Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes near Ribeira Grande, North Atlantic Ocean, Açores, Portugal, past 30 days

Updated 27 Jan 2021 03:39 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Ribeira Grande was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 5.4, 31 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 73 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 5.4 quake North Atlantic Ocean, 63 km west of Ribeira Grande, Portugal, 11 Jan 2021 11:47 am (GMT -1)
Most recent quake: 2.8 quake North Atlantic Ocean, 58 km west of Ribeira Grande, Portugal, 21 Jan 2021 11:17 pm (GMT -1)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 2.8 or higher (53 out of 105 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Fri, 22 Jan 2021 (GMT)
21 Jan 2021 11:17 pm (GMT -1) (22 Jan 2021 00:17:12 GMT)
2.8
(47 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 58 km west of Ribeira Grande, Portugal
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Wed, 20 Jan 2021 (GMT)
20 Jan 2021 13:17:17 GMT
2.8
(58 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 70 km west of Ribeira Grande, Portugal
I FELT IT
MoreMap
20 Jan 2021 12:12 pm (GMT -1) (20 Jan 2021 13:12:52 GMT)
3.3

5 km
(58 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 68 km west of Ribeira Grande, Portugal
I FELT IT
MoreMap
20 Jan 2021 9:51 am (GMT -1) (20 Jan 2021 10:51:39 GMT)
3.0
(42 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 54 km west of Ribeira Grande, Portugal
I FELT IT
MoreMap
20 Jan 2021 9:43 am (GMT -1) (20 Jan 2021 10:43:16 GMT)
3.3

4 km
(43 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 55 km west of Ribeira Grande, Portugal
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
20 Jan 2021 9:03 am (GMT -1) (20 Jan 2021 10:03:00 GMT)
2.9
(59 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 69 km west of Ribeira Grande, Portugal
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Tue, 19 Jan 2021 (GMT)
19 Jan 2021 5:09 pm (GMT -1) (19 Jan 2021 18:09:37 GMT)
3.2

2 km
(40 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 54 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
19 Jan 2021 12:58 am (GMT -1) (19 Jan 2021 01:58:27 GMT)
3.2
(53 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 64 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
Sun, 17 Jan 2021 (GMT)
17 Jan 2021 2:09 pm (GMT -1) (17 Jan 2021 15:09:46 GMT)
3.3

8 km
(50 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 64 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
17 Jan 2021 1:58 am (GMT -1) (17 Jan 2021 02:58:13 GMT)
3.6

2 km
(48 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 62 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
Fri, 15 Jan 2021 (GMT)
15 Jan 2021 06:21:46 GMT
2.8
(62 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 67 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
Thu, 14 Jan 2021 (GMT)
14 Jan 2021 1:50 am (GMT -1) (14 Jan 2021 02:50:27 GMT)
2.9
(59 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 73 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
14 Jan 2021 12:20 am (GMT -1) (14 Jan 2021 01:20:19 GMT)
2.9
(56 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 70 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
Wed, 13 Jan 2021 (GMT) (6 earthquakes)
13 Jan 2021 5:47 pm (GMT -1) (13 Jan 2021 18:47:10 GMT)
3.9

1 km
(48 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 62 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
13 Jan 2021 5:43 pm (GMT -1) (13 Jan 2021 18:43:25 GMT)
2.8
(51 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 65 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
13 Jan 2021 5:34 pm (GMT -1) (13 Jan 2021 18:34:12 GMT)
3.3

5 km
(56 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 70 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
13 Jan 2021 5:16 pm (GMT -1) (13 Jan 2021 18:16:08 GMT)
3.7

1 km
(51 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 65 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
13 Jan 2021 11:03 am (GMT -1) (13 Jan 2021 12:03:41 GMT)
2.9
(46 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 70 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
13 Jan 2021 5:33 am (GMT -1) (13 Jan 2021 06:33:33 GMT)
2.8
(60 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 74 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
Tue, 12 Jan 2021 (GMT) (11 earthquakes)
12 Jan 2021 3:12 pm (GMT -1) (12 Jan 2021 16:12:13 GMT)
3.5
(53 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 65 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
12 Jan 2021 2:30 pm (GMT -1) (12 Jan 2021 15:30:06 GMT)
3.1
(50 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 63 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
12 Jan 2021 12:35 pm (GMT -1) (12 Jan 2021 13:35:53 GMT)
3.6
(64 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 67 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
12 Jan 2021 7:07 am (GMT -1) (12 Jan 2021 08:07:07 GMT)
3.4

1 km
(52 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 66 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
12 Jan 2021 3:06 am (GMT -1) (12 Jan 2021 04:06:02 GMT)
3.8

5 km
(63 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 78 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
12 Jan 2021 3:05 am (GMT -1) (12 Jan 2021 04:05:41 GMT)
3.0
(48 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 62 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
12 Jan 2021 12:31 am (GMT -1) (12 Jan 2021 01:31:22 GMT)
3.4
(47 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 61 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
12 Jan 2021 12:27 am (GMT -1) (12 Jan 2021 01:27:57 GMT)
2.8
(46 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 60 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
12 Jan 2021 12:26 am (GMT -1) (12 Jan 2021 01:26:06 GMT)
2.9
(46 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 60 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
12 Jan 2021 12:26 am (GMT -1) (12 Jan 2021 01:26:04 GMT)
3.2

4 km
(54 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 68 km west of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
11 Jan 2021 11:58 pm (GMT -1) (12 Jan 2021 00:58:14 GMT)
2.8
(50 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 64 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
Mon, 11 Jan 2021 (GMT) (15 earthquakes)
11 Jan 2021 9:35 pm (GMT -1) (11 Jan 2021 22:35:12 GMT)
2.8
(49 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 63 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
11 Jan 2021 8:48 pm (GMT -1) (11 Jan 2021 21:48:51 GMT)
3.4

5 km
(52 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 66 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal 1 reportMoreMap
11 Jan 2021 6:40 pm (GMT -1) (11 Jan 2021 19:40:01 GMT)
3.0
(48 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 62 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
11 Jan 2021 19:05:06 GMT
3.4
(48 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 62 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
11 Jan 2021 4:10 pm (GMT -1) (11 Jan 2021 17:10:00 GMT)
3.4
(44 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 60 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
11 Jan 2021 16:11:38 GMT
2.8
(56 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 70 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
11 Jan 2021 2:36 pm (GMT -1) (11 Jan 2021 15:36:16 GMT)
2.9
(56 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 70 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
11 Jan 2021 12:54 pm (GMT -1) (11 Jan 2021 13:54:14 GMT)
3.7
(50 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 64 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal 1 reportMoreMap
11 Jan 2021 12:50 pm (GMT -1) (11 Jan 2021 13:50:27 GMT)
3.0

5 km
(52 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 66 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
11 Jan 2021 12:33 pm (GMT -1) (11 Jan 2021 13:33:01 GMT)
3.9
(52 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 67 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal 1 reportMoreMap
11 Jan 2021 13:21:30 GMT
3.0
(51 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 68 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
11 Jan 2021 13:18:49 GMT
3.1
(49 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 63 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
11 Jan 2021 13:05:49 GMT
2.8
(51 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 65 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
11 Jan 2021 11:51 am (GMT -1) (11 Jan 2021 12:51:00 GMT)
3.8
(59 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 73 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
11 Jan 2021 11:47 am (GMT -1) (11 Jan 2021 12:47:01 GMT)
5.4

10 km
(43 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 63 km west of Ribeira Grande, Portugal 13 reportsMoreMap
Sun, 10 Jan 2021 (GMT)
10 Jan 2021 2:57 pm (GMT -1) (10 Jan 2021 15:57:15 GMT)
2.9
(30 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 44 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
10 Jan 2021 2:57 pm (GMT -1) (10 Jan 2021 15:57:12 GMT)
3.1

5 km
(57 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 71 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
Mon, 4 Jan 2021 (GMT)
4 Jan 2021 06:05:51 GMT
2.9
(33 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 44 km west of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
Fri, 1 Jan 2021 (GMT)
1 Jan 2021 9:48 am (GMT -1) (1 Jan 2021 10:48:41 GMT)
3.3

5 km
(58 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 72 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
Thu, 31 Dec 2020 (GMT)
31 Dec 2020 4:23 pm (GMT -1) (31 Dec 2020 17:23:52 GMT)
2.9
(46 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 60 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
Tue, 29 Dec 2020 (GMT)
29 Dec 2020 9:30 pm (GMT -1) (29 Dec 2020 22:30:17 GMT)
3.1

5 km
(53 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 67 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
29 Dec 2020 12:09 pm (GMT -1) (29 Dec 2020 13:09:19 GMT)
2.8
(44 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 58 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
29 Dec 2020 12:09 pm (GMT -1) (29 Dec 2020 13:09:19 GMT)
2.8
(44 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 58 km northwest of Ribeira Grande, Portugal MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 8.3 x 1012 joules (2.31 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1986 tons of TNT or 0.1 atomic bombs!) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?

Support us - Help us upgrade our server!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
Our server is reaching its limits and we need financing to increase capacity in order to deal with huge activity peaks when quakes occur. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every penny counts and every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features and in upgrading our software, please make a donation (PayPal or Online cc payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you! With best regards from the VolcanoDiscovery team.
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.