Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Largest earthquakes in or near Huocheng, Xinjiang, China, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated: Jan 18, 2023 05:11 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 5 quakes above magnitude 6
  • 27 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 675 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
Since 1900, Huocheng has had 5 quakes of magnitude 6.0 or above, 27 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, and 675 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 4.4 | 59 km W of Панфилов, Panfilov District, Almaty Oblysy, Kazakhstan -

Strongest quake: Mag. 6.5 | 113 km N of Xinyuan, Xinjiang, China -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Filter by age:

all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 4 or higher (707 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Jan 13, 2023 6:30 pm (GMT +6) (Jan 13, 2023 12:30 GMT)
4.4

10 km
330 km (205 mi)Near Tekeli, Almaty Oblysy, Kazakhstan 1 reportMore
Jan 3, 2023 8:49 am (GMT +8) (Jan 3, 2023 00:49 GMT)
4.1

10 km
45 km (28 mi)NORTHERN XINJIANG, CHINA More
Dec 31, 2022 1:47 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 31, 2022 05:47 GMT)
4.8

10 km
117 km (73 mi)NORTHERN XINJIANG, CHINA More
Dec 26, 2022 2:10 am (GMT +8) (Dec 25, 2022 18:10 GMT)
4.2

10 km
200 km (124 mi)NORTHERN XINJIANG, CHINA More
Dec 25, 2022 8:10 am (GMT +8) (Dec 25, 2022 00:10 GMT)
4.2

10 km
180 km (112 mi)NORTHERN XINJIANG, CHINA More
Dec 24, 2022 12:18 am (GMT +8) (Dec 23, 2022 16:18 GMT)
4.6

10 km
267 km (166 mi)China: KAZAKHSTAN-XINJIANG BORDER REGION More
Dec 23, 2022 4:41 am (GMT +8) (Dec 22, 2022 20:41 GMT)
4.2

1 km
107 km (66 mi)NORTHERN XINJIANG, CHINA More
Dec 22, 2022 6:30 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 22, 2022 10:30 GMT)
4.0

10 km
224 km (139 mi)NORTHERN XINJIANG, CHINA More
Dec 19, 2022 6:35 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 19, 2022 10:35 GMT)
4.0

10 km
226 km (140 mi)NORTHERN XINJIANG, CHINA More
Dec 15, 2022 6:28 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 15, 2022 10:28 GMT)
4.1

10 km
202 km (126 mi)NORTHERN XINJIANG, CHINA More
Dec 15, 2022 5:14 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 15, 2022 09:14 GMT)
4.7

10 km
264 km (164 mi)NORTHERN XINJIANG, CHINA More
Dec 15, 2022 12:32 am (GMT +8) (Dec 14, 2022 16:32 GMT)
4.5

10 km
305 km (190 mi)China: 88 Km SE of Sarkand, Kazakhstan More
Dec 14, 2022 5:52 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 14, 2022 09:52 GMT)
4.7

10 km
250 km (155 mi)NORTHERN XINJIANG, CHINA More
Dec 14, 2022 5:26 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 14, 2022 09:26 GMT)
4.0

10 km
213 km (132 mi)NORTHERN XINJIANG, CHINA More
Dec 10, 2022 12:34 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 10, 2022 04:34 GMT)
4.8

10 km
264 km (164 mi)NORTHERN XINJIANG, CHINA More
Dec 9, 2022 4:35 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 9, 2022 08:35 GMT)
4.3

10 km
251 km (156 mi)NORTHERN XINJIANG, CHINA More
Dec 6, 2022 1:53 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 6, 2022 05:53 GMT)
4.4

10 km
272 km (169 mi)NORTHERN XINJIANG, CHINA More
Dec 4, 2022 2:48 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 4, 2022 06:48 GMT)
4.4

10 km
295 km (183 mi)China: KAZAKHSTAN-XINJIANG BORDER REGION More
Dec 1, 2022 7:28 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 1, 2022 11:28 GMT)
4.0

10 km
230 km (143 mi)NORTHERN XINJIANG, CHINA More
Dec 1, 2022 6:50 am (GMT +6) (Dec 1, 2022 00:50 GMT)
4.5

10 km
246 km (153 mi)Kazakhstan: LAKE ISSYK-KUL, KYRGYZSTAN, REGION More
Nov 25, 2022 9:49 am (GMT +8) (Nov 25, 2022 01:49 GMT)
4.2

10 km
226 km (140 mi)NORTHERN XINJIANG, CHINA More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.4 x 1015 joules (376 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 3.2 x 105 tons of TNT or 20.2 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Podgonoye, Kazakstan (PDGK/KZ network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Podgonoye, Kazakstan: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Huocheng Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Huocheng?

The last earthquake in Huocheng occurred 3 weeks ago: Moderate mag. 4.4 earthquake - 59 km west of Панфилов, Panfilov District, Almaty Oblysy, Kazakhstan, on Friday, Jan 13, 2023 at 6:30 pm (GMT +6).

How many quakes were there in Huocheng since 1900?

Since 1900, Huocheng, Xinjiang, China had 707 quakes up to magnitude 6.5.

What was the strongest quake in Huocheng since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Huocheng since 1900 occurred 6 years ago: Major magnitude 6.5 earthquake - 113 km north of Xinyuan, Xinjiang, China, on Tuesday, August 8, 2017 at 23:27 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Feb 6, 2023 21:50 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings