Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Oct 15, 2021 20:18 GMT -

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Past earthquakes near Sinaloa, Frontera Comalapa, Chiapas, Mexico: August 2021

Updated Oct 15, 2021 20:18 GMT -
There were 6 quakes of magnitude 3.0+ in or near Sinaloa during Aug 2021, the largest largest being a 3.7 event.
Biggest quake: 3.7 quake Municipio de Tectitan, 49 km southwest of Jacaltenango, Guatemala, Aug 18, 2021 5:35 am (GMT -6)
...Read More

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (6 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sunday, August 29, 2021 08:37 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 29, 2021 3:37 am (GMT -5) (Aug 29, 2021 08:37 GMT)
3.6

209 km
103 km (64 mi)La Concordia, 42 km southwest of Comitan, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Wednesday, August 18, 2021 11:35 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 18, 2021 5:35 am (GMT -6) (Aug 18, 2021 11:35 GMT)
3.7

177 km
31 km (19 mi)Municipio de Tectitan, 49 km southwest of Jacaltenango, Guatemala MoreMap
Monday, August 16, 2021 04:40 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 15, 2021 11:40 pm (GMT -5) (Aug 16, 2021 04:40 GMT)
3.5

110 km
49 km (30 mi)Villa Comaltitlan, 19 km north of Huixtla, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Thursday, August 12, 2021 07:54 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 12, 2021 2:54 am (GMT -5) (Aug 12, 2021 07:54 GMT)
3.5

144 km
39 km (24 mi)11 km west of Motozintla, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Wednesday, August 11, 2021 06:22 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 11, 2021 1:22 am (GMT -5) (Aug 11, 2021 06:22 GMT)
3.6

170 km
101 km (63 mi)Angel Albino Corzo, 44 km north of Mapastepec, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Sunday, August 1, 2021 18:08 GMT (1 earthquake)
2021-08-01 13:08:22 (Hora de México) (Aug 1, 2021 18:08 GMT)
3.5

183 km
102 km (63 mi)45 km south of Venustiano Carranza, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 8.8 x 1010 joules (24.4 megawatt hours, equivalent to 21 tons of TNT) More info

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.