Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes near Ōtsuchi, Kamihei-gun, Iwate, Japan, past 30 days

Updated 5 Mar 2021 23:02 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Ōtsuchi was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 5.5, 3 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 10 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 5.5 quake North Pacific Ocean, 47 km southeast of Kamaishi, Iwate, Japan, 14 Feb 2021 3:25 am (GMT +9)
Most recent quake: 2.8 quake North Pacific Ocean, 49 km southeast of Kamaishi, Iwate, Japan, 5 Mar 2021 1:18 am (GMT +9)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (14 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thu, 4 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
5 Mar 2021 1:18 am (GMT +9) (4 Mar 2021 16:18:24 GMT)
2.8

57 km
(139 km)North Pacific Ocean, 49 km southeast of Kamaishi, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Tue, 2 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
3 Mar 2021 7:50 am (GMT +9) (2 Mar 2021 22:50:58 GMT)
2.6

57 km
(73 km)15 km northwest of Miyako, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Mon, 1 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
1 Mar 2021 11:00 am (GMT +9) (1 Mar 2021 02:00:44 GMT)
2.8

37 km
(117 km)North Pacific Ocean, 51 km northeast of Miyako, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Wed, 24 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
24 Feb 2021 10:55 am (GMT +9) (24 Feb 2021 01:55:57 GMT)
2.5

126 km
(50 km)8.8 km northeast of Hanamaki, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 10:15 am (GMT +9) (24 Feb 2021 01:15:18 GMT)
2.9

38 km
(115 km)North Pacific Ocean, 50 km northeast of Miyako, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Tue, 23 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
23 Feb 2021 9:58 pm (GMT +10) (23 Feb 2021 11:58:52 GMT)
3.1

51 km
(139 km)North Pacific Ocean, 57 km southeast of Miyako, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 9:44 am (GMT +9) (23 Feb 2021 00:44:29 GMT)
2.9

21 km
(116 km)North Pacific Ocean, 54 km northeast of Miyako, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Mon, 22 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
22 Feb 2021 1:25 pm (GMT +10) (22 Feb 2021 03:25:50 GMT)
2.7

28 km
(123 km)North Pacific Ocean, 61 km northeast of Miyako, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Sun, 21 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
22 Feb 2021 4:21 am (GMT +9) (21 Feb 2021 19:21:27 GMT)
3.1

27 km
(121 km)North Pacific Ocean, 52 km southeast of Ōfunato, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Sat, 13 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
14 Feb 2021 3:25 am (GMT +9) (13 Feb 2021 18:25:28 GMT)
5.5

55 km
(137 km)North Pacific Ocean, 47 km southeast of Kamaishi, Iwate, Japan 3 reportsMoreMap
Tue, 9 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
9 Feb 2021 5:42 pm (GMT +9) (9 Feb 2021 08:42:41 GMT)
2.9

51 km
(138 km)North Pacific Ocean, 63 km southeast of Kamaishi, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Fri, 5 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
6 Feb 2021 8:35 am (GMT +9) (5 Feb 2021 23:35:53 GMT)
3.0

47 km
(102 km)North Pacific Ocean, 29 km southeast of Ōfunato, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
5 Feb 2021 3:21 pm (GMT +9) (5 Feb 2021 06:21:39 GMT)
2.6

88 km
Iwate (29 km)10.8 km east of Morioka, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Thu, 4 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
4 Feb 2021 5:03 pm (GMT +9) (4 Feb 2021 08:03:15 GMT)
2.5

72 km
Iwate (128 km)North Pacific Ocean, 36 km east of Kamaishi, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.1 x 1013 joules (3.12 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 2686 tons of TNT or 0.2 atomic bombs!) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.