Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Largest earthquakes in or near Bole, Xinjiang, China, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated: Nov 30, 2022 17:48 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 5 quakes above magnitude 6
  • 26 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 671 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
Since 1900, Bole has had 5 quakes of magnitude 6.0 or above, 26 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, and 671 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 4.4 | 93 km SE of Bole, Bortala Mongol Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China -

Strongest quake: Mag. 6.5 | 113 km N of Xinyuan, Xinjiang, China -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Filter by age:

all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 4 or higher (702 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Nov 28, 2022 3:21 pm (GMT +8) (Nov 28, 2022 07:21 GMT)
4.4

10 km
233 km (145 mi)93 km southeast of Bole, Bortala Mongol Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China More
Nov 25, 2022 9:49 am (GMT +8) (Nov 25, 2022 01:49 GMT)
4.2

10 km
226 km (140 mi)52 km north of Yining, Ili Kazak Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China More
Nov 24, 2022 11:44 am (GMT +8) (Nov 24, 2022 03:44 GMT)
4.8

10 km
252 km (157 mi)Kazakhstan, 18 km south of Bole, Bortala Mongol Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China More
Nov 23, 2022 11:06 am (GMT +6) (Nov 23, 2022 05:06 GMT)
4.7

10 km
290 km (180 mi)30 km north of Панфилов, Panfilov District, Almaty Oblysy, Kazakhstan More
Nov 22, 2022 2:56 pm (GMT +8) (Nov 22, 2022 06:56 GMT)
4.2

10 km
342 km (213 mi)Xinjiang, China, 45 km south of Сарканд, Almaty Oblysy, Kazakhstan More
Nov 22, 2022 11:39 am (GMT +8) (Nov 22, 2022 03:39 GMT)
4.1

10 km
323 km (201 mi)Kazakhstan, 111 km west of Karamay, Xinjiang, China 1 reportMore
Nov 22, 2022 4:09 am (GMT +8) (Nov 21, 2022 20:09 GMT)
4.2

10 km
280 km (174 mi)Almaty Oblysy, Kazakhstan, 63 km northwest of Huocheng, China More
Nov 22, 2022 1:22 am (GMT +8) (Nov 21, 2022 17:22 GMT)
4.2

10 km
305 km (190 mi)Kazakhstan, 115 km southwest of Karamay, Xinjiang, China More
Nov 21, 2022 1:39 pm (GMT +8) (Nov 21, 2022 05:39 GMT)
4.7

10 km
230 km (143 mi)Kazakhstan, 83 km southeast of Bole, Bortala Mongol Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China More
Nov 20, 2022 6:03 pm (GMT +8) (Nov 20, 2022 10:03 GMT)
4.6

10 km
266 km (165 mi)Kazakhstan, 22 km west of Bole, Bortala Mongol Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China More
Nov 20, 2022 5:03 pm (GMT +8) (Nov 20, 2022 09:03 GMT)
4.1

10 km
251 km (156 mi)Kazakhstan, 18 km south of Bole, Bortala Mongol Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China More
Nov 19, 2022 5:51 pm (GMT +8) (Nov 19, 2022 09:51 GMT)
4.0

10 km
242 km (150 mi)63 km north of Yining, Ili Kazak Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China More
Nov 19, 2022 5:15 pm (GMT +8) (Nov 19, 2022 09:15 GMT)
4.0

10 km
235 km (146 mi)48 km southwest of Bole, Bortala Mongol Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China More
Nov 16, 2022 11:04 pm (GMT +6) (Nov 16, 2022 17:04 GMT)
4.0

10 km
363 km (226 mi)46 km east of Сарканд, Almaty Oblysy, Kazakhstan More
Nov 16, 2022 11:43 am (GMT +8) (Nov 16, 2022 03:43 GMT)
4.8

10 km
252 km (157 mi)Kazakhstan, 18 km south of Bole, Bortala Mongol Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China More
Nov 15, 2022 12:19 pm (GMT +8) (Nov 15, 2022 04:19 GMT)
4.5

10 km
252 km (157 mi)Kazakhstan, 18 km south of Bole, Bortala Mongol Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China More
Nov 13, 2022 6:06 pm (GMT +8) (Nov 13, 2022 10:06 GMT)
4.9

10 km
252 km (157 mi)Kazakhstan, 18 km south of Bole, Bortala Mongol Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China More
Nov 11, 2022 4:02 pm (GMT +8) (Nov 11, 2022 08:02 GMT)
4.0

10 km
172 km (107 mi)42 km east of Yining, Ili Kazak Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China More
Nov 9, 2022 2:12 pm (GMT +8) (Nov 9, 2022 06:12 GMT)
4.0

10 km
230 km (143 mi)53 km southwest of Bole, Bortala Mongol Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China More
Nov 7, 2022 6:58 pm (GMT +8) (Nov 7, 2022 10:58 GMT)
4.1

10 km
226 km (140 mi)53 km north of Yining, Ili Kazak Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China More
Nov 6, 2022 9:23 am (GMT +8) (Nov 6, 2022 01:23 GMT)
4.4

10 km
191 km (119 mi)Heilongjiang, 75 km northeast of Xinyuan, Xinjiang, China More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.5 x 1015 joules (417 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 3.6 x 105 tons of TNT or 22.4 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Makanchi, Kazakhstan (MAKZ/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Makanchi, Kazakhstan: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Bole Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Bole?

The last earthquake in Bole occurred 7 days ago: Moderate mag. 4.4 earthquake - 93 km southeast of Bole, Bortala Mongol Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China, on Monday, Nov 28, 2022 at 3:21 pm (GMT +8).

How many quakes were there in Bole since 1900?

Since 1900, Bole, Xinjiang, China had 702 quakes up to magnitude 6.5.

What was the strongest quake in Bole since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Bole since 1900 occurred 5 years ago: Major magnitude 6.5 earthquake - 113 km north of Xinyuan, Xinjiang, China, on Tuesday, August 8, 2017 at 23:27 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Dec 5, 2022 15:10 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings