Help Ukraine

Largest earthquakes in or near Miyako, Iwate, Japan, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated May 2, 2022 17:46 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 9
  • 2 quakes between magnitude 8 and 9
  • 18 quakes between magnitude 7 and 8
  • 157 quakes between magnitude 6 and 7
  • 717 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
Since 1900, Miyako has had 1 quake of magnitude 9.1, 2 quakes between 8.0 and 9.0, 18 quakes between 7.0 and 8.0, 157 quakes between 6.0 and 7.0, and 717 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Strongest quake: Mag. 9.1 | 69 km E of Kasakai-jima Island, Japan -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
8.0+
9.0+
Filter by age:
all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
8.0+
9.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 5 or higher (895 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
May 18, 2022 7:17 am (GMT +10) (May 17, 2022 21:17 GMT)
5.2

28 km
181 km (112 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 143 km northeast of Hachinohe, Aomori, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Mar 18, 2022 11:25 pm (GMT +9) (Mar 18, 2022 14:25 GMT)
5.3

35 km
71 km (44 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 54 km southeast of Hachinohe, Aomori, Japan 3 reportsMoreMap
Feb 26, 2022 3:49 pm (GMT +10) (Feb 26, 2022 05:49 GMT)
5.0

46 km
145 km (90 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 58 km east of Kamaishi, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Feb 18, 2022 11:55 am (GMT +9) (Feb 18, 2022 02:55 GMT)
5.1

59 km
99 km (62 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 38 km southeast of Ishinomaki, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan 1 reportMoreMap
Nov 24, 2021 5:06 pm (GMT +9) (Nov 24, 2021 08:06 GMT)
5.2

47 km
109 km (68 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 20 km east of Kamaishi, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Nov 23, 2021 6:48 pm (GMT +9) (Nov 23, 2021 09:48 GMT)
5.1

56 km
124 km (77 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 47 km southeast of Ofunato, Ōfunato-shi, Iwate, Japan 2 reportsMoreMap
Oct 9, 2021 2:32 pm (GMT +9) (Oct 9, 2021 05:32 GMT)
5.0

66 km
86 km (53 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 96 km northeast of Morioka, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Oct 6, 2021 2:46 am (GMT +9) (Oct 5, 2021 17:46 GMT)
5.7

51 km
110 km (68 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 44 km northeast of Miyako, Iwate, Japan 23 reportsMoreMap
Sep 30, 2021 5:45 pm (GMT +9) (Sep 30, 2021 08:45 GMT)
5.1

60 km
113 km (70 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 59 km east of Ishinomaki, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan 2 reportsMoreMap
Jun 10, 2021 6:56 pm (GMT +9) (Jun 10, 2021 09:56 GMT)
5.1

17 km
135 km (84 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 95 km northeast of Hachinohe, Aomori, Japan 2 reportsMoreMap
Jun 9, 2021 10:05 pm (GMT +9) (Jun 9, 2021 13:05 GMT)
5.4

33 km
41 km (25 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 91 km southeast of Hachinohe, Aomori, Japan 6 reportsMoreMap
Jun 9, 2021 7:34 am (GMT +9) (Jun 8, 2021 22:34 GMT)
5.3

30 km
109 km (68 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 38 km northeast of Miyako, Iwate, Japan 2 reportsMoreMap
Jun 1, 2021 2:43 pm (GMT +10) (Jun 1, 2021 04:43 GMT)
5.0

29 km
118 km (73 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 92 km east of Hachinohe, Aomori, Japan MoreMap
1 May 10:27 am (GMT +9) (May 1, 2021 01:27 GMT)
6.8

61 km
96 km (60 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 36 km southeast of Ishinomaki, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan 98 reportsMoreMap
Apr 18, 2021 09:29:11.44 (Apr 18, 2021 00:29 GMT)
6.1

46 km
112 km (70 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 53 km east of Ishinomaki, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan 30 reportsMoreMap
Apr 3, 2021 9:58 pm (GMT +9) (Apr 3, 2021 12:58 GMT)
5.0

45 km
110 km (68 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 35 km southeast of Ofunato, Ōfunato-shi, Iwate, Japan 1 reportMoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.2 x 1018 joules (8.8 x 105 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 7.6 x 108 tons of TNT or 47293.5 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Miyako Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Miyako?

The last earthquake in Miyako occurred 10 hours ago: Moderate mag. 5.2 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 143 km northeast of Hachinohe, Aomori, Japan, on Wednesday, May 18, 2022 at 7:17 am (GMT +10).

How many quakes were there in Miyako since 1900?

Since 1900, Miyako, Iwate, Japan had 895 quakes up to magnitude 9.1.

What was the strongest quake in Miyako since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Miyako since 1900 occurred 11 years ago: Major magnitude 9.1 earthquake - 69 km east of Kasakai-jima Island, Japan, on Friday, March 11, 2011 at 05:46 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 18, 2022 07:41 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.