Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Largest earthquakes in or near Valdivia, Los Rios Region, Chile, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated: Nov 13, 2022 02:37 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 7
  • 22 quakes between magnitude 6 and 7
  • 60 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 287 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
Since 1900, Valdivia has had 2 quakes of magnitude 7.0 or above, 22 quakes between 6.0 and 7.0, 60 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, and 287 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 4.5 | South Pacific Ocean, 145 km W of Valdivia, Los Rios Region, Chile -

Strongest quake: Mag. 7.4 | 214 km W of Temuco, Provincia de Cautin, Araucania, Chile -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Filter by age:

all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 4 or higher (371 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Jun 10, 2022 3:43 pm (GMT -5) (Jun 10, 2022 20:43 GMT)
4.5

10 km
247 km (153 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 145 km west of Valdivia, Los Rios Region, Chile More
Mar 6, 2022 1:34 pm (GMT -3) (Mar 6, 2022 16:34 GMT)
4.0

44 km
66 km (41 mi)24 km south of Osorno, Los Lagos, Chile 1 reportMore
Jan 31, 2022 8:39 pm (GMT -5) (Feb 1, 2022 01:39 GMT)
4.6

20 km
162 km (101 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 94 km southwest of Valdivia, Los Rios Region, Chile 3 reportsMore
Jan 31, 2022 10:33 pm (GMT -3) (Feb 1, 2022 01:33 GMT)
4.6

10 km
172 km (107 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 100 km west of Osorno, Los Lagos, Chile 6 reportsMore
Dec 14, 2021 5:12 pm (GMT -5) (Dec 14, 2021 22:12 GMT)
4.7

10 km
219 km (136 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 144 km west of Valdivia, Los Rios Region, Chile More
Nov 27, 2021 7:37 pm (GMT -5) (Nov 28, 2021 00:37 GMT)
4.1

31 km
163 km (101 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 62 km west of Nueva Imperial, Provincia de Cautin, Araucania, Chile More
Nov 27, 2021 4:31 pm (GMT -3) (Nov 27, 2021 19:31 GMT)
4.4

20 km
153 km (95 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 54 km west of Nueva Imperial, Provincia de Cautin, Araucania, Chile More
Nov 27, 2021 4:29 pm (GMT -3) (Nov 27, 2021 19:29 GMT)
4.6

40 km
155 km (96 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 82 km west of Temuco, Provincia de Cautin, Araucania, Chile 17 reportsMore
Nov 11, 2021 4:00 am (GMT -5) (Nov 11, 2021 09:00 GMT)
4.2

10 km
289 km (180 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 166 km west of Valdivia, Los Rios Region, Chile More
Nov 8, 2021 11:59 pm (GMT -3) (Nov 9, 2021 02:59 GMT)
4.0

54 km
66 km (41 mi)36 km northeast of Temuco, Provincia de Cautin, Araucania, Chile 8 reportsMore
Aug 3, 2021 12:17 am (GMT -5) (Aug 3, 2021 05:17 GMT)
4.0

41 km
274 km (170 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 194 km northwest of Valdivia, Los Rios Region, Chile More
Jul 5, 2021 07:57 GMT
4.1

29 km
229 km (142 mi)South Pacific Ocean, Chile More
17 Jun 4:49 am (GMT -4) (Jun 17, 2021 08:49 GMT)
4.0

8.9 km
39 km (24 mi)49 km south of Panguipulli, Valdivia, Los Rios Region, Chile 16 reportsMore
8 Jun 4:35 pm (GMT -5) (Jun 8, 2021 21:35 GMT)
4.3

21 km
242 km (150 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 145 km northwest of Valdivia, Los Rios Region, Chile More
31 May 8:25 am (GMT -5) (May 31, 2021 13:25 GMT)
4.3

40 km
165 km (103 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 70 km southwest of Valdivia, Los Rios Region, Chile More
14 May 7:57 am (GMT -4) (May 14, 2021 11:57 GMT)
4.0

32 km
143 km (89 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 54 km southwest of Nueva Imperial, Provincia de Cautin, Araucania, Chile 1 reportMore
28 Apr 2:32 am (GMT -5) (Apr 28, 2021 07:32 GMT)
4.1

33 km
231 km (144 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 154 km west of Valdivia, Los Rios Region, Chile More
10 Apr 12:33 pm (GMT -4) (Apr 10, 2021 16:33 GMT)
4.7

51 km
105 km (65 mi)35 km north of Valdivia, Los Rios Region, Chile 9 reportsMore
Apr 5, 2021 5:27 pm (GMT -4) (Apr 5, 2021 21:27 GMT)
4.1

80 km
34 km (21 mi)46 km east of Temuco, Provincia de Cautin, Araucania, Chile 1 reportMore
Feb 11, 2021 11:51 am (GMT -3) (Feb 11, 2021 14:51 GMT)
4.2

4.8 km
16 km (9.9 mi)38 km southeast of Panguipulli, Valdivia, Los Rios Region, Chile 6 reportsMore
Feb 11, 2021 11:01 am (GMT -3) (Feb 11, 2021 14:01 GMT)
4.7

4.6 km
14 km (8.7 mi)37 km southeast of Panguipulli, Valdivia, Los Rios Region, Chile 56 reportsMore
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.8 x 1016 joules (5046 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 4.3 x 106 tons of TNT or 271.4 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Panguipulli (LR03/C1 network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Panguipulli: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Valdivia Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Valdivia?

The last earthquake in Valdivia occurred 25 weeks ago: Moderate mag. 4.5 earthquake - South Pacific Ocean, 145 km west of Valdivia, Los Rios Region, Chile, on Friday, Jun 10, 2022 at 3:43 pm (GMT -5).

How many quakes were there in Valdivia since 1900?

Since 1900, Valdivia, Los Rios Region, Chile had 371 quakes up to magnitude 7.4.

What was the strongest quake in Valdivia since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Valdivia since 1900 occurred 62 years ago: Major magnitude 7.4 earthquake - 214 km west of Temuco, Provincia de Cautin, Araucania, Chile, on Tuesday, November 1, 1960 at 08:45 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Dec 1, 2022 18:49 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings