Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Dec 7, 2021 06:11 GMT -

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Past earthquakes near Kingvale, Nevada County, California, USA: 2020

Updated Dec 7, 2021 06:11 GMT -
During 2020, Kingvale was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 4.5, 3 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 39 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 913 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 4.5 quake 4 mi southeast of Carson City, Nevada, USA, 2020-03-20 17:33:35 -08:00
...Read More

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 1 or higher (259 out of 956 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, December 29, 2020 10:56 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 29, 2020 2:56 am (GMT -8) (Dec 29, 2020 10:56 GMT)
1.6

15 km
Sierra County, California, 7.7 mi southwest of Cold Springs, Washoe County, Nevada, USA MoreMap
Monday, December 28, 2020 22:10 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Dec 28, 2020 10:10 pm (GMT +0) (Dec 28, 2020 22:10 GMT)
2.6

14 km
1.5 mi east of East Quincy, Plumas County, California, USA MoreMap
Dec 28, 2020 6:17 am (GMT -8) (Dec 28, 2020 14:17 GMT)
1.3

2.1 km
2.4 mi northwest of Markleeville, Alpine County, California, USA MoreMap
Sunday, December 27, 2020 23:55 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Dec 27, 2020 3:55 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 27, 2020 23:55 GMT)
1.5

14 km
Sierra County, California, 7.7 mi southwest of Cold Springs, Washoe County, Nevada, USA MoreMap
Dec 27, 2020 10:39 am (GMT -8) (Dec 27, 2020 18:39 GMT)
1.5

15 km
Sierra County, California, 7.7 mi southwest of Cold Springs, Washoe County, Nevada, USA MoreMap
Saturday, December 26, 2020 05:54 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 25, 2020 9:54 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 26, 2020 05:54 GMT)
2.9

1.8 km
Placer County, 4.3 mi south of Truckee, Nevada County, California, USA 4 reportsMoreMap
Sunday, December 20, 2020 01:05 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 19, 2020 5:05 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 20, 2020 01:05 GMT)
1.7

15 km
5.2 mi northwest of Carson City, Nevada, USA MoreMap
Monday, December 14, 2020 20:33 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Dec 14, 2020 12:33 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 14, 2020 20:33 GMT)
2.6

2 km
2.6 mi northeast of Greenhorn, California, USA 1 reportMoreMap
Dec 14, 2020 12:33 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 14, 2020 20:33 GMT)
2.3

2 km
4.5 mi east of Cromberg, Plumas County, California, USA MoreMap
Dec 14, 2020 8:24 am (GMT -8) (Dec 14, 2020 16:24 GMT)
2.5

4 km
Douglas County, Nevada, 6.2 mi east of South Lake Tahoe, El Dorado County, California, USA MoreMap
Sunday, December 13, 2020 15:30 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 13, 2020 7:30 am (GMT -8) (Dec 13, 2020 15:30 GMT)
1.4

4.8 km
5 Km NE of Markleeville, California, USA MoreMap
Friday, December 11, 2020 09:31 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 11, 2020 1:31 am (GMT -8) (Dec 11, 2020 09:31 GMT)
1.5

5.5 km
Sierra County, 3.5 mi south of Sattley, California, USA MoreMap
Thursday, December 10, 2020 06:19 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 10, 2020 06:19 GMT
1.0

9.3 km
3 Km ENE of Greenhorn, California, USA MoreMap
Monday, November 30, 2020 12:46 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 30, 2020 4:46 am (GMT -8) (Nov 30, 2020 12:46 GMT)
1.0

11 km
11 Km E of Floriston, California, USA MoreMap
Monday, November 23, 2020 14:59 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Nov 23, 2020 14:59 GMT
1.2

7.3 km
County, 7 mi south of Doyle (Lassen County), California, USA MoreMap
Nov 22, 2020 8:49 pm (GMT -8) (Nov 23, 2020 04:49 GMT)
1.6

9.4 km
California, 11 mi west of Reno (Washoe County, Nevada) MoreMap
Nov 23, 2020 02:10 GMT
1.3

8.7 km
County, 2.3 mi west of Greenhorn (Plumas County, California, USA) MoreMap
Saturday, November 21, 2020 17:20 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 21, 2020 9:20 am (GMT -8) (Nov 21, 2020 17:20 GMT)
2.2

1.1 km
3.6 mi northwest of Sierra City, Sierra County, California 1 reportMoreMap
Friday, November 20, 2020 22:39 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 20, 2020 2:39 pm (GMT -8) (Nov 20, 2020 22:39 GMT)
2.2

5.3 km
6.6 mi east of Sparks, Washoe County, Nevada MoreMap
Monday, November 16, 2020 22:06 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 16, 2020 22:06 GMT
1.3

5.5 km
12 mi north of Reno, Nevada MoreMap
Thursday, November 12, 2020 22:42 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Nov 12, 2020 22:42 GMT
1.9

1.5 km
15 mi southwest of Reno, Nevada MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4 x 1011 joules (111 megawatt hours, equivalent to 95.8 tons of TNT) More info

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel