Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Jan 29, 2022 10:59 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Past earthquakes near Las Terrenas, Provincia de Samana, Dominican Republic: 2020 - list, stats and interactive map

Updated Jan 29, 2022 10:59 GMT -
During 2020, Las Terrenas was shaken by 5 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 178 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 118 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 4.6 quake 78 km northeast of Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic, 19 Oct 5:00 am (GMT -4)
...Read More

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 2.7 or higher (262 out of 301 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, December 29, 2020 14:30 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 29, 2020 10:30 am (GMT -4) (Dec 29, 2020 14:30 GMT)
3.6

81 km
9.7 km south of Nagua, Provincia Maria Trinidad Sanchez, Dominican Republic 1 reportMoreMap
Sunday, December 27, 2020 10:34 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 27, 2020 6:34 am (GMT -4) (Dec 27, 2020 10:34 GMT)
3.4

10 km
El Factor, Provincia Maria Trinidad Sanchez, 8.6 km northeast of Rivas, Dominican Republic MoreMap
Wednesday, December 23, 2020 08:33 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 23, 2020 8:33 am (GMT +0) (Dec 23, 2020 08:33 GMT)
3.3

10 km
North Atlantic Ocean, 22 km north of Nagua, Dominican Republic MoreMap
Tuesday, December 22, 2020 17:28 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 22, 2020 5:28 pm (GMT +0) (Dec 22, 2020 17:28 GMT)
3.3

15 km
4.7 km north of Cachanes, Castillo, Provincia Duarte, Dominican Republic MoreMap
Thursday, December 17, 2020 03:38 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 16, 2020 11:38 pm (GMT -4) (Dec 17, 2020 03:38 GMT)
3.0

101 km
13 km southwest of Monte Plata, Dominican Republic MoreMap
Wednesday, December 16, 2020 09:27 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 16, 2020 5:27 am (GMT -4) (Dec 16, 2020 09:27 GMT)
2.9

10 km
North Atlantic Ocean, 5.6 km southeast of Nagua, Dominican Republic MoreMap
Tuesday, December 15, 2020 00:18 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 15, 2020 12:18 am (GMT +0) (Dec 15, 2020 00:18 GMT)
3.1

73 km
North Atlantic Ocean, 47 km north of Samana, Samaná, Dominican Republic MoreMap
Saturday, December 12, 2020 15:43 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 12, 2020 3:43 pm (GMT +0) (Dec 12, 2020 15:43 GMT)
3.1

30 km
13 km southwest of Hato Mayor del Rey, Hato Mayor, Dominican Republic MoreMap
Thursday, December 10, 2020 21:32 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Dec 10, 2020 5:32 pm (GMT -4) (Dec 10, 2020 21:32 GMT)
3.2

150 km
3.3 km northwest of Sabana Grande de Boya, Monte Plata, Dominican Republic MoreMap
Dec 10, 2020 08:29 GMT
2.8

1 km
17 km west of Sabana de la Mar, Hato Mayor, Dominican Republic MoreMap
Monday, December 7, 2020 18:31 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 7, 2020 18:31 GMT
2.9

10 km
5.9 km south of Cotui, Sánchez Ramírez, Dominican Republic MoreMap
Saturday, December 5, 2020 16:59 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Dec 5, 2020 12:59 pm (GMT -4) (Dec 5, 2020 16:59 GMT)
3.3

7 km
6.5 km south of El Factor, María Trinidad Sánchez, Dominican Republic MoreMap
Dec 4, 2020 10:10 pm (GMT -4) (Dec 5, 2020 02:10 GMT)
2.7

23 km
Arenoso, 6.9 km northeast of Agua Santa del Yuna (Villa Riva), Provincia Duarte, Dominican Republic MoreMap
Wednesday, December 2, 2020 15:27 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 2, 2020 11:27 am (GMT -4) (Dec 2, 2020 15:27 GMT)
3.7

73 km
North Atlantic Ocean, 58 km northeast of Samaná, Samana, Dominican Republic MoreMap
Saturday, November 28, 2020 23:22 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Nov 28, 2020 7:22 pm (GMT -4) (Nov 28, 2020 23:22 GMT)
3.3

103 km
Bayaguana, Provincia de Monte Plata, 19 km east of Monte Plata, Dominican Republic MoreMap
Nov 28, 2020 17:49 GMT
3.0

10 km
La Reforma, Provincia Duarte, 3.3 km west of Agua Santa del Yuna (Villa Riva, Duarte), Dominican Republic MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.4 x 1012 joules (677 megawatt hours, equivalent to 583 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel