4 quakes M2+1 quake M3+
Past 7 days128 quakes44 quakes M2+7 quakes M3+
Past 30 days1,295 quakes510 quakes M2+42 quakes M3+
Past 90 days1,676 quakes624 quakes M2+55 quakes M3+1 quake M4+
Past 365 days3,415 quakes1,214 quakes M2+120 quakes M3+8 quakes M4+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (10 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sunday, January 29, 2023 GMT (2 quakes)
Jan 29, 2023 00:45 GMT
1.7

11 km
Greece: MIDILLI ADASI (AEGEAN SEA) More
Jan 29, 2023 2:37 am (GMT +2) (Jan 29, 2023 00:37 GMT)
1.4

16 km
Greece: MIDILLI ADASI (AEGEAN SEA) More
Saturday, January 28, 2023 GMT (8 quakes)
Jan 29, 2023 1:49 am (GMT +3) (Jan 28, 2023 22:49 GMT)
1.6

19 km
Turkey: BABAKALE-AYVACIK (CANAKKALE) More
Jan 28, 2023 8:59 pm (GMT +3) (Jan 28, 2023 17:59 GMT)
2.2

14 km
Aegean Sea, 20 km west of Aliağa, İzmir, Turkey More
Jan 28, 2023 3:56 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 28, 2023 13:56 GMT)
3.1

10 km
20 km southwest of Mitilini, Lesvos, North Aegean, Greece
I FELT IT
More
Jan 28, 2023 3:49 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 28, 2023 13:49 GMT)
2.6

12 km
41 km northwest of Mitilini, Lesvos, North Aegean, Greece More
Jan 28, 2023 12:47 pm (GMT +3) (Jan 28, 2023 09:47 GMT)
2.0

8.9 km
Canakkale, 29 km northwest of Ayvalik, Ayvalık İlçesi, Balıkesir, Turkey More
Jan 28, 2023 12:04 pm (GMT +3) (Jan 28, 2023 09:04 GMT)
1.3

10.4 km
Turkey: BEHRAM-AYVACIK (CANAKKALE) More
Jan 28, 2023 5:49 am (GMT +3) (Jan 28, 2023 02:49 GMT)
1.9

6.5 km
20 km northwest of Biga, Canakkale, Turkey More
Jan 28, 2023 5:28 am (GMT +3) (Jan 28, 2023 02:28 GMT)
2.3

6.8 km
21 km southeast of perugamon, Bergama, İzmir, Turkey More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.8 x 109 joules (1.05 megawatt hours, equivalent to 0.904 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Ankara, Turkey (ANTO/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Ankara, Turkey: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Çan Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Çan?

The last earthquake in Çan occurred 1 hour and 4 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.7 earthquake - Greece: MIDILLI ADASI (AEGEAN SEA) on Sunday, January 29, 2023 at 00:45 GMT.

How many quakes were there in Çan today?

In the past 24 hours, Çan, Canakkale, Turkey had 10 quakes up to magnitude 3.1.

What was the strongest quake in Çan today?

The strongest earthquake in Çan today occurred 12 hours ago: Light mag. 3.1 earthquake - 20 km southwest of Mitilini, Lesvos, North Aegean, Greece, on Saturday, Jan 28, 2023 at 3:56 pm (GMT +2).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Jan 29, 2023 01:49 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings