Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Jan 23, 2022 13:31 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Earthquakes Today: latest quakes near Taft, Kern County, California, USA: past 14 days

Updated Jan 23, 2022 13:31 GMT -
During the past 14 days, Taft had 4 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 11 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 2.5 quake 18km NE of Lebec, CA, Jan 15, 2022 8:19 am (GMT -8)
Biggest quake today: 2.0 quake 19km E of Maricopa, CA, Jan 22, 2022 8:49 pm (GMT -8)
Most recent quake: 1.9 quake 20km E of Maricopa, CA, Jan 22, 2022 9:14 pm (GMT -8)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (15 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sunday, January 23, 2022 05:14 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Jan 22, 2022 9:14 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 23, 2022 05:14 GMT)
1.9

10 km
20km E of Maricopa, CA MoreMap
Jan 22, 2022 8:49 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 23, 2022 04:49 GMT)
2.0

11 km
19km E of Maricopa, CA MoreMap
Saturday, January 22, 2022 06:13 GMT (1 earthquake)
Jan 21, 2022 10:13 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 22, 2022 06:13 GMT)
1.8

2 km
13km ESE of Cholame, CA MoreMap
Friday, January 21, 2022 10:20 GMT (1 earthquake)
Jan 21, 2022 2:20 am (GMT -8) (Jan 21, 2022 10:20 GMT)
1.0

10.5 km
20km SSW of Gorman, CA MoreMap
Thursday, January 20, 2022 14:34 GMT (1 earthquake)
Jan 20, 2022 6:34 am (GMT -8) (Jan 20, 2022 14:34 GMT)
1.2

13 km
20km NW of Grapevine, CA MoreMap
Tuesday, January 18, 2022 07:42 GMT (1 earthquake)
Jan 17, 2022 11:42 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 18, 2022 07:42 GMT)
1.5

1.2 km
20km NNE of Carpinteria, CA MoreMap
Saturday, January 15, 2022 16:19 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Jan 15, 2022 8:19 am (GMT -8) (Jan 15, 2022 16:19 GMT)
2.5

4.1 km
18km NE of Lebec, CA MoreMap
Jan 15, 2022 8:13 am (GMT -8) (Jan 15, 2022 16:13 GMT)
2.0

5.5 km
18km NE of Lebec, CA MoreMap
Jan 14, 2022 5:13 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 15, 2022 01:13 GMT)
1.1

0.5 km
12km NW of Pine Mountain Club, CA MoreMap
Wednesday, January 12, 2022 15:35 GMT (1 earthquake)
Jan 12, 2022 7:35 am (GMT -8) (Jan 12, 2022 15:35 GMT)
1.8

9.4 km
25km NNE of Montecito, CA MoreMap
Tuesday, January 11, 2022 04:24 GMT (1 earthquake)
Jan 10, 2022 8:24 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 11, 2022 04:24 GMT)
1.1

12 km
22km SSW of Frazier Park, CA MoreMap
Monday, January 10, 2022 22:36 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Jan 10, 2022 2:36 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 10, 2022 22:36 GMT)
1.8

9 km
13km N of Pine Mountain Club, CA MoreMap
Jan 10, 2022 4:48 am (GMT -8) (Jan 10, 2022 12:48 GMT)
1.8

23 km
8km ESE of Shafter, CA MoreMap
Jan 9, 2022 8:16 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 10, 2022 04:16 GMT)
1.6

8 km
22km SSW of Frazier Park, CA MoreMap
Sunday, January 9, 2022 19:20 GMT (1 earthquake)
Jan 9, 2022 11:20 am (GMT -8) (Jan 9, 2022 19:20 GMT)
2.0

6.1 km
14km E of Arvin, CA MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 7.5 x 108 joules (209 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.18 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel