Help Ukraine

Past earthquakes in Chiapas, Mexico: December 2021 - list, stats and map

Updated May 16, 2022 02:29 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes during December 2021:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 5
  • 9 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 59 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
During December 2021, Chiapas was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 9 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, and 59 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0.

Strongest quake: Mag. 5.6 | 4.8 km N of Motozintla, Chiapas, Mexico -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Hide 2 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (72 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, December 30, 2021 GMT (4 quakes)
Dec 30, 2021 3:18 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 30, 2021 21:18 GMT)
3.8

114 km
Oaxaca, Mexico MoreMap
Dec 30, 2021 4:15 am (GMT -6) (Dec 30, 2021 10:15 GMT)
3.8

99 km
North Pacific Ocean, Mexico MoreMap
Dec 30, 2021 2:07 am (GMT -6) (Dec 30, 2021 08:07 GMT)
3.8

146 km
Mexico: 33 Km Al NOROESTE De MOTOZINTLA, CHIS MoreMap
Dec 30, 2021 1:13 am (GMT -6) (Dec 30, 2021 07:13 GMT)
3.9

150 km
Oaxaca, Mexico MoreMap
Wednesday, December 29, 2021 GMT (1 quake)
Dec 29, 2021 11:30 am (GMT -6) (Dec 29, 2021 17:30 GMT)
3.6

16 km
North Pacific Ocean, 127 km southeast of Salina Cruz, Oaxaca, Mexico MoreMap
Tuesday, December 28, 2021 GMT (2 quakes)
Dec 28, 2021 12:24 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 28, 2021 18:24 GMT)
?

n/a
13 km southeast of Macuspana, Tabasco, Mexico (unconfirmed) 1 reportMoreMap
Dec 28, 2021 9:12 am (GMT -6) (Dec 28, 2021 15:12 GMT)
4.5

103 km
Oaxaca, 26 km northwest of Arriaga, Chiapas, Mexico 3 reportsMoreMap
Monday, December 27, 2021 GMT (2 quakes)
Dec 27, 2021 4:56 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 27, 2021 22:56 GMT)
3.8

9 km
North Pacific Ocean, 91 km southeast of Salina Cruz, Oaxaca, Mexico MoreMap
Dec 27, 2021 4:55 am (GMT -6) (Dec 27, 2021 10:55 GMT)
3.7

15 km
North Pacific Ocean, 120 km southeast of Salina Cruz, Oaxaca, Mexico MoreMap
Sunday, December 26, 2021 GMT (2 quakes)
Dec 26, 2021 4:36 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 26, 2021 22:36 GMT)
3.6

140 km
Oaxaca, 40 km southeast of Poblado 10, Uxpanapa, Veracruz, Mexico MoreMap
Dec 26, 2021 4:15 am (GMT -6) (Dec 26, 2021 10:15 GMT)
3.4

91 km
7.3 km west of Tonala, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Saturday, December 25, 2021 GMT (2 quakes)
Dec 25, 2021 3:39 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 25, 2021 21:39 GMT)
3.9

175 km
Oaxaca, 49 km northwest of Cintalapa de Figueroa, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Dec 25, 2021 1:57 am (GMT -6) (Dec 25, 2021 07:57 GMT)
4.0

145 km
25 km northwest of Motozintla, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Thursday, December 23, 2021 GMT (5 quakes)
Dec 23, 2021 1:15 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 23, 2021 19:15 GMT)
3.7

103 km
26 km west of Mapastepec, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Dec 23, 2021 3:44 am (GMT -6) (Dec 23, 2021 09:44 GMT)
3.4

32 km
North Pacific Ocean, 42 km southwest of Arriaga, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Dec 23, 2021 2:55 am (GMT -6) (Dec 23, 2021 08:55 GMT)
3.3

153 km
9.5 km east of Cintalapa de Figueroa, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.1 x 1013 joules (5.7 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 4902 tons of TNT or 0.3 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 16, 2022 02:29 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.