Help Ukraine

Past earthquakes in Miyako, Iwate, Japan: December 2021 - list, stats and map

Updated May 27, 2022 03:24 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes during December 2021:

  • 6 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 24 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 61 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
During December 2021, Miyako was shaken by 6 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 24 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 61 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.5 | 16 km NE of Hanawa, Kazuno, Akita, Japan -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (91 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, December 31, 2021 GMT (2 quakes)
Jan 1, 2022 3:35 am (GMT +9) (Dec 31, 2021 18:35 GMT)
2.8

47 km
North Pacific Ocean, Japan MoreMap
Dec 31, 2021 11:17 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 31, 2021 14:17 GMT)
2.7

7.9 km
Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Thursday, December 30, 2021 GMT (7 quakes)
Dec 31, 2021 7:04 am (GMT +9) (Dec 30, 2021 22:04 GMT)
2.9

50 km
North Pacific Ocean, Japan MoreMap
Dec 30, 2021 4:58 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 30, 2021 07:58 GMT)
2.6

53 km
North Pacific Ocean, Japan MoreMap
Dec 30, 2021 3:56 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 30, 2021 06:56 GMT)
2.6

46 km
North Pacific Ocean, Japan MoreMap
Dec 30, 2021 3:34 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 30, 2021 06:34 GMT)
2.9

30 km
North Pacific Ocean, Japan MoreMap
Dec 30, 2021 12:59 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 30, 2021 03:59 GMT)
3.8

47 km
North Pacific Ocean, Japan MoreMap
Dec 30, 2021 12:44 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 30, 2021 03:44 GMT)
2.7

56 km
North Pacific Ocean, Japan MoreMap
Dec 30, 2021 9:38 am (GMT +9) (Dec 30, 2021 00:38 GMT)
2.6

22 km
North Pacific Ocean, 75 km east of Ishinomaki, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan MoreMap
Wednesday, December 29, 2021 GMT (2 quakes)
Dec 29, 2021 11:06 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 29, 2021 14:06 GMT)
2.5

4.9 km
2.7 km west of Ichinohe, Ninohe-gun, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Dec 29, 2021 11:03 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 29, 2021 14:03 GMT)
2.6

31 km
19 km east of Ichinohe, Ninohe-gun, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Tuesday, December 28, 2021 GMT (1 quake)
Dec 28, 2021 12:23 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 28, 2021 03:23 GMT)
2.7

140 km
Honshu-miyagi-ken, 22 km northeast of Yamagata, Japan MoreMap
Monday, December 27, 2021 GMT (3 quakes)
Dec 28, 2021 7:52 am (GMT +9) (Dec 27, 2021 22:52 GMT)
3.7

57 km
15 km northwest of Miyako, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Dec 27, 2021 9:20 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 27, 2021 12:20 GMT)
2.8

47 km
North Pacific Ocean, 15 km east of Miyako, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Dec 27, 2021 12:25 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 27, 2021 03:25 GMT)
2.5

32 km
North Pacific Ocean, 63 km southeast of Ofunato, Ōfunato-shi, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Sunday, December 26, 2021 GMT (7 quakes)
Dec 27, 2021 2:52 am (GMT +9) (Dec 26, 2021 17:52 GMT)
3.5

45 km
North Pacific Ocean, 25 km southeast of Kamaishi, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.2 x 1012 joules (332 megawatt hours, equivalent to 286 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 27, 2022 03:24 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.