Help Ukraine

Past earthquakes in Vila Vila, Tacna, Peru: December 2021 - list, stats and map

Updated May 16, 2022 21:42 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes during December 2021:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 5
  • 11 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 39 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 33 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 2 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
During December 2021, Vila Vila was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 5.6, 11 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 39 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 33 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 2 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Strongest quake: Mag. 5.6 | South Pacific Ocean, 83 km W of Arica, Region de Arica y Parinacota, Chile -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (86 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, December 31, 2021 GMT (3 quakes)
Dec 31, 2021 8:57 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 31, 2021 23:57 GMT)
2.9

26 km
South Pacific Ocean, Chile MoreMap
Dec 31, 2021 4:57 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 31, 2021 19:57 GMT)
4.1

56 km
Northern Chile MoreMap
Dec 31, 2021 9:24 am (GMT -3) (Dec 31, 2021 12:24 GMT)
2.2

106 km
Region de Arica y Parinacota, Chile MoreMap
Thursday, December 30, 2021 GMT (2 quakes)
Dec 30, 2021 10:55 am (GMT -3) (Dec 30, 2021 13:55 GMT)
1.9

95 km
Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
Dec 30, 2021 3:07 am (GMT -3) (Dec 30, 2021 06:07 GMT)
3.0

23 km
Region de Arica y Parinacota, Chile MoreMap
Wednesday, December 29, 2021 GMT (1 quake)
Dec 29, 2021 5:30 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 29, 2021 20:30 GMT)
2.6

89 km
55 km southeast of Arica, Region de Arica y Parinacota, Chile MoreMap
Monday, December 27, 2021 GMT (3 quakes)
Dec 27, 2021 6:52 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 27, 2021 21:52 GMT)
1.9

118 km
44 km east of Arica, Region de Arica y Parinacota, Chile MoreMap
Dec 27, 2021 3:14 am (GMT -3) (Dec 27, 2021 06:14 GMT)
2.7

107 km
61 km northeast of Arica, Region de Arica y Parinacota, Chile MoreMap
Dec 26, 2021 8:15 pm (GMT -5) (Dec 27, 2021 01:15 GMT)
2.9

138 km
52 km northeast of Tacna, Peru MoreMap
Sunday, December 26, 2021 GMT (2 quakes)
Dec 26, 2021 4:40 am (GMT -5) (Dec 26, 2021 09:40 GMT)
2.4

135 km
14 km northeast of Tacna, Peru MoreMap
Dec 26, 2021 2:51 am (GMT -5) (Dec 26, 2021 07:51 GMT)
2.9

167 km
72 km northeast of Tacna, Peru MoreMap
Saturday, December 25, 2021 GMT (5 quakes)
Dec 25, 2021 4:44 pm (GMT -5) (Dec 25, 2021 21:44 GMT)
2.9

191 km
18 km northwest of Chuquitira, Provincia de Tarata, Tacna, Peru MoreMap
Dec 25, 2021 4:32 pm (GMT -5) (Dec 25, 2021 21:32 GMT)
3.0

5 km
South Pacific Ocean, 90 km west of Arica, Region de Arica y Parinacota, Chile MoreMap
Dec 25, 2021 1:23 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 25, 2021 16:23 GMT)
2.7

155 km
Region de Arica y Parinacota, Bolivia, 97 km east of Tacna, Peru MoreMap
Dec 25, 2021 11:27 am (GMT -3) (Dec 25, 2021 14:27 GMT)
2.2

94 km
118 km northeast of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
Dec 25, 2021 9:50 am (GMT -3) (Dec 25, 2021 12:50 GMT)
2.6

21 km
South Pacific Ocean, 90 km south of Arica, Region de Arica y Parinacota, Chile MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.9 x 1013 joules (5.21 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 4486 tons of TNT or 0.3 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 16, 2022 21:42 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.