Latest quakes in or near Rosarito, Baja California, Mexico, in the past 24 hours on Tuesday, August 16, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 16, 2022 16:32 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 2
  • 21 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Rosarito had 2 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 21 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A weak magnitude 2.1 earthquake occurred in Mexico: 16km WNW of Progreso, B.C., MX, 12 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 1.6 | 2km ESE of Lake Henshaw, CA -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 2.1 | Mexico: 16km WNW of Progreso, B.C., MX -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Rosarito, Baja California, Mexico (updated )

Past 24 hours:13 quakes | 2 quakes M2+
Past 7 days:75 quakes | 10 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+
Past 30 days:306 quakes | 30 quakes M2+ | 42 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 90 days:954 quakes | 110 quakes M2+ | 121 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+
Past 365 days:3,701 quakes | 456 quakes M2+ | 399 quakes M3+ | 11 quakes M4+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
Hide 3 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (26 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, August 16, 2022 GMT (22 quakes)
Aug 16, 2022 9:18 am (GMT -7) (Aug 16, 2022 16:18 GMT)
1.6

10.4 km
2km ESE of Lake Henshaw, CA MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 4:32 am (GMT -7) (Aug 16, 2022 11:32 GMT)
1.4

7.4 km
6km S of Niland, CA MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 3:11 am (GMT -7) (Aug 16, 2022 10:11 GMT)
0.2

3.1 km
6km WSW of Anza, CA MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 2:45 am (GMT -7) (Aug 16, 2022 09:45 GMT)
1.6

3.7 km
5km S of Niland, CA MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 2:28 am (GMT -7) (Aug 16, 2022 09:28 GMT)
0.4

16 km
9km S of Idyllwild, CA MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 2:22 am (GMT -7) (Aug 16, 2022 09:22 GMT)
?

n/a
Near San Diego, California, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 1:54 am (GMT -7) (Aug 16, 2022 08:54 GMT)
?

n/a
Near San Diego, California, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 1:35 am (GMT -7) (Aug 16, 2022 08:35 GMT)
1.3

4.2 km
4km S of Niland, CA MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 12:56 am (GMT -7) (Aug 16, 2022 07:56 GMT)
0.5

15 km
9km WSW of Idyllwild, CA MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 12:53 am (GMT -7) (Aug 16, 2022 07:53 GMT)
0.7

15 km
18km ESE of Anza, CA MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 12:11 am (GMT -7) (Aug 16, 2022 07:11 GMT)
0.3

15 km
9km SSW of Idyllwild, CA MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 10:19 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 16, 2022 05:19 GMT)
0.7

10.6 km
26km SW of Ocotillo Wells, CA MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 9:57 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 16, 2022 04:57 GMT)
?

n/a
Near San Diego, California, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 9:52 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 16, 2022 04:52 GMT)
0.4

7.2 km
9km WNW of Palomar Observatory, CA MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 9:50 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 16, 2022 04:50 GMT)
2.1

3.7 km
Mexico: 16km WNW of Progreso, B.C., MX MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 9:50 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 16, 2022 04:50 GMT)
1.5

2 km
Mexico: 17km WNW of Progreso, B.C., MX MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 9:21 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 16, 2022 04:21 GMT)
1.8

4.4 km
Mexico: Calif.-Baja Calif. Border Region MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 9:09 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 16, 2022 04:09 GMT)
2.0

3 km
BAJA CALIFORNIA, MEXICO MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 9:04 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 16, 2022 04:04 GMT)
1.7

3.1 km
Mexico: 17km WNW of Progreso, B.C., MX MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 8:57 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 16, 2022 03:57 GMT)
0.5

12 km
9km SW of Anza, CA MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 8:27 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 16, 2022 03:27 GMT)
0.5

17 km
8km NNW of Anza, CA 1 reportMoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3 x 108 joules (82.6 kilowatt hours) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Rosarito Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Rosarito?

The last earthquake in Rosarito occurred 14 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.6 earthquake - 2km ESE of Lake Henshaw, CA, on Tuesday, Aug 16, 2022 at 9:18 am (GMT -7).

How many quakes were there in Rosarito today?

In the past 24 hours, Rosarito, Baja California, Mexico had 26 quakes up to magnitude 2.1.

What was the strongest quake in Rosarito today?

The strongest earthquake in Rosarito today occurred 12 hours ago: Weak mag. 2.1 earthquake - Mexico: 16km WNW of Progreso, B.C., MX, on Monday, Aug 15, 2022 at 9:50 pm (GMT -7).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Aug 16, 2022 16:32 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings